We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room with great service but ......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good room with great service but ......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Anyway the bedroom was good, excellent air con which you don't always find and comfortable mattress.
The staff are very friendly and attentive but the restaurant was a bit faulty towers - no bread rolls, wine had sold out, ordered rocket side salad that never came and when I asked for one got mixed green salad. Staff nice but not that onto it.
Agree with another reviewer that the rooms need a docking station with radio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We clearly missed the mark given the service you experienced in our restaurant. We are sincerely sorry and have taken your comment on board. It's certainly not acceptable to us to have items missing from the menu and to provide anything less than excellent service. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    428
    143
    43
    14
See reviews for
204
290
72
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here for a short business trip and I wish it had been longer. Perfect location just outside the hustle and bustle of the centre close to all amenities. All of the staff were excellent; from the reception staff to the restaurant staff. All wanted to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The food in the bar and the Acacia restaurant was excellent. I even stayed for an extra lunch just to have the amazing burger again on a beautiful panini with chunky potato wedges!! The hotel has a laundry which I utilized and a perfectly adequate gym. My room was spacious and had everything I could ask for. The staff were very quick to aid me when I needed an apaptor for my ipad charger. All in all a great place to stay and only 10 mins from the beautiful Mission Bay.......thank you to all involved with my stay. I will definitely be staying with you on my next business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank adamgdsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your very positive and detailed comments. We were delighted to receive a 5 out of 5 rating from you. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

After having stayed at Novotel Tainui, Novotel Wellington & Novotel Auckland Airport, and finding them of a high standard I was expecting Novotel Ellerslie Auckland to be of the same high standard. I was disappointed to find the room was very plain, had no I Pod docking station which all other Novotels had, Eco brand coffee & tea in the room which was not as good as the Moccona or Pickwicks usually supplied. Also not the usual range of bathroom products, only shampoo & soap, no shower cap or moisuriser.
On the plus side, the meals were very good. The buffet dinner served during our conference held at there was of good quality & quantity & breakfast buffet was of the standard I was expecting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rossange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were looking for places to stay in the Ellerslie area and came across the Novotel. Seeing the prices of motels in the area I was expecting to may quite a bit more. To my surprise it was the same price as a motel nearby and also breakfast was included for free, so that was a bonus. Arriving at the hotel we first noticed that parking was a problem. Parking is free but nearly every space was taken at all times of the day but me managed to find one every time. Check in was fast, painless and informative. Our request for a high floor room was fulfilled and we also received a free drink voucher each. Upon entering the room we were very impressed with how large and modern it was with lots of space in the room despite it having a comfortable King sized bed, desk with office chair and a large lounge chair. The bathroom was compact but well designed accommodating a bathtub shower combo. I was happy with the room apart from the lounge chair smelling like a wet dog. It was the only downside with the room. The free breakfast was a buffet with the usual breakfast foods but also a few Chinese dishes to accommodate for Asian travelers.
Checkout was just as easy as check in and staff were very helpful.
Overall it is a really good place to stay when in the Ellerslie area.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms get a slightly better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your thoughts following your stay with us. We appreciate your comments. On the issue of parking; we do find that the spaces in the immediate vicinity of the hotel (i.e. in the carpark adjacent to the front entrance) are very popular and do fill quickly on busy days. However, there is an absolute abundance of free parking spaces nearby, all within a 3 minute walk of the front entrance. We are also pleased to offer valet parking. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

No problems at all with the hotel, friendly and helpful staff, lovely breakfast.
would stay again for sure.Location is great if you do not need or want to be right in the city but still has every amenity you could need.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was great. The staff were all very proffessional and freindly. The overseer at dinner(a shortish lady with indian looks) was very good at her job and made us feel relaxed. The buffet for $47 was one of the very best I have come across for many years. The chef is a genious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank guybeamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We were pleased to read of your positive experience in Acacia Restaurant. I have shared your comments with our team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
288 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This rooms are everything you would expect from Novotel. Simple and tasteful without being luxurious. These also seemed quite new.

The big issue with this place is the service - in every area of the hotel. It is simply substandard. Be it the restaurant, the rooms, the front desk etc. All hopeless. You really need to chase the staff and beg them for anything.

Simple tasks were also a problem. For example we wanted adjoining rooms. Of course the doors between the rooms were locked and it took over 30 minutes to get someone to unlock them.

We also needed our room serviced later in the day and this was not possible. They could drop off some towels and that is all.

The car park for the hotel completely fills up. This means you have to park your car some way and walk. Do not expect valet service or even help with the bags.

I would not be rushing back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenlane
0.0 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
8.0 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ellerslie International
3.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Auckland Ellerslie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Ellerslie

Property: Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
Address: 72-112 Greenlane East, Greenlane 1543, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Greenlane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Ellerslie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie is a premium 4.5 star hotel and conference venue in Auckland. Ideal for business trips, the hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the Ellerslie Events Centre, with easy motorway access, just 25 minutes from Auckland airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Auckland Ellerslie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel Greenlane
Accor Auckland Ellerslie
Auckland Novotel
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Greenlane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing