We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable overnight stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Auckland Ellerslie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
GreenLeadersSilver level
Papamoa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyable overnight stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, handy to motorway and great not having to travel right into the CBD. Standard hotel room but nicely presented, as you should expect. A little stuffy as no opening windows, even though there was aircon it's nice to have the option of fresh air. Very quiet given its location to the motorway. Had good value for money deal with breakfast included which was extensive and something to suit all tastes. One of the best breakfasts I have had in a NZ hotel. The staff are great, friendly and offered to help with bags etc. Well trained, keep up the good work Novotel. We will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaZaPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your supportive words. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast. Our new Executive Chef has been working hard to introduce a fresh new feel to the breakfast buffet, so we are happy to know you enjoyed this. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    425
    141
    43
    14
See reviews for
200
287
71
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good location, close to businesses and just off the highway.
Have booked a garden view room, nad was surprised that the windows did not open, which does not help good sleep.
Restaurant and bar are good, and service as well, but the garden area outside the bar needs some upgrading, it is pretty bleak.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank claro_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very nice hotel and the staff very friendly the meal was fabulous and all assistance was given. Price really good if you have a Accor Advantage Plus card. It was very nice to have ones request met regarding pillow type prior to arrival.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the benefits of our Accor Advantage Plus card, including the 10% discount on accommodation and up to 50% savings on food and beverage; not to mention the free night voucher. We will look forward to welcoming you back again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

All staffs I have encountered in this hotel were extremely warm and nice. I had some room service which were great as well. Nice room with a good size and pretty clean too. Quiet environment with nice city views.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ShashaCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do appreciate your comments and the high scores you gave our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a disability room linked to a standard room. The rails in the disability room were good and in the right positions. There was a disability park right next to the hotel, which was very handy, although it was not wide enough so it was hard to get out of the left hand side of the car as there was a rock garden in the way. The Friday night seafood buffet and breakfasts were good. There was an annoying blowfly that landed on the ham one morning, but the staff were very good about taking the ham away when we pointed this out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank marycanary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, including your thoughts on the disability access rooms and car parks. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Your Ellerslie hotel is a perfect place to stay when attending the Ellerslie races. Just park the car at the hotel and take the two minute walk across the car park to the race course (then of course easy to return to after the races, in time to enjoy a sumptuous evening meal. It goes without saying that the breakfast the next morning offers a wonderful selection of anything you could hope for - my favourite of your hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank c_hassallhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. It's a big compliment to be mentioned as your "favourite" of our (Accor) hotels because we know of the high standard maintained by our sister hotels. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, NZ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

A pleasant, clean comfortable room up to the expected standard of Novotel. The fittings were in good condition and everything was there and worked well (except that TV picture quality and sound were not very good). I had a great sleep in an excellent bed and the hotel seemed very quiet.

Reception was prompt and courteous. The concierge was very helpful with advice about somewhere to walk and find a cafe. The staff went out of their way to ensure that I had what I needed.

Buffet breakfast was a little above average and the service was excellent - especially with clearing used plates etc. Very helpful and friendly at the bar too.

Location is good if you need to be in the vicinity - close to a motorway off ramp and very close to the Greenlane Station. If you get off the train follow the "hotel" sign at the top of the station ramp and after a short walk you are there. There is a pedestrian gate in the iron fence off Greenlane East Road that is easily missed. Otherwise if coming from the station you can walk through the cafe courtyard just after the highway footbridge.

Overall a satisfying stay and I would happily come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RT-Whanganui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin M, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. It's pleasing to read that you will happily stay with us again. We will look forward to welcoming you back at some point. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenlane
0.0 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
8.0 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
2.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ellerslie International
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Auckland Ellerslie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Ellerslie

Property: Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
Address: 72-112 Greenlane East, Greenlane 1543, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Greenlane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Ellerslie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie is a premium 4.5 star hotel and conference venue in Auckland. Ideal for business trips, the hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the Ellerslie Events Centre, with easy motorway access, just 25 minutes from Auckland airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Auckland Ellerslie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel Greenlane
Accor Auckland Ellerslie
Auckland Novotel
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Greenlane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing