We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great economical choice”
Review of Sai Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sai Motels
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great economical choice”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over a few days at Easter. On arrival, the general facade of the place looks a bit lacklustre, but you would be pleasantly surprised! The rooms were relatively modern and well appointed, right up to spec with other accommodation options that you'd pay a lot more for in Auckland. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very generous for the price, and there are the usual plethora of takeaway or restaurant options within a stone's throw of the motel. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Gondwana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
12
33
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

doesn't look flash & driveway is in need of repair however I can't fault this motel or the service of the staff, very friendly, nothing was a problem. I didn't arrive until 1.30am & someone was waiting to check me in. On bus route to city which takes approx. 15 - 20 mins, also near Mt Smart Stadium. Airport transfer is available, breakfast & takeaway Indian food on a Sunday night. I stay here everytime I'm in Auckland and am very happy there

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Sometimes you just don't understand why a motel does some things fine while the rest of it is quite poor. We stayed at this motel for a couple of nights while a small renovation was happening at home. For that purpose this motel is adequate. But why, you ask yourself, does a motel have two very comfortable lazy boy chairs but supplies no toiletries except the ubiquitous bars of soap! Nothing else at all and the towels were a disgrace. Beige coloured, small, one face cloth and one hand towel for two people. The bath mat had torn frayed edges. Very poor. The bed was very comfortable but no extra pillows or blankets supplied. No hairdryer in the unit although one was available. Pity if you had to wash your hair as I did - no where to plug it in, in the bathroom and the plug in the bedroom is by the bed not near the mirror. Servicing the unit was next to nil - quick pull up of the sheets, no washing of basins and by the way it is useful to have arms like a gorilla to reach the shower tap! Television channels? Not even freeview was available and sky channels were three sport and a movie.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

On our holiday in NZ we stayed 1 week at the Sai Motel located at 385 Great South Road, Auckland. We were very satisfied with our stay and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable, clean, place with friendly staff in Auckland.

The pleasant cleaning staff keep the motel very tidy & clean. The manager, Pradeep, and Indrajith & Neru who work at the office are very kind, polite & always helpful. It is good that the motel office is open 24 hours a day and someone is there to help customers & tenants. Hope the motel’s car park & the front entrance area get a makeover in the near future.

Vasantha & Enid from Canada

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 have been renovated and are excellent. Furniture & appliances are new. Bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V_and_E_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here during last X'mas for 3 nights. The room size is acceptable, not very small. Bed are comfy but not very fancy with the blanket dark color. The bathroom overall is good & clean, just little small for shower area. There was function able microwave, basic kitchen ware, coffee, tea & milk was provided. We can also got parking just front of our door.
Good location, just about 15-20mins to Auckland central, and very close to Cornwall park and the Dress smart (Onehunga) shopping mall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carynbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I spent one night in room 15 with my 9-year old niece and for the price this was adequate, but very basic accommodation. The room and bathroom were quite small and tight, so I wouldn't recommend it for longer stays, but for one night it was fine. Good bed. Bigscreen TV parallel to bed made it awkward to watch, but again, for the price I wouldn't complain.
My niece did point out that while tea and coffee were available, there was no milk provided (and room does include mini fridge).
Reception was very friendly.

Overall this was one of the more basic places I've stayed, so I'm unable to rave about it, but it is clean, friendly and we felt safe. Okay value for your money. Breakfast can be purchased as well, but we did not try that. Wendy's Restaurant is across the street should you need a snack. Free parking available.

Room Tip: Some reviewers indicate having stayed in spacious rooms. I can't speak for the others, but room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

After being royally screwed over by our original accommodation, and with very limited options, this motel saved our butts from being stranded. The price was very reasonable, and we were able to get an airport transfer at 5am which was a Godsend. Do not let the exterior fool you, inside it is very nice and comfortable, and I slept like a baby! Room had a comfy bed, microwave, sky tv, crockery and tea and coffee facilities. The staff and manager/owner were awesome, super friendly and always willing to help. The manager drove us to the airport in the morning and we had a great chat with him. He was everything you should expect in a motel/hotel manager and we were so grateful to have encountered someone nice after such a terrible weekend in Auckland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenlane
0.7 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
0.8 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
688 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre
Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centr...
#1 of 4 in Mount Wellington
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Motels

Property: Sai Motels
Address: 385 Great South Road, Greenlane 1051, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Greenlane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Greenlane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sai Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sai Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sai Motels Auckland/Greenlane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing