We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Fish and Chips!”

Lake Huron Fish and Chips
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Fast Food, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are pleased to have you as our guests at Lake Huron Fish & Chips restaurant. We offer the tastiest local Whitefish as well as the popular English-style deep fried haddock fish and chips in our homemade beer batter. Another great menu item is our burger which is handmade from local Manitoulin beef. There are the classics too: onion rings and poutine. We have vegetarian options as well. Come by for a visit we'd love to have you!
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Fish and Chips!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Have been here twice now and loved it both times! Great food and good service. The price is reasonable for the amount of fish you get, and the batter they use if very good and not very greasy which was nice. They also serve a very good tartar sauce!! Definitely worth a trip if your on Manitoulin Island.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew G, Owner at Lake Huron Fish and Chips, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Graham,

So glad you enjoyed your visits to Lake Huron Fish n Chips. We make so much beer batter that we usually get it right! I particularly enjoy eating everything with a little spicy tartar sauce. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    22
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best Fries!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch with my extended family while visiting the island. This place makes the best fries I've ever had hands down!!! This fish was good as well; However, I find whitefish to be on the bland side compared to the Northern Pike I normally eat and love back in Saskatchewean.

The service here is terrific! They didn't have fresh homemade burgers ready yet, but quickly managed to get one done up when they saw how sad my niece looked lol.

Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew G, Owner at Lake Huron Fish and Chips, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Thanks for the detailed review Hayley,

We appreciated your patience with the burgers. Sometimes we just can't make them fast enough! I eat so many fries over the summer...even the ones that fall onto the counter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val Morin, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish & chips on the island”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Very good fish & chips, nice portion and not too greasy. One of the best I've had in all my travels.

Highly recommended.

Carole & Rheal Ouellet

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rheal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew G, Owner at Lake Huron Fish and Chips, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Carole and Rheal,

Thank you for the review. We sure appreciate you coming by! Hopefully see you again one day.

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips, Ever!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Enjoyed a delicious fish & chips lunch with my best pal at this charming spot. Good is delicious, price was right and the staff were amazing. Highly recommend it on your way to or from the excellent beach nearby. Hats off to owner Matt & staff for making the day for these two "old" friends. (And check out the bathroom!)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lola_and_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew G, Owner at Lake Huron Fish and Chips, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Wow, can't get a better review than this. Thank you so much and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
“The whole experience is great”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We visit the Island regularly all summer, and no visit is complete without dropping in to visit Matt and the gang. The fish is the best on the Island by far - in fact, overall it's the best food you'll find in this category. But it's not just the food - Matt is an excellent host who makes everyone feel welcome, a young dreamer who is following his own star and making it work for him. The shop next door, West Backline, has some great finds (pick up a Pendleton blanket or towel), and the general state of the property is clean and welcoming. Trust me - go once, and you'll want that fish again until you go back, and so on, and so on, ad infinitum.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew G, Owner at Lake Huron Fish and Chips, responded to this review, May 2, 2015
Sean and family,

Thank you for the good vibes! I have certainly enjoyed getting to know your family over the years and cannot wait to see you again soon :) Until then, many blessings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Huron Fish and Chips also viewed

Little Current, Manitoulin Island
Providence Bay, Manitoulin Island
 
Gore Bay, Manitoulin Island
Manitoulin Island, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Lake Huron Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing