We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place!”
Review of Auberge Inn Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Providence Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge Inn Hostel
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our visit SO much, we stayed an extra night! Nathalie and Alain put so much effort in to making us feel at home (and looked after)- suggesting wonderful outings on the island that let us enjoy great hiking and sightseeing opportunities; recommending galleries that support local artisans and giving us some great options for fantastic food. It was also amazing to stay in a place where the home is cleaned with earth-friendly products instead of harmful chemicals. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marghita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

A group of us stayed at the Auberge Inn for one night while visiting the island last weekend. It was such a lovely stay. Natalie and Alain were very hospitable and made us feel welcome right away. I stayed in the bunk bed room, had a great sleep (the mattress and sheets are super comfy) and awoke to a yummy breakfast waiting for us in the kitchen. The beach was a 5 minute walk and although we didn't stay in the area long there seemed to be lots to do. I highly recommend this hostel. Make sure you try their chocolate chips cookies. Delish!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very clean, great food, friendly hosts! Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Swimming pool....meant to refer to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Had a great one night stay where Nathalie and Alain extended every hospitality, making everyone very welcome in their lovely home. They go the extra mile to find out about their guests and offer them advice on where to go and what to see as well as offering rental on bikes, canoes etc.
The dormitory has bunk beds made locally, which are very confortable, and provide a more economical alternative for the single traveller. The floors are all natural stripped wood, healthy diets are catered for, and it is great to see "eco tourism" being sensibly embraced.
The Island of Manitoulin is very big and we did not have time to explore very far in one day, but I think that Providence Bay was an ideal location for a great beach and not too far away from other towns. Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennieandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Auberge Inn. Nathalie and Alain are great hosts. They created a lovely, clean, well-run Inn close to the beach. They were perfect with our baby and even chased us down to the ferry, when we forgot our baby blankets at their place. Thank you very much Nathalie and Alain for sharing your home with us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michaela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had a great time at the Auberge Inn. Although we were only there for one night they were fantastic. We stayed in the family room which worked perfectly with two small children. They were fantastic with out kids and even played lawn bowling, went raspberry picking around their property and even did a campfire with marshmallows and camp songs. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Painted_Elephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Auberge is a lovely, clean, and well-run place to stay when visiting Providence Bay or the vicinity on Manitoulin. Nathalie and Alain (owners) are genuinely friendly, and the options to rent a kayak or bike are a real bonus for getting the most out of the area. We can't wait to go back and hike the "Cup and Saucer"!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamiebf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Inn Hostel

Address: 71 McNevin Street | Manitoulin Island, Providence Bay, Ontario P0P 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Providence Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Providence Bay
Price Range: $30 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small international hostel situated in the heart of the village of Providence Bay, Ontario, on the south shore of Manitoulin Island. We offer affordable accommodations, including a family room, private room, and hostel-style bunk room appropriate for travellers of all ages. There are two shared bathrooms; each has a shower. Guests are welcome to use the shared kitchen, living room, and backyard. The Auberge Inn Hostel is 400 steps from the longest sandy beach and boardwalk on Manitoulin Island. The beach alone is worth the trip! Auberge Inn Hostel is a comfortable and affordable place to spend a night or a week. We can accommodate up to 12 guests. You will quickly discover that Auberge Inn Hostel is more than just a great place to sleep, it's also a place to meet people and share your travel experiences! OPEN ALL YEAR! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auberge Inn Hostel Providence Bay, Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing