We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piebird Vegan FarmStay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nipissing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piebird Vegan FarmStay
Save
You added Piebird Vegan FarmStay to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Nipissing B&B and Inns
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you are looking for an experience like no other, then Piebird is definitely the place to go. You are welcomed with a warm embrace both literally and figuratively. The atmosphere is charming and relaxed. The grounds are beautiful. The silence and peacefulness that surrounds you is something to behold. Sherry and Yan are thrilled to have guests to share their home with and spoil us with fabulous homegrown foods. Nothing about this place is formal, it's truly like being home with family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Your heart cannot help but grow when you visit the Piebird! Sherry and Yan will instantly make you feel like dear friends as soon as you set foot on Piebird property. I confess that part of the reason that we keep going back to the Piebird is because we are looking for an excuse to hang out with Sherry & Yan.

Our visit started with a garden tour (Sherry & Yan are both so knowledgeable when it comes to growing your own food and preparing it). We had a delicious dinner for two that consisted of wraps filled with greens, grains, and tofu and a salad that was an explosion of taste. After dinner we headed outside to visit the goats and the chickens and for a tour of the cabin that they are working hard to finish (it is gorgeous and would be a wonderful place to take your family or if you like more privacy than a b&b offers). We caught up with Sherry while drinking tea and eating rhubarb upside-down cake. Sherry really needs to write her own cookbook! We were then off to bed and before we knew it, it was morning. I loved looking out the window to see Yan planting and the chickens flying around. We chose to hang out with Sherry and Yan while Sherry made us pancakes for breakfast. We spent part of the morning brushing the goats and sitting outdoors. Before we knew it, it was time to head back home. We'll definately be looking for another excuse to visit the Piebird soon (the Piebird picnic perhaps). If you love composting toilets, old bathtubs, tea rooms, goats, vegan cooking, open minds and feeling like you are at home this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veggies81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I can't begin to recommend Piebird enough. Everyone I know has heard me gush and gush about how incredible this place is. I've had the pleasure of visiting this charming, rustic, beautiful home probably 5 or 6 times in the last few years and Sherry and Yan never cease to amaze me. They are always so warm, welcoming and happy to share everything - fresh harvests of fruit and veggies, incredible baked goods and home cooked meals, fabulous herbal teas, their canoes, bikes, tours of the garden and grounds, great stories, a hearty laugh and innovative new projects. The rooms are all exceptionally comfortable, clean and decorated with masterful attention to detail, authenticity and a conscientious lifestyle. The huge guest bathroom and claw foot bathtub are suburb and the guest parlor has a cozy fireplace and stacks of books, vintage board games and curiosities. The goats provide hours of entertainment and there are two lovely cats who occasionally find their way to your lap. I could pass days reading on the glorious wrap around porch and the Nipissing area is lovely any time of year. Sherry also offers various healthy cooking/canning, etc. workshops in her fabulous teaching kitchen and farm stay options are available to learn about sustainability and joys of a growing your own food. Sherry and Yan will feel like friends immediately and you'll want to come back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johannaRLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 to celebrate my husband's 75th birthday. Everything was lovely about it!

It is in a quiet, pastoral location on the South River and is wonderfully peaceful

Sherry prepared a wonderful vegan dinner complete with two birthday desserts - which we thoroughly enjoyed along with 4 other people. The sunflower pate was delicious as was the rest of the meal.

It is great fun to see the goats playing; to view the vegetable garden; to see the flowers.

We walked to the river - and heard only sounds of nature.

This was also our first experience in a truly environmentally sensitive b&b- complete with compostable toilet!

We had one bedroom and our daughter and son-in-law had the other double bedroom. There is also a single room which was not occupied the night we were there. We shared the bathroom (which has a delightful long, tin bathtub -- which reminded me of one we had in a Quebec farmhouse years ago!). If large king-sized beds and private bathrooms are your priority, this might not be the B&B for you. BUT - if peace, quiet, serenity and natural beauty are what you are looking for this WILL be a treat for you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioEnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband, myself, and our two young children arrived at Piebird on a chilly afternoon in late August. Sherry welcomed us in, and lit a fire in the living room to ward off the chill. Then she and my son went to the herb garden to pick some fresh mint to make tea. While the tea was steeping we got a tour of the organic vegetable garden, and met the goats who had come over for an evening snuggle. Sherry and Yan are genuine, warm individuals who have created an amazing space to learn and enjoy the labour of love that is Piebird. From the delicious carrots freshly dug from the ground, to the "mustache" beans that led to a great family portrait, Piebird is a wonderful B&B that we highly recommend, and hope to come back to soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband and I found this fantastic B&B while we were surfing for vegan accommodation in Ontario. Just from looking at the website, it was obvious that this was a great place for us. We were looking for somewhere to go that wouldn't be too far from where we lived. A place where we could eat vegan meals and not have to get in the car to go exploring. This place was perfect for what we wanted. Our first full day there, it rained. So we spent the day by the fire, chatting and playing games. Our second day was a sunnier day, the perfect day to participate in a gardening workshop offered by Yan. It was great! We learned so much. Both Sherry and Yan are very hospitable and friendly. In some ways, it felt as though we were spending the weekend at a friend's house. The meals that Sherry prepared for us were delicious and inspiring. It was so exciting to be tasting delicacies from their garden in May. We certainly hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonPlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Where else can you genuinely say that you saw your dinner grow? Unfortunately the place needs more than a day to appreciate it all and that's all we had this time around. The hosts, Sherry and Yan, clearly take pride and ownership in their sustainable hosting practices. Be sure to feed the pet goats while you're there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emilynvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nipissing
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
12.3 mi away
Sunset Inn on the Park
Sunset Inn on the Park
#1 of 7 in North Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
12.1 mi away
Adani Beach Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Clarion Resort Pinewood Park
Clarion Resort Pinewood Park
#10 of 25 in North Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chalkley's Sandy Bay Cottage Resort
12.4 mi away
Super 8 North Bay
Super 8 North Bay
#2 of 25 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piebird Vegan FarmStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piebird Vegan FarmStay

Property: Piebird Vegan FarmStay
Address: 113 Chapman's Landing Rd | Nipissing Village, Nipissing, Ontario P0H 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Nipissing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nipissing
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piebird celebrates 10 years of being a vegan agri-tourism destination, a happy home for animal-friends & heirloom seed co. Guests can stay either in the main guesthouse/B&B (a unique century country house with ornately embossed tin walls and ceilings throughout) or in the Birdhouse Cottage, both with full kitchen. Staying at the farm supports the animal friends who live here are in sanctuary and the advocacy we do on behalf of farmed animals. Homegrown vegan fare available. Come be a part of the peace that is Piebird! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piebird Vegan FarmStay Ontario, Canada - Nipissing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing