We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Texas in August” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaudiere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monetville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaudiere Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsland, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Texas in August”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This August 2013 will be our fourth trip to Chaudiere Lodge. The weather, the fishing, the cabins, the food, the shore lunchs, the staff, the guest, and the views are all about why we come to Canada and Chaudiere each year. If you spent August in Texas when the lows at night are 79 degrees and the highs are in the 100's then you appreciate August at Chaudiere each year. We love it and will continue to come here each year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyrone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
18
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Chaudiere Lodge feels like a family. Not only is the beauty breathtaking and the fishing incredible, but the people and staff are welcoming and so accommodating. Steve, the owner, greets you as if you are his long lost friend and makes sure you have anything you need throughout your entire visit. My father and I went for the first time a couple of weeks ago. We planned on visiting just one time but we are definitely returning even though it is a 14 hour drive! Each guest is assigned one staff member who serves you in the restaurant and takes care of your cabin and anything else you need. Kirsten took care of us and was friendly, funny, and provided excellent service. Another amazing part of our trip was having a fishing guide Trevor take us out on day long guided fishing trips. Trevor made our trip all the better. He is an excellent guide and great person to be around. Not only did we catch a ton of fish, but he made us delicious shore meals and even went above and beyond to take us out a couple of evenings. I highly recommend the Chaudiere Lodge for it's beauty, amazing owner and staff, food, service, and FISHING! You may even catch a musky like my dad did ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The thing that makes the Chaudiere stand out is the personal service you get from Steve, the owner and everyone else who works at the lodge! We spent a week there and nothing was too much trouble for the team. Our coffee maker in our cabin didn't work and it was soon replaced but with the addition of an electric jug kettle as "I noticed you like to drink tea!" The cabins are well- equipped and comfortable. The food is too good - I'm sure I put on pounds! Just a little quibble - fried potatoes at nearly every meal is too often. We would highly recommend the Chaudiere and in the words of Arnie, "We will be back!"

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynneleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been coming to Chaudiere Lodge for the past 3 years where we host our annual Boy's Fishing Weekend. From the moment you arrive at this resort you know you are about to experience something special. Steve the owner greets you like you are family and accommodates your every wish. The staff is extremely friendly and they are willing to go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable....not that you need much help for that. The scenery is picturesque and the fishing is outstanding. After a long day on the water, you get to look forward to a 5 star meal cooked by, in my opinion, one the best chefs in the region. The stress oozes out of you body as you watch the sunset while sipping a beer on the lounge chairs overlooking the beautiful river. When you are ready to turn in, the cottages are above average and are supplied with a fridge, coffee maker and all the amenities you need to make your lodging comfortable.

Being a fisherman, I am normally happy with very simple lodging and food as long as the fishing is good but after you come to Chaudiere Lodge, there is no way to go back. Time to spoil yourself for a few days.

See you all next year!

Amar

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I took my two sons to Chaudiere and after the trip we had to write this review. We best described and summed it up to this.......

Unbelievable people, service, accommodations, food and lots of fish. !! Absolutely can't wait to get back there again. The staff along with owner Steve at Chaudiere Lodge are the most attentive and kindest group of people we've ever met. It was as if we were all family. They met all our needs as it all materialized before we knew we had them. The three course meals were fabulous along with the shore lunches they provided if required for long outings.

The restaurant staff had packed fresh sandwiches,apples, cookies, chips along with fresh coffee and water while the marine staff made sure we had everything we needed for our day of fishing. Doesn't come much better! A truly great time with amazing service and breathtaking scenery, Thanks To everyone at Chaudiere for a truly great and memorable time!

Kevin Kyle and Kurtis,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

first the great things, room spartan but very clean and ample size, great view of water and very good fishing
trevor was our guide for a 5 hour fishing trip, arguably the best guide i ever had, informative, patience and managed to get my wife involved!!

area is very quiet and peaceful

food is above average, but restaurant service, although very friendly, was mediocre at best. Waitresses could not remember basic requests or forgot them completely

my wife ordered porridge, asked what kind and was told one thing, brought something totally different and also ordered a pancake: result was a 7 dollar charge for 2 breakfasts!!
were told beer was 3 dollars, bill came at 4 dollars at the end of our stay

my sister in law is allergic to nuts and she asked 3 times if there were nuts in banana bread and the waitress still forgot to check by the time the order came

very sloppy and not what would be expected for something billed as higher end, they even ran out of several menu items on a 8 item menu

dock staff were very helpful and friendly but because of the nickle and dimeing on my bill and

Room Tip: they have a honetmoon cottage with its own dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Chaudiere Lodge is just a lot of fun. The cabins are clean. The staff is great. Fishing is sometimes good and sometimes not. And the food is very good. They just ring a bell (except in the mornings) and you show up and get fed. Linen table cloths. A full view of the water. The food is good, hot and never the same. In fact, we've been there three different times, and other than the great noon day fish fry once a week, we've never had the same meal. The boats are nice...could be a bit faster...but it all depends on how far you're going on the water. The Chaudiere is just a great place to get away, relax, catch up on your reading and your naps. Lovely, lovely country...the Upper French is just a wonderful vacation spot. You won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: We always stay in the cabin named Robin. It sits on the point, on massie rock cropping. It's t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlene101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monetville
17.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Sturgeon Falls
Comfort Inn Sturgeon Falls
#1 of 5 in Sturgeon Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wolseley Lodge
Wolseley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Noelville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mashkinonje Lodge
Mashkinonje Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Happy Landing Lodge
Happy Landing Lodge
#5 of 6 in Noelville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
17.6 mi away
Tornado's Canadian Resorts
Tornado's Canadian Resorts
#1 of 4 in Port Loring
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaudiere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaudiere Lodge

Property: Chaudiere Lodge
Address: WB9-97 Island #9, Monetville, French River, Ontario P0M 2K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > French River > Monetville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Monetville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Chaudiere Lodge Canada/Monetville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing