We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fishing and relaxation”
Review of Chaudiere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monetville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaudiere Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great fishing and relaxation”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our second time to Chaudiere Lodge. There's a group of us, 7 this year, all family. We use the trip to fish but also just catch up, drink and eat. We take 2 cottages - one is housekeeping which is great if you want to make some of your own meals, and the other cottage is basically for sleeping and sitting. We all congregate in the housekeeping cottage where we have the fridge full with food and drink. Boats are in great shape, and guides are available - we always allocate one day for guided fishing, 2 boats, 2 guides. The lodge arranges it all. Best advice is to load an app that will provide map of the lakes and rivers - Steve, who runs the place, can then point out areas where we might have a better shot at catching - bass, pike, walleye. Dining room option is excellent - good food, good price. We'll be back. And Steve and staff do try to make it right for us all the time.

Room Tip: Take the housekeeping cottage - they only have one - allows you to have more flexibility with dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
18
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

What a fantastic place! My husband goes every year with the guys but wasn't able to go with them this year so we went for a little getaway. The food was great, everything was really clean, the staff were awesome! Steve makes sure everything is perfect during your entire stay, he treats you like family!
We will be back, for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherbear1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have been here now a couple times, and I am continually impressed! All the way from the Owner, Steve, down to the dock hands, care about your each and every second being enjoyable. The food is excellent, the service unbeatable, very clean, great fishing boats, the perfect retreat for a guys' fishing weekend, to a getaway for a couple. I have now made this an annual destination!!!

Room Tip: All have great views, there are a few cabins right on the water which can be extra special. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here over the May long weekend with friends for a few days of fishing. It seemed a little more "posh" then the regular lodges that we stay at. We have never gone with the all inclusive deal. WOW!!!...what a treat. Three 5 star meals a day ,served at a time that worked for everyone. A maid service! " Top Notch" linens and bath towels, and an army of staff members to make sure everything is perfect. And the best thing was that it was all at a very reasonable price. Give Steve at the lodge a call for your next truly relaxing vacation !!!

Room Tip: Get the "lake maps" app for your Iphone or android and this will help you navigate the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPRBRANTFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Cousin LT and I have now been to Chaudiere twice, first in October 2010 and again in July 2011. While the October fishing was not fast and furious, there were smallmouth, walleye and perch to be had and it was a wonderful time to hang out in front of the fireplace in the lodge, play the piano, watch fishing videos, swap stories and play cards. July, on the other hand, brought super fishing for smallmouth, walleye, pike and delicious perch, with the occasional largemouth and sheepshead thrown in. Owner Steve Niedzwiecki and his crew, including Steve's wonderful great aunt and uncle, spared no effort in making our trips memorable, serving first class meals (prepared by a professional chef and onsite baker), lodging us in wonderfully cozy, well maintained cabins with full baths and fresh ice every night and providing talented, dedicated fishing guides to assure that fish are caught. In fifty years of fishing all across North America, I've not experienced a more enjoyable fishing resort. We're going back in 2012!

Helpful?
5 Thank Zane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I had an amazing time in our cozy cabin away from our busy lives. No cooking, no cleaning, no noise........Chaudiere Lodge is a perfect spot to get rejuvenated and refreshed. We could look out to the stunning scenery from our cabins front porch over looking the beautiful french river
.
The meals in the quaint dining room were diverse and tasted delicious as any fine restaurant, they even cooked your very own freshly caught fish in excellent fashion.

Steve and his staff were very accommodating and friendly to the point of taking us for a scenic tour on the way in from the marina. Our guide that took us out fishing was very knowledgeable of the area and habits of the local fish.

We will definitely be back to stay at Chaudiere Lodge, but next time we will stay longer to enjoy more of what the lodge has to offer.
Gillian & Scott

Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Thank you very much to the owner Steve and his staff for a wonderful weekend at Chaudiere Lodge. It was my wife and my 2nd time ever to the French River area and we loved it. We booked without having any prior knowledge of Chaudiere Lodge and we’re so glad we did. Steve was a fabulous host! Everything was top notch from the cabins to the food to the fun after-dinner entertainment (winning the big Poker game). Even during a power-outage on our last day, the cooks came up big and satisfied our hunger. Our only regret was that we couldn’t catch any Muskie, but the Walleye were sure biting and were very tasty! We’re looking forward to coming again!
P.S. Hope your adjustments got you all tuned up to haul in any Monster Muskies.
Jim & Nikky

Helpful?
1 Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monetville
65.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sturgeon Falls
Comfort Inn Sturgeon Falls
#1 of 5 in Sturgeon Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
53.3 mi away
Wolseley Lodge
Wolseley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Noelville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
47.8 mi away
Mashkinonje Lodge
Mashkinonje Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.5 mi away
Tornado's Canadian Resorts
Tornado's Canadian Resorts
#1 of 4 in Port Loring
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
51.3 mi away
The Canadian Ecology Centre Cabins
42.1 mi away
Happy Landing Lodge
Happy Landing Lodge
#5 of 6 in Noelville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaudiere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaudiere Lodge

Property: Chaudiere Lodge
Address: WB9-97 Island #9, Monetville, French River, Ontario P0M 2K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > French River > Monetville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Monetville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Chaudiere Lodge Canada/Monetville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing