We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Place I Want to Go!”
Review of Chaudiere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monetville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaudiere Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have been here now a couple times, and I am continually impressed! All the way from the Owner, Steve, down to the dock hands, care about your each and every second being enjoyable. The food is excellent, the service unbeatable, very clean, great fishing boats, the perfect retreat for a guys' fishing weekend, to a getaway for a couple. I have now made this an annual destination!!!

Room Tip: All have great views, there are a few cabins right on the water which can be extra special. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 120 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed here over the May long weekend with friends for a few days of fishing. It seemed a little more "posh" then the regular lodges that we stay at. We have never gone with the all inclusive deal. WOW!!!...what a treat. Three 5 star meals a day ,served at a time that worked for everyone. A maid service! " Top Notch" linens and bath towels, and an army of staff members to make sure everything is perfect. And the best thing was that it was all at a very reasonable price. Give Steve at the lodge a call for your next truly relaxing vacation !!!

Room Tip: Get the "lake maps" app for your Iphone or android and this will help you navigate the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPRBRANTFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Cousin LT and I have now been to Chaudiere twice, first in October 2010 and again in July 2011. While the October fishing was not fast and furious, there were smallmouth, walleye and perch to be had and it was a wonderful time to hang out in front of the fireplace in the lodge, play the piano, watch fishing videos, swap stories and play cards. July, on the other hand, brought super fishing for smallmouth, walleye, pike and delicious perch, with the occasional largemouth and sheepshead thrown in. Owner Steve Niedzwiecki and his crew, including Steve's wonderful great aunt and uncle, spared no effort in making our trips memorable, serving first class meals (prepared by a professional chef and onsite baker), lodging us in wonderfully cozy, well maintained cabins with full baths and fresh ice every night and providing talented, dedicated fishing guides to assure that fish are caught. In fifty years of fishing all across North America, I've not experienced a more enjoyable fishing resort. We're going back in 2012!

5  Thank Zane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I had an amazing time in our cozy cabin away from our busy lives. No cooking, no cleaning, no noise........Chaudiere Lodge is a perfect spot to get rejuvenated and refreshed. We could look out to the stunning scenery from our cabins front porch over looking the beautiful french river
.
The meals in the quaint dining room were diverse and tasted delicious as any fine restaurant, they even cooked your very own freshly caught fish in excellent fashion.

Steve and his staff were very accommodating and friendly to the point of taking us for a scenic tour on the way in from the marina. Our guide that took us out fishing was very knowledgeable of the area and habits of the local fish.

We will definitely be back to stay at Chaudiere Lodge, but next time we will stay longer to enjoy more of what the lodge has to offer.
Gillian & Scott

2  Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Thank you very much to the owner Steve and his staff for a wonderful weekend at Chaudiere Lodge. It was my wife and my 2nd time ever to the French River area and we loved it. We booked without having any prior knowledge of Chaudiere Lodge and we’re so glad we did. Steve was a fabulous host! Everything was top notch from the cabins to the food to the fun after-dinner entertainment (winning the big Poker game). Even during a power-outage on our last day, the cooks came up big and satisfied our hunger. Our only regret was that we couldn’t catch any Muskie, but the Walleye were sure biting and were very tasty! We’re looking forward to coming again!
P.S. Hope your adjustments got you all tuned up to haul in any Monster Muskies.
Jim & Nikky

1  Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The week spent at Chaudiere Lodge exceeded all expectations. It was due to many factors but the most important was the owner(STEVE) and his outstanding staff and family. You are made to feel at home the minute the lodge boat picks you up at the marina. The interface with the saff and owner is always friendly. The food preparation is of high quality and a great variety although we could have eaten fish every meal. The facilitiy is maintained at very high standards as Steve is shooting for excellence. We hit a good week for the weather and fishing however,I could have been satisfied with just the relaxing atmosphere if the weather and fishing had not cooperated. I plan to return again and try to become a regular.

3  Thank Easylifeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Chaudiere Lodge is a place to go if you choose to GET AWAY and DO NOTHING -or- fish all the time while enjoying the personal service, experience the gourmet foods cooked fresh every meal, watch the world go in the beautiful French River Area.

Our intent was to do nothing except be with each other and relax We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary getting away from phones, daily business and other demands we tolerate. The weather in early September is warm to mild, the best to sit by the water then enjoy a great night's quiet sleep in our private cabin.

Steve is great host - caring and attentive - approachable and smilling - always with a good word - keeps a clean and well appointed lodge.

We will go back - the next time we will know we will be greeted as friends. THANK YOU.

1  Thank milanreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chaudiere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaudiere Lodge

Address: WB9-97 Island #9, Monetville, French River, Ontario P0M 2K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > French River > Monetville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Monetville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Chaudiere Lodge Canada/Monetville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing