We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't think twice about returning!”
Review of Coral Lodge 15.41

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Lodge 15.41
Certificate of Excellence
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wouldn't think twice about returning!”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Fantastic and super friendly staff. Amazing, Amazing Food! A community conscious lodge. The owners have invested heavily in the training, education and grooming of their staff. When they were working out electricity connection for the lodge, they advocated for electricity to also be connected to the nearby community. The beach is beautiful. The diving is memorable. I would not hesitate one second to return to this beautiful, warm, friendly, and relaxing oasis in Northern Mozambique. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Every room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merritt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
62
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous and memorable holiday in Mozambique. We felt so lucky to experience such untouched paradise before the tourists find this beautiful country.
Coral Lodge is first class luxury - wonderful lodges right on the beach (or the lagoon) with award winning air-conditoned beds.
The location and the food are the highlights. Carlos, the chef comes to your table each time to inform you what he has prepared for your meal. Delicious seafood cooked with style!
The hosts, Bart and Alexandra Otto were just perfect - they could not do enough for us, suggesting a picnic with lobster on a desert island - sheer heaven. Or whale watching - unbelievable! Or dinner at the waters edge - stunning. Or a visit to the local village and to see the oldest church in the southern hemisphere - fascinating!
We highly recommend Coral Lodge - the bluest ocean I have ever seen. Untouched paradise beaches and more stars than I thought possible - simply heaven. Thank you to bart, Alex and your gorgeous staff that always offered service with a smile! We will return.

Room Tip: We loved opur lodge overlooking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
215 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

As the final leg of our African adventure, our family of four spent six nights at the Coral Lodge which is located in the northeastern corner of Mozambique. Most guests fly to Nampula and take a two hour drive to the lodge. We flew to Pemba and then flew by bush plane for an hour to land very near the lodge.

The lodge is beautiful and could hold its own against the very best Caribbean resorts that we have stayed at. The villas were enormous and had lovely views of the torquise green Indian ocean.

Every meal was like a five star restaurant meal. The lodge chef came to us before every meal and explained what he had created for that experience. The attention to detail was wonderful and they learned our preferences and made adjustments to our menu as the week went by. They understood that our teens got hungry in later afternoon, so they added a "snack" for us which could be fish sticks or hamburgers and gourmet fries. We made sure to communicate a "do not expect this at home" message to our teens.

The activities were very good. We scuba dived which was good and similar to good Caribbean diving. the whale watching was spectacular and we saw multiple whales up close during both of our trips to find them. The cultural opportunities are many and we particularly enjoyed a visit to a local village and a tour of the oldest church in the southern hemisphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medas2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This lodge is situated in an absolutely beautiful location on the coast of Mozambique. The beach has white, clean, sand and crystal clear waters. We arrived by boat, taking 15 minutes from Ilha de Mozambique. The combination of the location, service and food made this a really memorable experience for us.
We stayed for 6 nights at Coral Lodge and loved the high standards achieved in the decor of the chalets, the service from the staff and the quality of the food. The standards at Coral Lodge are 5 star, on an international standard (not just in comparison to other African accommodation!). We felt that Alex and Bart, the Dutch couple who run Coral Lodge, managed to strike a balance between providing extremely high standards in service with letting us relax fully and feel completely at home. There were plenty of small touches that made us feel so welcome. The staff delivered on everything that we requested, and more on top of that after finding out things that we liked and making an effort to provide these things.
We really enjoyed having breakfast served on our own veranda each morning so that we could enjoy the panoramic view of the ocean, and we could see whales playing on the horizon!
The menu is determined by what's available, so given it's location this is prodominantly (although not completely) seafood. This suited us fine! The 2-course lunches and 3-course dinners are excellent and display an internationally high level of culinary skills. They provided 2 lunches for us away from the dining room; 1 was across the lagoon at a specially constructed dining table in a secluded spot, and the other was a picnic set up along the beach. Both demonstrated the effort that the staff went to to provide unique and thoughtful experiences for us.
On the last day that we were at the lodge we took part in the weekly staff football match. Not only was it great fun, but it demonstrated the excellent rapport that the owners have with their staff. They clearly invest in the development of their local staff, and are well-known and involved in the local community. When staying in a luxury lodge in a remote part of Africa, this is nice to know as a guest.

Room Tip: There are chalets with ocean view and some with lagoon view. Specify when you book if you have a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GT_and_ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our family (two adults and two kidz aged 11 and 16) spent 7 nights at the stunning Coral Lodge, managed and owned by a Dutch couple - Bart and Alexandra Otto. We were not only impressed with their professional and accomodating style of dealing with guests but also support their overall philosophy of supporting development initiatives in the local communities surrounding the Lodge.

The food was excellent and surely the hightlight of our stay - fresh seafood expertly prepared for lunch and dinner, while the kitchen was very accomodating to our special requests at all times. All meals are beautifully presented and a not only a delight to taste but also to look at.

The Villas (our kidz shared a seperate Villa on thier own) is very spaciuos, tastefully decorated with stunning sea views right on the beach. The large beds with thier built-in airconditioning system was also very impressive. Another highlight was watching the hump-back whales play in the water from the veranda of the Villa.

Coral Lodge staff was always very friendly, professional and effective in performing their tasks, inlcuding the scuba-diving team. My son and I did a beginers scuba-diving course and we enjoyed the actual diving very much.

A visit to the nearby Ilha de Mozambique is aslo a must-do while at Coral Lodge - a great way to learn about the history of the area.

Again, thanx to Bart, Alex and all the Coral Lodge staff for ensuring that we will have very fond memories of this very special family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

It's an excellent place with great contact with nature. Staff is very nice. The cooker Mr Carlos is really a specialist, the best, prestigious for the lodge. Delicious dishes , great variety.
From a cultural standpoint is a very historically rich region located next to the island of Mozambique.
I would like to highlight the first Catholic church built in Southern Africa that is located near the lodge. Do not miss a visit!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marques52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossuril
215.6 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibo Island Lodge
Ibo Island Lodge
#2 of 3 in Ibo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardim dos Aloes
Jardim dos Aloes
#1 of 7 in Mozambique Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cinco Portas Pensao
860.6 mi away
San Martinho Beach Club
San Martinho Beach Club
#2 of 15 in Bilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
27.0 mi away
Nacala Plaza Business Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Lodge 15.41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Lodge 15.41

Property: Coral Lodge 15.41
Address: Varanda 9, Cabaceira Pequena | Caixa Postal 555, Mossuril 3104, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Nampula Province > Mossuril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mossuril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coral Lodge 15.41 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Lodge 15.41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Lodge 15.41 Hotel Nampula
Coral Lodge 15.41 Mozambique/Mossuril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing