We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind with friends n family”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kasol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Himalayan Village
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasol
Certificate of Excellence
Chandigarh, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind with friends n family”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 15 friends with families. We stayed at the resort for the weekend. The stay was amazing. The resort is beautifully made n maintained. The service was great. Our host mr. Aman sood was very understanding and made us all feel at home. I would definitely recommend the resort to any one wanting to have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maanvinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the words of appreciation and recoomendations. We are pleased that your group enjoyed your stay with us and felt like home here. The Himalayan Village is a second home to you. We are glad that you loved the resort , the maintenance and our services. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    61
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
155
123
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose The Himalayan Village simply because it's pet-friendly, and we really wanted to take our adorable black Labrador pup along on this holiday! But thanks to the exceptional service from the staff and warmth from the hosts and owners, ths holiday turned out to be beyond our expectations! The place is gorgeous, the rooms, the gardens, the food, the vibe, the locale... It just all adds up and makes you want to come back again and again.....a real special place for everyone, especially dog lovers who find it difficult to take their pets along on holidays because we just don't have enough places in our country which welcome pets with such open arms! Our doggy Kunzum had a blast of a holiday, and she even got a playmate ... Dillon, the owners Labrador....we surely will plan another holiday at the Himalayan Village....thanks Aman and team! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I didn't see a pool, but am sure if there is one, it will be at par with everything else.... Sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanika2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for the fabulous reviews. We are pleased that you really enjoyed your holidays with us and loved the location, the cottages, our services, our gardens, our warm hospitality , the food and we could surpass your expectations. We are pleased that Kunjum had a real good time. Infact we are coming up with a special pet friendly area with a lot of games and splash pools for them. We would love to host you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have every reason to return to the Himalayan Village again. This is one pristine place in the secluded Parvati Valley. The resort is awesome, and the staff even better. A special mention must be made of Mr. Aman Sood, the proprietor. It's his impeccable hospitality that puts a feather on the cap.

The Himalayan Village is like Nirvana to tourists like me.

Room Tip: The Superior Machan (Kullu) is the best place to be in. It gives the best view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGunjanGuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you sir for taking out time from your busy schedule and writing a wonderful review. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you have really enjoyed your stay with us. My staff joins me in thanking you for the words of praise. We look forward to seeing you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Loved the stay! Loved the place :-) excellent rooms, brilliant management & wonderful service!!! Beautiful place to stay and relax with magnificent surroundings right next to the river Parvati!!! Great food with very friendly staff!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeepgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you sir for the wonderful reviews. We are pleased that you loved the cottages, location, food, hospitality and we could make your holidays enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohali, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

+ Amazing resort.
+ Cotteges have every comfort you can expect from a 5 star facility.
+ Good room service

- Food overly expensive. Average taste for its price, especially Chinese.
- Cotteges get overly chilly during winters.
- When you checkout the staff checks everything and counts items around the room, in the toilet, in the minibar. They open closed packs to see whether the guest has used the stuff or not. Though this may be ok for others but to me it looked like as if I was being frisked. I have traveled around the world and no body does this. They simply ask whether you have used something from the bar or not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsbhogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you sir for your nice reviews. We are pleased that you loved the resort, the services and found the facilities top class. We apologize that you found the food average and assure you to make amends.Normally all our guest just love our food. We always strive for excellence and feed backs help us even do better. As for the chillness in the cottage as explained to you in person, since your was not a advance booking and you took the room as a walk in guest the cottage heating was not put on in advance as done for the booking guest . That is why the cottages were cold for the first 15-20 minutes as the temperatures here in winters are low. For the checking of the mini bar and other paid items by the staff and your advise that the guest words should be taken rather than checking for any uses. We would have loved it that ways but it just does not work. In quite a few cases the guest are not honest as you, so we have to do the check of the utilities our self and that is done once the guest moves out of the cottage and conveyed to the billing office before he goes for the bill payments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here in June’12. Everything was simply perfect, neat and beautiful. Would rather say—EXCESSIVELY MUCH FOR OUR EYES TO HANDLE with superb location, breathtaking views of mountain & river from eco-friendly well heated cozy cottages with balcony or lawn, delicious food, groomed and cordial staff carrying smiles all the time. The resort is located away from the bustle of market area and there is a waterfall nearby, local dance and music during evening hours, gym, steam, sauna facilities to rejuvenate and a fantastic bar. Trust me all this was enough to provide us ample serenity. I vouch that i have stayed in many hotels but till date I have not found both service and food quality of such high level.
This one is my first review ever for any hotel. I thank the entire staff and management (Specially Mr. & Mrs. Aman Sood) for making our stay memorable and look forward for our next visit. Highly recommended and would definitely give 10 on 10. You guyz actually exceeded our expectations.
:)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_thakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you mam for the wonderful reviews and superlative praises. We are pleased to know that you gave us 10/10 on all accounts and just loved all aspects about the place , the location , services, hospitality. It gives us so much pleasure to know the amount of satisfaction and enjoy we could give you and we were able to make to make your holiday a life time experience. We look forward to hosting you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Himalayan Village is one of the most beautiful resorts i have vacationed at. The experience is really enthralling. All the facilities are world class, the restaurants, food, service, decor, bar ,spa facilities, neat rooms, very different designs and patterns, Himachali folk song and dance, beautifully located. Highly recommended for all who want to visit exotic place manali and manikaran.

Room Tip: kullu Machan is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankitasaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aman S, Owner at The Himalayan Village, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you mam for the wonderful reviews and finding us as one of the best holiday destinations We are very pleased to know that you loved the location theme , decor, food, spa. We still remember your enthralling dance with our folk dancers. It was rather your enthusiasm which caught on with everybody and made it one of the best musical nights. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasol
10.3 mi away
Heritage Village Resort
11.5 mi away
LaRiSa Resort
LaRiSa Resort
#1 of 3 in Haripur
258 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Himalayan
The Himalayan
#1 of 123 in Manali
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Apple Valley Resort
Apple Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Mohal
103 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bharhka Countryside Cottage Resort
11.8 mi away
ShivAdya Resort & Spa
ShivAdya Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Karjan
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Himalayan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Himalayan Village

Property: The Himalayan Village
Address: Doonkara | Parvati Valley, Kasol 175105, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kullu District > Kasol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kasol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made in very old architecture called Kathkunia style (without cement with mud plastered interiors). An eco-friendly resort. The resort is surrounded by pine and fir jungles, rivers. Has traditional Machans structures at 40-60 above the ground. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing