We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
120
42
10
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
120
42
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral island clear blue water pigeon island open shower boat trip small child dolphin watching big shower crab curry loved our stay ground floor small hotel rooms are large stayed here for nights laid back sam beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unfontunately, we stayed only for two nights, but it was great! Well furnited and big rooms! ...and such a big shower - great!!
Very good and fresh breakfast - once srilankian and once western. We also had dinner there and the food was great and very tasty.
It is located at the beautiful nilaveli beach with white sand and blue water - so that you can go for a swim before breakfast!
The guys who worked there are lovely, always helpful and trying to do the best for you. Recommended!!

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank S105K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagenahira, Owner at Nagenahira Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello
ThaNk you for the lovely review !!! Very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

We had an amazing stay at the resort . Simple yet unique with sustainability. The most exclusive part was the open shower . The beach is right 10 steps away .it's a personal beach experience. Food is amazing and simple . Special attention given by the owner Sam . Would love to visit again and spend more time there .

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Peeps2k99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

This is my second stay here and every thing has changed- for the better. When I first visited there were only 3 rooms but now there are a few more. They are all tastefully decorated, comfortable, with air conditioning and fans and security safes and fridges. Somethings have not changed- the super friendly staff and the amazing food. The crab curry is the best. I have never seen a more beautiful secluded beach which is just at the door step. Totally relaxing and I can't wait to come back - sooner rather than later.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Howafm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Going to Nagenahira is a must if you are visiting Sri Lanka. The location is private and cut away. The staff are really helpful and the food is great!

I couldn't help but feel relaxed. The ocean is pristine, you cant help but spend hours at the beach. I would definitely recommend making a trip to Pigeon Island which is a short boat ride away.

Room tip: The room on the very top has the best views!
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sanjay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

Wow! What an amazing stay. Great rooms with half open big rain shower (we had one of the sea view bungalows). Absolutely clean and quiet at night. Delicious local breakfast and dinner. And then the amazing beach with clear blue water, small waves and flat, so that it was perfect for the children to swim. The first two nights we were the only guests and enjoyed an empty beach. But I think, it's never crowdy. So this is a real paradise beach.
We also enjoyed the boat trip in the lagoon and the hospitality of the boat trip organizer.
The staff in the hotel is also very friendly. And the kids loved the dogs, which they could feed every day, and the cows at the beach.
Very relaxed days. And we can highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank markusseemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews