We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Best location in nilaveli. Friendly staff. Good food at the beach hut .Hotel needs a makeover. Bath rooms are basic but clean.rooms are spacious . serine place. Best place to enjoy morning sun rise. Deluxe rooms are better.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank KishanDominicPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 497 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent some unforgettable days at Nilaveli Beach hotel. The place is beautifully built, the rooms elegant with modern bathrooms. The location at the beach is fantastic & it is close enough to stroll along the beach to have a drink. Service was great. We went there for our honeymoon. The house keeping staff was fantastic. They made us feel home since we arrived. The room was well arranged with lots of surprises. The chef made great food, and the included dinner was amazing. Highly recommend if you want to experience a special evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thanuja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our 05th visit to Nilaveli Beach Hotel. Because it is one of the most excellent hotel in Srilanka.The food was great, Our room was excellent, and the food was the best food. It was SUPERB ! (No more words to say) There were many choices of food. The staff were very friendly and helpful at any moment.
The boat ride was very good and we enjoyed it alot.

If you are a family and if you planning to visit this lovely hotel, the best choice is to choose the Chalet Room because it fits for a family and we loved it very very much ! Thanks again for a lovely hospitallity and I'll hope that we will visit this lovely Hotel again !

Room Tip: The Chalet rooms are SUPERB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pathirana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is ok - the rooms are nice enough but the bathrooms are dated and there were mosquitos in my room, despite the AC. The beach off the hotel is absolutely stunning though and the sand perfect and the water clean and warm. There is also a hotel pool near the beach which is pretty nice.

But...there was just something missing.

We visiting off season, and the whole place had a deserted air - like it was about to be hit by a zombie attack. We were assured that there were other people staying too, but they didn't seem to be around much. I was also tempted to try diving for the first time, but when the diving instructor tried to feed me his lunch from his own hands and then increased the cost twice from his original price I thought I'd give it a miss.

A creepy yet beautiful place. A little overpriced for what you get and the food is sadly not great.

Room Tip: All the rooms are near the beach, but you can't see the sea from any of them, due to the trees t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Unlike many beach hotels in Sri Lanka, this one has it just right. It's not glitzy or fancy, it's just a nice clean place to stay with a fantastic beach, good food, and good beach bar/restaurant.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, a real credit to the hotel.

The location is excellent, being a short drive into Trincomalee. We went snorkelling on Pigeon Island which was lovely.

The pricing was very realistic unlike most beach resorts in Sri Lanka.

Highly recommended. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurzonGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Excellent Location in Trincomalee. One of the best value for money sea beach resorts. Unfortunately I could spend only one day there and would definitely go back for a weekend holiday. The rooms are very spacious and the dining space is very well laid out facing the beach. Each room has a private balcony and you can walk into the beach. Very nice pool. The beach is very beautiful and the sea waters were as calm as a pool. The Pigeon island is just 10 min by boat. Excellent staff and excellent food. Do not miss the word Hotel when you search for this resort as there are many resorts starting with the name Nilaveli.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Nilaveli Beach Hotel has the best location by far in the Nilaveli area in terms of beach frontage. It is just a 10 minute boat ride away from Pigeon Island which is great for snorkeling. This hotel is an old favourite of ours. The deluxe rooms are recommended as they are spacious with its own private verandah, mini bar, TV and view of the ocean with very easy access to the beach. My only complaint is that the bathrooms are rather tired and badly need a revamp. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The beach side bar is a great place to relax and have a drink/meal. My husband and I had a delicious meal of garlic and pepper crab. A great hotel for a relaxed beach holiday in the east coast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmalee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.2 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
379 reviews
6.4 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,361 reviews
10.2 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trincomalee
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilaveli Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilaveli Beach Hotel

Address: Nilaveli, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range: $44 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nilaveli Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nilaveli Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilaveli Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing