We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax and recharge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our third stay at the Nilavel Beach Hotel over three year and the hotel seems to get better year on year. Its a long way from Colombo, but worth the trek if you are looking for a quiet getaway. It is a Beautiful place with white sand and blue sea. The beach and the sea is not crowded and you can get a boat to pigeon island from the hotel. The hotel is relatively small (~45 rooms). The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but air-con, safe and TV are provided in deluxe rooms only. We stayed on half board basis which included Breakfast and dinner. Both the dinner and breakfast buffets were great - lots of choice and good food. When there are not many guests, they serve you from the set menu, so the choice is limited, but this food was exceptional. Some of the best we've tasted in Sri Lanka! The beach bar is great for relaxing. The bar menu choice is relatively limited, but the food quality is good. We stayed for 4 days - Friday to Monday. Friday and Saturday were very busy, as it was a long weekend in Sri Lanka, but it became very quite on Sunday and Monday. One improvement to suggest is that housekeeping could be better. We asked for an iron a few times, but it didn't materialise.

Room Tip: The hotel has a few newly built deluxe rooms nearer the beach, and you can get a lovely sea view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerathI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 497 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had heard so much about the Nilaveli Beach Hotel that we rented 3 deluxe rooms for a single night's stay. We paid $175 a night per room, which in my estimation. We arrived late in the evening and had a very difficult time finding the hotel as the directional signs were not very visible at night.
The staff in the large dining area were not helpful, they appeared to be over worked and were too tired to help. We found our door to our room was unlocked when we woke up in the morning, apparently it did not lock when we pulled the door shut.
Our friends in another deluxe room had no hot water when they woke up in the morning, and had to take cold showers.
We have stayed in a number of cheaper hotels in Sri Lanka and their service was far superior to that of Nilaveli Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_Travel_bugs_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

we stayed for two lovely nights at this beautiful hotel. the setting is idyllic, the beach is beautiful and the staff were friendly. the setting of the hotel was like in a manicured jungle, with monkeys appearing at sundown and sunrise and getting quite close. it was a real highlight of our holiday. however, it's a little over priced for the quality of the rooms. insect protection on the windows would allow a better airflow. the buffet breakfast was mediochre and it's a bit cheeky to charge extra for internet, however these are only minor issues compared with an overall positive experience.

Room Tip: beach-facing rooms on second floor are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

As you enter the resort at Nilaveli, you are taken aback by the size of the area. It is set over lush greenery, with many wild animals dotted around the place, with a mix of separate chalets, and rooms in the main hotel area. It looks very grand!

The reception area is nice, and the long walk way leads you to 2 dining areas, the pool, restaurant, bar and then the beach.

Our rooms were in a separate chalet at the back of the hotel, looking at the reception and gardens. The rooms were large and spacey, if not exceptional. There was no TV, and the internet did not reach this far. In addition, if you want internet, you have to pay per device! What type of idiot made this rule I'm not sure! It isn't followed by any other major hotel in the world- and yet this place seem to think it is decent to do so! Ridiculous!

The bathroom isn't very nice! It's quite small, has insects and wasn't very clean!

The swimming pool is large and very nice! It's usually quite full, but is a nice place to relax! Especially at the bar by the swimming pool!

We went to have dinner at the restaurant by the pool. The meal was decent, an average 5/10 across the order (nasi goreng, chicken and chips etc). However for the 4 of us, it cost £120!!! It was one of the most expensive meals in Sri Lanka, and was not worth it at all!!
Breakfast was average as well.

The service is also reasonable, very basic.

The draw is the beach- which is exceptional! And the proximity to Pigeon Island. You are paying for this at this hotel- but overall, the actual hotel and food itself is very disappointing.

Rooms- 28/50
Bathroom- 11.5/20
Other Amenities/Facilities- 40/60
Value- 3.5/10 ($75)
Overall- 60.2%

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBhatt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nilaveli Beach Hotel does not match standards of other resorts in sri lanka, although prices are the same, if not are higher. I think the main reason is that it is one of very few hotels in Trincomalee and has no competition. If this hotel was located down south, it could not compete! We recently stayed at Chalet 1 - very old furniture, very old tv, bathroom taps did not close properly and continued to drip, shower was dripping instead of spraying water.. there were many maintenance issues, and overall it was very disappointing given the price we were paying. We thought of changing to 2 double rooms, but on exploring the others found that they were the same. The management (tangerine) really needs to renovate this resort!
Some of the staff are very rude. We initially booked full board but on attempting to change to half board after reaching the hotel, we were told that we couldnt since the booking had been made as full board. We simply wanted to order from their restaurant (as full board is only a set menu) not to go anywhere else for lunch. A certain staff member accused us of being cheap. They really have no manners. After a massive argument, one of the managers allowed us this change.
The meals offered as buffet were satisfying and generous.
Overall, this hotel may satisfy tourists, but as locals we feel we were ripped off. Explore some of the hotels along the southern coast (bentota, galle) for a better and luxurious stay!
Trincomalee is a beautiful town with an amazing coastline. Pigeon island offers great snorkeling. We dived here as well. Beautiful. If only the hotel had been upto par, it would have been an unbeatable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SG110588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This has been one of the best trips and beach hotels we have visited.
Loved the food and the spacious rooms. We got a good deal and enjoyed every bit of our stay. our lil girl loved it too.
The crab dish and the beach restaurant was scrumptious. Loved the pool too. It's a homely place with very friendly staff.
Good atmosphere and the best time to travel is during September-February when it is much cooler.

Room Tip: Rooms with the beach view are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifrah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in room 33, which is at the back of the hotel closer to the car park and does not have a direct view of the sandy garden and beach thereafter. However the room was large, clean, well lit, a/c worked well, had an empty mini bar, complementary water bottles, coffee maker, hot water on tap and clean linen.Room 21 overlooks the garden area with direct access to the pool, restaurant and beach. It looked smaller in size than 33.

This is the ideal location to explore Trincomalee. It is 5min away from Pigeon Island, a must visit for at least 3 hours! Take an underwater camera, and you will not regret it.

The food (a la cart) was not value for money, except the breakfast buffet which was a large tasty spread. We explored Upuveli beach and Trinco town for most of the other meals.

Visited Arisimale Beach, Girihandu Seya, Pigeon Island, Naval Museum together with a 30min boat ride, Sunrise at Koneswaram Kovil, etc.

The weather, though slightly warmer than Colombo was clear. Ideal for lovely photographs. It was windy and made it hard to sit by the pool side or beach if you want to avoid a gust of sand/ dust.

Room Tip: Room 33 and the ones in line with it seem larger though they didnt have a view of the garden like ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.2 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
467 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
379 reviews
6.4 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,361 reviews
10.2 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trincomalee
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilaveli Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilaveli Beach Hotel

Address: Nilaveli, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range: $44 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nilaveli Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Nilaveli Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilaveli Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing