We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and stunning beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and spacious, beds turned back each night and adorned with flowers and scented.
The food is fairly good too. Breakfasts are great. There is a choice of beach bar or main restaurant where specials are put on at the weekends. Beach bar menu can be a bit expensive.
Hotel grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Pool is nice, but why would you want to swim there? The sea is just perfect! The beach is all but deserted- miles of golden sands and crystal clear waters.
Snorkeling is a must at Pigeon Island, where the coral reef is colourful and teeming with fish.
There is not much else around, so when you're there, you're there. A good stop to recharge the batteries if you are spending the rest of your trip touring all the sights.
Might as well sit back, relax and enjoy it!

Room Tip: Our room was above the restaurant, overlooking the pool and lovely grounds so you could sit out on y...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Nilaveli Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 488 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We came just to eat (not to stay, fortunately i'd say!) and the food was far to be good! we choose menu à la carte instead of buffet (another big mistake!) and we had seafood salad as starter. well, just praws and calamari,and they were not fresh at all, very hard to chew!(terrible!). Then, for main course, seafood tempura (not too bad) and grilled lobster. "Not fresh" is the only kind comment i can do...it was ashamedly poor, one bite and finished (20 € portion!). At the end they charged us just half lobster, considered the size or maybe having seen our very disappointed faces. So, definitely don't get confused about the great name. I can assure you can eat better in some unknown places instead of here. Worst experience we had in 15 days of Sri Lanka ( considering the bill we paid!)

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank toto20181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed there for one night. The hotel it self is nice, the room is very clean, the beach with a view on Pigeon Island is very well maintained for the area, but the pool is a bit small and can be very crowded. Although we had a very nice stay, we found it a bit expensive. I definitely recommend it if you look for a comfortable and nice stay near Trincomalee.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chentou93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful beach-side location in the middle of nowhere (don't plan on eating out every night!). The beach and sea are pristine but the hotel itself needs some work.

Breakfast buffet was OK (but lots of flies on the food) and the evening buffet was good food but overpriced. I'd echo what a previous reviewer said about service at the beach restaurant being painfully slow. In fact, in general, I would say it was over priced and oversold - some rooms are really old fashioned, bathrooms especially need updating, and the rooms above the dining/lounge complex, which are more modern, have little privacy as the balconies give onto a walk way. I am referring to the 'deluxe' rooms - didn't see the standard ones.

The grounds were acceptable, with hammocks strung here and there and plenty of sunbeds available for use on the beach or by the pool, but the pool itself was not very large. There is the possibility to do scuba diving/snorkelling/ boat trips, which were reasonably priced.

If travelling with teenagers - beware that WiFi is not free and costs can add up!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms - those above the central dining/lounge area have been updated but you will get people...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LokiLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Plus : Spacious rooms&bathrooms, Very clean, Breakfast buffet and dinner buffet are excellent, great outdoor activities, lots of space to roam around, very quiet

Should work on : Restaurant by the beach offers very slow service when busy , restaurant food prices are too high, very small swimming pool for the price you pay

Note : This hotel is far away from the town, so its better you opt in for full board, because finding good cheap food near by is hard and the restaurant food is very expensive.

Room Tip: Get full board rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilojan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This Hotel lies at a perfect beach spot behind Casuarina trees! Building and bungalows blend in quiet well with the surrounding scenery. Pool is nice as well and the staff very friendly and obliging. Value for money though is not good though: The bathrooms are not at all up to the standard the hotel pretends to have; the rooms are not equipped with mosquito nets which I think they should be because there are many mosquitoes around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewokline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food and service was excellent with the same old staff in a well set environment the languors were there to raid on our food plates in the the morning at breakfast time if we left any food on the table it was a treat for them but all caused by the the guests who do not know the problems with thees animals any way better than the normal monkeys who are the worst to destroy anything that is in there way.Once again i would like to mention the Dosai served was really excellent it was the real dosai made with ulundhu flour not wheat flour

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakshmanisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
1.1 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
352 reviews
6.4 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,325 reviews
10.2 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trincomalee
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilaveli Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilaveli Beach Hotel

Address: Nilaveli, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range: $57 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nilaveli Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nilaveli Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilaveli Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing