We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow !! What a beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Bray, Ireland
1 review
“Wow !! What a beach”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

For those who have been to this place can imagine what it would be like to be in a place like this for an irish couple. I would have just stayed here for months. What a lovely beach it was. We spent hours and hour in the sea. First thing in the morning going to the sea and then come back for breakfast and going again and again til you get enough. Just heavenly. too bad for us we only stayed for 2 nights. Thank you all for given the other reviews. we simply loved the experience.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room thats facing the beach !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audris229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    177
    78
    32
    25
See reviews for
159
146
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here on our tour around Sri Lanka. It was the end of the busy season, however the weather was just perfect (June 2012).
The white sandy beach was fantastic.
Great swimming in both the sea and pool.
The hotel has a dive school - did two dives off a reef just out in front of the hotel . About 1nm offshore. Diving really good.
Staff were helpful. Food was good. Big beach BBQ one night with tables and chairs right on the beach - again fantastic.
Hotel is more expensive than many surrounding hotels but it does have the best location. Found price of rooms negotiable - paid about US$120 per night which included breakfast. List price was approx US$175. End of season price??
We would return
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My friends and I visited Nilaveli Beach Hotel and had a great time, hanging out by the beach and swimming in the sea. We debated on it and fortunately decided to go on to pigeon island for snorkeling and let me say it was superb. This was my first time snorkeling and I didn’t think anything that amazing existed in our seas. The hotel arranged for everything and sorted out all the payments with the local guides so there was no hassle. The food at Nilaveli was very good. Especially their crab. One of the best hotels in Trinco and one of the best beaches in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
274 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I think some people managed to get better deals than us, clearly we need to go online more. We were quoted over $200 a night, not including taxes or breakfast - or wifi, which, outrageously, is not even free and also overpriced. Its just not worth it for what it is. My advice: go around the corner and stay in the Nilavelli Garden Inn, its metres away from the same beach and a quarter of the price!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our 3rd stop in our amazing Sri Lankan tour took us to Trincomalee, the Nilavali Beach Hotel. Excellent choice if you want a relaxing beach holiday with amazing seafood. Their crab curry was out of this world. My kids had fun trying to tackel the large crab legs, they enjoyed it thoroughly. Do not miss the pegion island snorkling, one of the best snorkling areas i've been to. Best if you can bring your own equipment though. The location was not bad, nothing else to do that being on the beach, but as that is exactly what we wanted to do, we werevery happy. I was also able to bag a golf game at the well maintained golf course as well, making me a very happy man. Excellent holiday in Sri Lanka. A very good first trip to Sri Lanka for our kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Superb location. nice and clean beach. great food. had an excellent time with my family.
Go to the beach early morning and you can get a spectacular scenery when the sun is rising.
I think this is one of the best place on the east coast of Sri Lanka,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel in a deluxe sea view room. The room was lovely and airy but what made it amazing was the view from the balcony. Just sitting there and watching the sea through the palm trees was worth all the money. We found the food to be excellent, the staff were extremely friendly and went out of there way to help - always smiling. Especially the manager at the grill! Only slight downside was that food and drink were expensive although the excellent buffet was good value. I cannot wait to visit here again and will always remember the floodlit garden with the flautist at dinner - magical.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Florence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
1.1 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
431 reviews
6.4 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nagenahira Beach Villas
Nagenahira Beach Villas
#1 of 24 in Nilaveli
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nilaveli Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nilaveli Beach Hotel

Property: Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Address: Nilaveli, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nilaveli Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nilaveli Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nilaveli Beach Hotel Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing