We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sha!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Suberb bloody place. Annoying few mosquitos but other than that excellent bloody service suberp food, and I was very satisfied pive stars. Absolutely great por pamily wisits, only problem the tv only shows boring movies pls fix that but still bloody good hotel ahh

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Aryaman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

what a bloody comment,Thank you for the feed back with your support we can make a big different among all customers, look forward to welcome you'll again at the resort in near feature.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 476 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

My daughter and I have just returned from a wonderful week at this wonderful hotel .Patrick and his staff could not be more attentive and obliging nothing was to much trouble and all done with a smile !The whole ethos of the hotel is peace and tranquillity,no loud music just bird song and the sound of the waves -heaven! The lay-out of the hotel conducive for convenience from the main hotel dining room through the garden to a large swimming pool then a sitting area under a huge Banyan tree with a small bar ,then a 30 second walk to the beach empty apart from a handful of hotel guests and a couple of staff who are there to bring you a mattress and a towel !!
The food was excellent often a buffet with a very good choice of dishes .Breakfast a vast choice from the buffet plus eggs and bacon cooked as required ! We both would return to explore more of Sri Lanka and stay again at this most beautiful hotel .Thank you Patrick and your staff for making it a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: we had rooms 308 and 310 which had a side view of the sea and were a little more private .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest

We are delighted to know that we achieved to make your stay truly wonderful and memorable. We look forward to receiving you and your family again.

Best of Luck!

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Sadly could only stay for one night but I thoroughly enjoyed it. Terrific warm and enthusiastic welcome with fruit juices, delightful staff who could not be more helpful and pleasant, a garden and grounds with birds to watch from sea eagles and kites to crazy parakeets.

A few yards to the beach and warm Indian Ocean or a lovely pool to choose from. Very nice accommodation and superb buffet style dinner and breakfast made this a short but memorable stay.

From managers to room and bar boys the whole crew work ceaselessly to ensure you enjoy the time here.

Take a moment to visit the nearby Trinco Commonwealth War Cemetery and meet the gardener who proudly maintains the grounds and graves in perfect condition. Very moving.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIGEONISLAND, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your feed back. We are looking forward to welcome you once again to our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to relax and unwind in these beautiful surrounds. Took full advantage of the pool table and Lion beers: ) The Sri Lankan breakfast on offer was delicious. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Being greeted on arrival with a yummy fresh juice was also a lovely touch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nattles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIGEONISLAND, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your feed back. We are looking forward to welcome you once again to our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We got a very warm welcome from an all-time awesome kind management at a charming and beautiful location.
Staff was very helpful and very, very friendly (special thanks to all waiters, roomboys & housekeeping, poolboys, barmen and gardeners).
Food was excelent (candle-light dinner was stunning; Dhal-curry - a dream!).
Sevice: simply great!
The rooms were clean and comfortable;the bathrooms perfect; pool area and pool were utterly clean and very nice (mattresses, towels at the pool and the beach always available).
We did not expect such a lovely and charming place at the end of a very, very bumpy road.
Loved to be there and we'll come again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madame a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIGEONISLAND, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your feed back . we are looking forward to welcome you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Our round trip through Sri Lanka started in Nilaveli/ Trincomalee...the hotel was great! Beautiful beach, nice and quiet, peaceful. The swimming pool and the gardens were lovely. The restaurant and the personell deserves a 9. We had the most lovely juices and smoothies and both nights dinner was served with great care. The view from the restaurant into the garden was peaceful and relaxing. The room was big and nice and clean. Not too luxurious. Thank you Pigeon Island Resort for the good stay!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mafasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIGEONISLAND, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your feed back . we are looking forward to welcome you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Such a friendly welcome. For some reason I wasn t expecting a great deal of this hotel but the moment we pulled up in front of the door I knew all would be well. An enthusiastic welcome from an efficient and friendly manager who ensured we had all we needed. I loved the look of the foyer, simple and stylish. Excellent pool. Excellent service. The most delicious food. The fish curry best ever. Rooms simple, spacious and well furnished. Perhaps newly refurbished. Great shower. Please get a new bath mat!
A feeling of peace here and a great place to while away time. Even though the weather was not that good we loved every moment.
I'd love to return

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brightonpoppy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest

We are delighted to know that we achieved to make your stay truly wonderful and memorable. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for your review. good luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Nilaveli
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
379 reviews
7.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,361 reviews
10.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trincomalee
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range: $51 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 43 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing