We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
pamunugama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hotel !!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this hotel without knowing anything about it.....and we we're not disappointed! SUPERB! Great hotel, fantastic staff, excellent service.we stayed in September for 2 nights. Had lots of fun staying there, we had a good room it was clean. And food was also nice. Hotel was very welcoming and Great base to explore the rest of the city. Hoping to go again..!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sachindilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for the encouraging comments that you have posted, again thank you very for staying with us and experiencing the pigeon Island Beach resort.

looking forward to welcome you'll again at the resort !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    160
    82
    38
    27
See reviews for
123
174
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
712 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is a long way out of Trincomalee and is certainly not a "luxury" hotel although priced as such. It is a plain simple resort that is getting rather old with basic rooms. The furniture is old and worn; rooms are not spotlessly clean, the towels smell and had large holes, the sofa was stained and there were dead insects and a build up of dust in the corners. The room I was given the first night and a large gap between the door and door frame thus it was impossible for the lock to operate. Unfortunately the hotel was full.
The intial sight of the hotel entrance is not enticing and the staff seem very badly organized.
Don't use the safes. They are tiny, lightweight and not attached to anything. It was possible to pick it up with one hand and put it under your arm.
The food was not as good as other hotels at which we stayed and some of the chickek was not cooked properly [Very dangerous}. I even had to hand back the eggs to get them cooked properly
There is a wide expanse of lovely secluded beach and it was good to watch the long laborious task of hauling in fishing nets from well out at sea however there is very little to do in the area.
I would not recommend staying here. They need good management to get the place in order and run it efficiently. It was the worst accommodation we had in Sri Lanka.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Betula103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nilaveli hotels

Gurgaon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

PI resort is beautiful. Ponds of little and big fish opens to the swimming area and that further opens to the sea. A swing hanging on a tree at the Center makes it even more picturesque and fun. There is a play area for kids too. A bar next to the pool and you can order your drinks sitting near the pool or the sea.
The rooms are clean and good. Bathrooms are a bit small but has a shower panel separately. The food is okay, though would recommend that you stick to local curries. The front office service is terrible and the men just don't have any clue about the bookings since a lot of them are done through the web. Besides the checking in and our, everything else about the property is great! Wished I had more days to stay and didn't have to head back to Colombo the next day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netra80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Location, location, location - it's a dream beach you can have to yourself.
Food, food, food - we had a la carte seafood every day and all day and it was fabulous.the manager and staff are friendly and helpful, the massagist is great, the pool is nice and you can have drinks under a big old tree. The rooms Are big and clean - but not worth the money. It' s a lovely hotel but over-prized - you pay for being in one of the two only hotels on this beach. Also take note that there is absolutely nothing around and that nilaveli beach is actually cut in half by a military base. On the up-site it is very easy to get to pigeon island as the local fisherman organise boat transfers only 400 m away. Ps: please don't step on the corals! It was terrible to see how some people recklessly damaged the corals.
We had a gat

Room Tip: Only suites have sea view - the hotel is build rectangular to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisa1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Our stay here got off to a bad start. On check in we were told that we had booked 1 room for 1 person and that the extra person would cost €34 a night. I had booked through Agoda and certainly had booked a double for 2 people....I also had email confirmation from hotel staff sent 3 weeks earlier for our booking. We were left sitting around for 2 hours while management tried to sort it out. There was also an English family with the exact same problem as us who also booked through Agoda....if using Agoda to book here just be extra careful there seems to have been some fault with the booking system. We were eventually given a double room and told the problem would be sorted....happily the hotel did not charge us the extra money. Apart from this poor start we really enjoyed our 4 night stay here. the rooms are ok (not good value for money, but this seems to be a general problem in Sri Lanka), the food was superb and very reasonably priced, we ate all our meals here as hotel is 18k from Trincomalee, this was not a problem and we looked forward to trying the different dishes off the menu. The pool was great and the hotel faces onto Nilaveli beach, one of the most beautiful stretches of beach we have seen in the world. This was perfect for the relaxing bit of our Sri Lanka trip. It was easy to oraganise snorkelling trips and dolphin watching trips through hotel. The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. Aside from our first dealings with management when we actually felt like leaving and not staying we had a great time here and would recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerbinhoPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

First impression was not good when we reach this place as there was not much activity around the entrance area. There was no other vehicle parked, however staff there was very friendly and the welcome drink was the best I have ever had in Sti Lanka.

We got a room with sea view (Which was one of few they had facing sea), view from the room was tremendous with pigeon island in sight. However, room had that salty feeling. There were not many channels in the TV, toiletries were few and there was no hair dryer available. (We got a one upon request).

They have a pool where anyone can enjoy a swim. Since there are not many visitors it is very peaceful and relaxing. With a private and monitored beach, it seems security is one of the highest priorities they have.

Their food was really tasty, though they had no buffet for lunch. It was really difficult to find a suitable menu from the available list. They had very limited staff when we were there.

Upon request they have arranged us a romantic dinner on beach. And also they have arranged us a trip to Pigeon Island and a snorkeling around for a very reasonable rate. It was one of the best offers we got from them.

Planning to go back when time permit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danushka-9StarImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Is clean, Everything works, ( AC. WC. TV...)
Services is good and fast.
Rooms are nice. But my personal comments I think is expensive almost 200usd. Per night.
Buttttt. Zero polution in the beach. And very nice view of the island.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
10.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#4 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Property: Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 38 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing