We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff...but unfortunately, not a good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff...but unfortunately, not a good value.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a great beach location on an almost empty beach:-) After the staff gets to know you a little, they are very friendly, helpful and enjoy chatting with you. However, everything else is mediocre at best and very overpriced!!
If you paid 50 US dollars for this place, it might not be too disappointing, but between 150 and 200 (apparently more in higher season!!), it is very overpriced. Despite the advertising, this is not a "luxury" hotel, nor a "boutique" hotel. It is a simple place that is getting pretty old and just does not meet the standards one expects for this price.
The rooms are basic; furniture is old and worn; rooms are mostly clean, but not in detail...towels smell bad, sofa is stained, dead insects and dust in the corners. They have a woman sweeping leaves around the property all day, every day, but nobody sweeps the leaves, dead insects and dirt from in front of your door! Strange.
So, did not hate the place, but did not love it. The beach here is beautiful. The scene of locals pulling in their fishing nets on the beach at sunset is very picturesque. However, the hotel is simply way overpriced and poor value.

Room Tip: Only the suites have a beach view...but then your room is even more overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richtigspass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    162
    83
    39
    27
See reviews for
126
177
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overall the hotel is just about adequate, but with rooms at over $200/night for a hotel that would not even qualify for three stars, the room prices are really not reasonable. Nilaveli Beach Hotel about 500m away is slightly cheaper despite being a much better holiday hotel overall (Nilaveli has large well kept gardens, beachfront restaurant, etc)

When we were there we tried to use the spa facilities of Pigeon Island Beach Resort but the guy was not there at all and so no massages were possible during our stay. On one occasion there were not enough guests in the hotel and the management cancelled the buffet breakfast without notice.

It's the same beach all the way along the coast, so does not make any difference what hotel you stay in.

The property has no real facilities to offer as it is on a very narrow strip of land leading down to the beach. If they pricing it a bit more reasonably it would work much better and avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rational_lemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nilaveli hotels

Kiribathgoda, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Overall experience was good, great place if you love beaches. Friendly staff, rooms are nice and clean. Food is good as well but not much of a variety in the buffet. View of the beach is so great and good place to spend the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilindaVerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a great bolt hole to relax and recover. Great chef, relaxing pool and an amazing swim with friendly (!) sharks on Pigion Island. But the best thing about the hotel was the amazing service - everyone from front of desk to the beach staff were great. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBruce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Andy

Thank you very much for your honest review sent to "TripAdvisor"

looking forward to welcome you again at the resort!!

Thank you again for staying with us at the PIGEON ISLAND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Brieuc, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a great stay at Pigeon Island Beach Resort in May 2013. I was there with my family. People aged from 18 months to 72 years old and everybody enjoyed it! The rooms are bright and very spacious, direct access to the swimming pool which is convenient. We were almost the only tourists in the hotel so we had the pool and beach for ourselves. Beach is clean and very nice. Had a nice swim in the warm sea. But the best was the restaurant, they really went the extra mile to give us a great time! Food was excellent and very well presented. From Sri Lankan food (like egg hopers in the morning) to more Western style (lobster!), everything was very tasty. And the staff was super helpful and nice.
Only point to improve: Internet access which is not very easy.
And we found the trip to Pigeon Island was too expensive so we did a lagoon boat ride that was very nice.
We recommend without any problem this hotel.

Room Tip: The standard rooms don't have sea view only pool view, but they are very nice anyway. I guess mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedjek22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your honest review on TripAdvisor, looking forward to welcome you again at Pigeon island beach resort.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nilaveli beach is tranquil and unspoilt compared to the south, and worth the visit. Our stay has been marred however by the resort's failure to re-pay us an agreed refund for a booking that they made on our behalf, and for which we paid upfront in good faith. We were assured this by both their agent and, moreover, the owner of this hotel who we met. Five months on and repeated requests - no money has been returned. Not entirely honest in my book ...

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank surfero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here in April 2011 and wrote a review at that time classifying it as excellent and unspoiled , I stayed here last month ( April 2013) so was interested to see what had changed. We got very good prices as the season and just started and the hotel was quiet. The service remains charming and the food excellent , I didn't find the food overpriced as noted by other reviewers , it's cheaper than a Colombo Hotel and yes more expensive than guest house food . The seafood is excellent and the beer cheap ! The sea and the beach here are what makes this hotel , it is a shame that further up the coast there is garbage on the beach ( washed up from the sea) but the hotel beach and sea water are fantastic , and no one tries to sell u stuff like down south. Rooms are showing basic wear and tear after 2 years but it doesn't detract from the experience at all , in fact it is to be expected. if you come here alone you might get bored as there is nothing to do expect sleep, hangout on the beach and eat great food , as a couple you can have a lovely time if perfect beach holiday doing pretty much nothing is your thing , the road between Habarana and Trincomalee has really improved so that is a really good thing , I have stayed twice and would return if I ever went back to Sri Lanka, it remains a perfect location and an excellent hotel . only feedback I have for the hotel ( and I shared it with them) was they need umbrellas by the pool as it gets very hot and warn guests about the monkeys that periodically show up at 5am and play on the roof , it isn't the monkeys that surprise u it's the firecrackers the security guards let off to chase the monkeys away, waking up to what sounded like gunfire at 5am was a bit of a surprise ! the monkeys need to chased off , anyone who has seen the damage they cause once they take route in a hotel location will know what I mean ( stealing food of your plate , biting kids etc ) THIS does not happen here because the monkeys are scared off when they show up Every once in a while !)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnOuthereTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
431 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
453 reviews
10.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#4 of 10 in Trincomalee
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Property: Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 43 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing