We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great beach, food and pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, about 20 k's outside Trincomalee. I really enjoyed the food, our room and the pool. My son tried snorkelling at Pigeon Island, which was good but they stayed out there a bit long (2 hours will be plenty)

Staff very attentive and helpful. The breakfast (Egg Hoppers) was just excellent.
We got a tuk-tuk into Trinco, and saw the Hindu temple in the Dutch Fort - not much else to see from what I saw.

Room Tip: Depending on your tastes, the ones over looking the beach look pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mal_chaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 476 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'm going to keep this review brief as it is coming up to a year since my girlfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Pigeon Island Resort and I have been very lax in writing this review!

We opted to stay here at the last minute and were only able to secure a suite to cover the full three nights of our time in Trinco. As this was the end of our tour of Sri Lanka and after negotiating a reasonable rate we thought we would push the boat out so to speak.

The suites had beautiful beach/sea views with a sitting/lounge room facing the sea and the large bedroom on the side of the hotel. Rooms were of a reasonable standard but could have done with a little more TLC and attention to detail.

Staff were universally friendly and helpful. With the food great and restaurant area really very pleasant.

Days were spent either chilling out on the beach or exploring nearby Pigeon Island itself. Tipping the beach attentend well on the first day would appear to have worked wonders for secuing our chosen sun loungers for the rest of our stay.

We visited the Crab restaurant at the Chaaya Blu which is a lot closer to Trinco but, while that looked a good hotel, we were glad to have opted for the Pigeon Island Resort which in our view had considerably more charm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1980_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had the most relaxing time. The staff were very helpfull and accommodating. We made use of their boat trip to the island for snorkelling trip and they even pointed out the best place to swim for maximum effect.
Only a little too far out of the township if you wanted to shop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights and liked their quietude, the exclusion and simply just immerse into a place where people "forget".

Good service, decent meals and clean property are some of the things you can expect there. Don't expect much - the hotel is atypical of the old anglo-Sri Lanka architecture, which in some ways give it charm.

The beach is clean, sand is white - but water murky. The pigeon island snorkeling trip is so so, too rowdy and too many people on a small island. The side facing mainland has a sweeping current so not quite suitable for novice snorkelers.Broken coral chips are also abound and cause difficult in settling down on the beach.

I will not mind staying there again but will think twice taking 8 hours ride to Nilaveli.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor or one which faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Simple hotel, nice food, pleasant happy staff. Beach was beautiful, sea clean and refreshing. Trip to pigeon island was fun but don't do the trip to snorkel without shoes and a thirty, the coral is sharp and it's difficult to get into the a without walking over sharp bits of old coral. The sand on the beach is bits of coral too so hard on the feet. It didn't spoil the experience though.

Beautiful place to go to, would definitely return. Point to note, it is possible to fly from Colombo to nilaveli by air force plane, ring pigeon island resort and they will book it for you. It is very cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Positives first: the resort has a great stretch of beach to enjoy. And the meals are generally excellent.

But overwhelmed by the negatives: all staff seemed to live in fear of incipiently being sacked, making them over-attentive to the point of fawning. Reception and senior staff superficial and lacking warmth. Fiasco over payment in our group as there is no communication between the resort and their middle-man agency to confirm deposit. Overall impression of being money-obsessed. Worst of all, local Sri Lankan drivers were not allowed to come in to the lobby area. Do not stay here - walking along the beach, many other places had lovely lengths of beach too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

To all of us this was an awful place and we are reasonably flexible and experienced, not 'top-end' travelers. We moved to another hotel and were told that others had done the same over recent weeks. Agree with: welcome on arrival , pleasant , but hot, Reception area , friendly manager and catering staff. But, place lacked landscaping or shade and the atmosphere beyond the Reception and dining areas was bleak. Narrow site, with scruffy breeze block walls and exposed functional noisy pool squeezed in below the bedrooms; sad, patchy grass, like a past-it holiday camp. Some rooms have been done up, we were told,so may be better; ours were inexcusably dirty.One had a balcony and sea view so was said to be one of the best but overlooked the smelly cess pit ( Manager agreed = an unresolved problem); dried dirt on surfaces, large dusty fly in empty tissue box, bed made but bedding hadn't been changed; just a trickle from bathroom tap, rusting shower, loo seat broken ; thin walls , noisy corridor. Food: mixed in quality. Costly Wi Fi. The neighbouring hotel was fine - we felt like refugees from a bad expensive experience. There are several alternatives we now know.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any that are clean and quiet. If you get one of the 4 or so with a sea view ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
473 reviews
7 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 11 in Trincomalee
1,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 11 in Trincomalee
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Nilaveli
500 reviews
1.6 mi away
C Beyond
C Beyond
#4 of 6 in Nilaveli
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range: $52 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 43 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing