We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe-inspiring Just Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
1 review
“Awe-inspiring Just Loved It”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

To Relax and chill on the beach,this is the ideal location.
The best beach and super ambiance.
Loved it and will be back soon.

Room Tip: Beach front suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shehan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your feed back
looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    162
    83
    39
    27
See reviews for
126
177
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. After a long drive from Colombo we finally arrived at this resort. The place is just awesome! Quiet beach, big pool, spacious bedrooms and clean bathrooms. The only problems, we got flies, dragonflies, even frogs coming in from outside.

We did 2 dives at the resort. We tried to book our first dive, the divemaster did not arrive on time as promised by front desk that night. When he finally arrived the next morning, we had to wait at least an hour and a half for the boat ride. The second dive was the following morning before we checked out. We stressed the importance of being prompt as we had a packed schedule ahead. This time, the wait was only around 20 minutes for the boat to rock up. The corals weren't great but fish plentiful. At times, the visibility was not great even though sky was clear.

Staff were friendly, food was fantastic!!!! Couldn't have enough of their curries... Should have more local authentic dishes as most travellers would love to sample local delicacies. Its the exciting part of the trip for me when it comes to try different food.

Overall, I would love to come back to this resort. One setback was our guide & driver encountered difficulties obtaining a room at driver's quarter. If they want to get more business, they should look after the guides as they are the one who brings them guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonique99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, General Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear guest,


Greetings from pigeon island beach resort!!

Thank you very much for visiting Pigeon Island and for your honest comments given to the travelers

Looking forward to see you again

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

For a hotel that is being called the best place in town, it doesn't even come close. It is situated in the middle of nowhere which forces you
to always arrange transportation rather than using the great Tuk Tuks. Hotel staff were friendly except for a very arrogant Russian girl who was apparently recruited because so many Russians stay at the hotel. I think that says it all, we travel from Europe to be greeted (if you can call it that!) by a Russian! We had lunch a la carte and yes the food was excellent and staff in the restaurant was very friendly. The rooms are old with poor furniture, noisy aircons and towels that were at least 10 years old. The funniest thing was a bottle of Bordeaux in the room which although didn't cost much, is obviously sitting 25+ degrees centigrade heat for most of the day! Lovely! We stayed one day and left.
A typical package tour hotel with apparently lots of Russians!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nilaveli hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Great location. Right on the beach. Excellent service and staff . Family friendly. Pool and beach very clean. Food was good. Perhaps could introduce more Sri Lankan choices on the A la carte menu. Gayle

Room Tip: Superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayleLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear sir/madam

Greetings from Pigeon Island Beach resort !!

Thank you very much for your comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We chose to stay here due to the fact that 2-3yrs ago, Trinco was out of reach to anyone. What a magical place this is! The sunset swimming in the Indian Ocean are to die for...as is the snorkelling at Pigeon Island itself. Please take note if offered to be taken to another island called Coral Island...this is unfortunately a dead coral reef that some local boats claim is filled with fishes and coral...

The hotel itself was great. Food was lovely and the chefs can whip up any dishes you would like to eat. Of particular mention is the service manager, Rodney who were well and beyond his duties to accommodate our large group. In fact his hospitality was one of the reasons we extended our stay by another night.

I just hope this place does not become polluted and would recommend people to visit this resort before the world finds out about this little gem :)

Kim

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Greetings from Pigeon Island Beach resort !!

Thank you very much for honest review, looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
623 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Pigeon Island Resort is located about 4kms from the town itself on a stretch called Nilaveli where all the resorts are. They are facing the famous Pigeon Island which is the main attraction for tourist in Trincomalee. We didn't care much for the island and was more interested in the beach on the mainland as well as a relaxing time at the hotel and boy did this hotel fulfill everything.
Firstly the rooms are extremely clean and the beds super comfy. Lovely shower to boot. The private beach was so beautiful and due to not being the season the whole place was nice and quiet. Besides us there were perhaps only 2 other couples. The grounds were immaculate and had enough facilities to pass your time away. Theres a gym, lovely pool, bar, snooker table, wifi and of course the beach chairs. Nothing like enjoying a couple of beers overlooking the breezy sea. We had the most relaxing time here. The staff were very friendly and jovial. Happy to chit chat or serve your needs. You will definately feel at home here.
Being Nilaveli you don't really have any restaurants nearby however not to fret as the in house restaurant and chef can whip up an amazing feast. Had some lovely sri lankan crab curry, devilled squid and grilled reef fish here. We also had 2 days of lovely sri lankan breakfast featuring yummy pitu, spring hoppers with fish curry, pol sambal and kiri hodi.
All and all a lovely paradise of the east. A must stop for most travellers to Sri Lanka to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: They were all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poopshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Greetings from Pigeon Island Beach resort !!

Thank you very much for honest review, looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This is the most cosy ideal location for all. Reasonable price, tasty quality mouth watering dishes and with state of the art furnisher and fittings.

Get on the lovely boat and go to the island. Swim and snorkel to admire the beauty.

All the prices are affordable and reasonable.

Room Tip: Book early and pay an advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isuru W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickrohan, Manager at Pigeon Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Greetings from Pigeon Island Beach resort !!

Thank you very much for honest review, looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nilaveli
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
430 reviews
6.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
452 reviews
10.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#4 of 10 in Trincomalee
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island Beach Resort

Property: Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Address: 11th Milepost, Nilaveli 31010, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Nilaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nilaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Island Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Island is located north of Trincomalee, off Nilaveli, one of the finest beaches in Sri Lanka. It offers 43 rooms (A/C), including suite rooms all of which have mini bar, internet, satellite TV facilities as further entertainment. Some of its amenities include spa and fitness center for adults, and play area for children, reading corner, and a secure outdoor playground for children. Scuba Diving ,Snorkeling,Fishing, Trolling,Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching,Catamaran Yacht for daily rent out, Romantic Dinners organized by the resort on a yacht or at the Beach (through reservations) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pigeon Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Island Hotel Nilaveli
Pigeon Island Beach Resort Sri Lanka/Eastern Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing