We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zitundo
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo Mozambique
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old, but nice”
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The cabins are old but adequately maintained and furnished. Their age is offset by the ocean front location of each cabin, in the trees overlooking the beach with monkeys in the trees. Beach is beautiful and empty. The lodge is a bit overpriced with mediocre food in the restaurant and nothing else for miles. The dive shop is marginal. The emphasis was on meeting the desires of a large group that had rented most of the chalets while we were there and our diving had to fit into their desires--a 5 am dive! Also no checking if you really have any experience or certification. Road to get there is very challenging--4x4 a must. Definitely bring your own water, soft drinks, wine, etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambnmaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    47
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
76
189
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

What a Shocking disppointment. A group of us who were all return guests spent a week over New Years at Ponta Mamoli and it has changed dramatically for the worse. What used to be a superb hideaway with great service and food has become a poorly maintained, sloppy, slovenly hell hole. The service was awful, the food dreadful and the general impression was one of could not care less. This all despite charging premium rates. They did not even have a working vehicle to launch their dive boats and one of us had to use out vehicles to do this. The diving was great but badly organised and there were insufficient boats to go to the sites we wanted to. The owner forced all of his paying guests onto the windy beach for new years while he threw a party for his mated on the deck. In a most telling indictment most of our group elected to cut our trip short and return home early. It does not get worse than that. In addition most of our group suffered severe food poisoning caused by the food we were served.
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND PONTA MAMOLI TO MY WORST ENEMY

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ashman01Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

I spent 3 days and 4 nights here with my son in August - it was the most beautifull beach I have stayed on - warm seas, white sand, delightfull dog... great service - very friendly - nothing to do but read, swim and laze around - just what the doctor ordered - oh and comfy beds, delicious food and I could go on but please go see for yourself.

  • Liked — tranquility
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbeehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Ponta Mamoli is situated only 22kms from the Kosi Bay/Ponta do Ouro border post, and 17kms north of Ponta do Ouro. The drive, which will take +/- 30 mins, is recommended for 4x4 vehicles only. From Maputo, the distance is +/- 85kms south, a 4x4 drive of 3 hours.

This is a small, tidy, clean, and super friendly eco resort discretely tucked into the coastal vegetation along the southern coastal area of Mozambique. Our 3 night stay there was perfect, nothing fancy but all the basic ammentities are there, and while its not super luxury, you are far from roughing it either. There are 15 small eco cabins with toilets and showers ensuite. They have a large open air dining area that serves fabulous food made ith locally grown
ingredients. The ocean/beach views are superb and is the diving. I am not a diver but four of our crew were and they have dived all over
the world and said this is among the best. If you do a web search for
diving and Ponta Mamoli you will find a web site that gives more resort and diving info.

  • Liked — Clean, private, small eco cabins steps from deserted white sand beaches
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EWtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zitundo
1146.4 mi away
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
Anantara Medjumbe Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Quirimbas Archipelago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.2 mi away
Devocean Resorts
Devocean Resorts
#2 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Gala Gala Eco Resort
#1 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Just in Time Prime Holiday Resort
9.6 mi away
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
#3 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
101.7 mi away
San Martinho Beach Club
San Martinho Beach Club
#2 of 15 in Bilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli

Property: White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Address: Zitundo, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Zitundo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zitundo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli, offers the ultimate in barefoot luxury in Africa. Experience elegant simplicity at this exclusive beach resort set in the dunes of the untouched shores of southern Mozambique. On a magnificent stretch of coastline, tucked behind casuarinas trees, White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli promises to earn the reputation for being the jewel of the Indian Ocean. Stay in one of 16 exquisite private pool suites. All suites are ocean-facing with a private plunge pool, covered deck and outdoor shower. Inside you will find a living area, personal bar, stylish bedroom with king-size bed and luxurious en-suite bathroom. All suites are equipped with air conditioning and an iPod docking station. A room with a view! Stay in one of 6 exquisite private beach pool suites. These units are located on the beachfront with direct access to the beach. All suites are ocean-facing with a spectacular view, private plunge pool, covered deck and outdoor shower. Inside you will find a living area, personal bar, stylish bedroom with king-size bed and luxurious en-suite bathroom. All suites are equipped with air conditioning and an iPod docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli Hotel Zitundo
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli Mozambique/Zitundo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing