We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, with attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagles Nest Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kentish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagles Nest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 West Kentish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aus
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful, with attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had one night in Nest 3. A place where you can really, really unwind: hammocks, baths, space and that view! Full kitchen and decent sized refrigerator - you need not go anywhere else once ensconced into your nest.
Lovely attention to detail with breakfast supplies (and maybe a treat) along with the fixtures and fittings of the property.
Private, with a sense of seclusion, although within a cooee of other Nests, and also near Sheffield and Cradle Mountain.
Massage with Rumiko is excellent and we loved our dinner by Nick.
Thank you all very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmsoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    9
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
46
121
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just one night at nest 1, but wow what a beautiful experience in our lives. Thankyou to des for his wonderful welcome and nick for our beautiful dinner. Celebrating our engagement couldn't have been experienced at a more beautiful place. The accomodation, the views, weather, cuisine, outdoor spa, company all perfect. Highly recommend the nest for a memorable occasion. Very special. Thankyou Jill and danny

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at Eagles Nest II and it was fantastic! We were greeted by Des who was very warm and welcoming. The property is the largest of the three Nests and has everything you could want or hope for! The view of Mt Roland is stunning and the dam outside the Nest comes to life with Platypus, Birds, Rabbits, Native Hens and Ducks throughout the day. Hoping to go back some day!

Kim

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Wow what an amazing place! We went for our 20th anniversary and had a wonderful time. The retreat was beautiful, spotlessly clean, amazing views and very romantic. The perfect way to celebrate our anniversary.

Thank you Eagles Nest - fabulous. A must do in Tassie.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackyandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My family and I stayed at Eagles Nest II, the rooms were amazing and spacious. One of the highlights was that all the rooms have a different theme and two of them have spa’s. (The African was my favourite.)

This was not my first stay in Eagles Nest, it was about my fifth! I love this place! When I looked around the rooms they were absolutely amazing and clean. When I went into the African room it was just as I remembered it, the spectacular view of the mountain, the luxurious bed, and the great spa and fireplace.
When it was time for dinner we ordered the chef Nick Sallase to come and cook for us. The food was utterly stunning. As we ate dinner we looked out to the sunset and the dam. Perfection!

The next morning we had a outdoor spa which took away all my stress from work. After, we had a look at the waterfall and went along the alpine walk. It was entirely peaceful, relaxing and quiet. We looked around a little more and admired the outside barbecue and the fire pit, we also loved the glass dining table.

It was great because there is a local town five minutes away and a big city thirty minutes away. At the small town we met lots of friendly people and there was some really good cafes. When we got back I went to have a nap.

I really enjoyed my stay and I will definitely be back again... maybe with some friends??? This is a highly beautiful place and to all those viewers come and enjoy what I enjoyed!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracekent2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Eagles Nest Retreat in December 2013/ January 2014- three nights each in Nests I and III.

Nest III was amazing, cleverly designed and nestled in a private and scenic valley with stunning unimpeded views of Mouint Roland and the surrounding country side. The property was built in 2012 and is in excellent condition with a large fully equipped kitchen, good TV and entertainment system, wonderful log fire and outdoor fire pit, good selection of recent DVD's, three hammocks, indoor spa, and a massive outdoor bath constructed from parts of an old milk vat. There were numerous indoor and outdoor areas from which to sit, eat, relax and enjoy the scenery and peace and quiet.

Nest I promised a lot but was a little bit dated and run down. This isn't to say it was bad, but it didn't have the 'wow' factor that the web images promised. However, it did have indoor and outdoor spa baths, as well as a jacuzzi upstairs, although we didn't use the jacuzzi, preferring to use the outdoor spa. The design of the property provides impressive panoramic views from the upstairs bedroom and living room and the large window in the ceiling allows you to sleep under the stars. Unfortunately, the poor selection of old DVD's and outdated TV/ entertainment system were disappointing, as was the owner's preference for retaining food stuffs from previous occupants in the fridge and cupboards.

We would definitely return to stay in Eagle's Nest III. The only thing that would improve this place is blinds or curtains in the bedroom as, while the views from the main bed are to die for, we did find ourselves wishing for a sleep in. Nest I needs some attention to bring it up to date with other properties in this class.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank We-really-hate-work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I'd seen photos online and knew that this was an amazing location but nothing could prepare me for the reality of the retreat! It is simply breathtaking - wonderful location, amazing views, beautiful rooms and so peaceful.
My family and I had a wonderful stay in Nest II, enjoying the spas, tranquility and get-away feeling of the retreat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kentish
20.7 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
21.8 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mount Roland Country Lodge
Mount Roland Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Claude Road
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Silver Ridge Retreat
Silver Ridge Retreat
#1 of 9 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.9 mi away
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Sheffield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Nest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Nest Retreat

Property: Eagles Nest Retreat
Address: 15 Browns Rd, West Kentish, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Sheffield > West Kentish
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Kentish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxury getaway in Tasmania, Australia, for a special occasion, honeymoon, or simply to escape the hectic pace of the city. You'll enjoy spa experiences, stunning views, exquisitely appointed accommodation and the ultimate experience. Eagles Nest Retreat has 3 unique properties, Nest I, Nest II or Nest III, which are all close to Cradle Mountain and exclusively yours to enjoy alone, with your special someone or with a group of friends and family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing