We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievably beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Kentish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eagles Nest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 West Kentish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2011

we live in devonport and couldnt beleive such a beautiful place was so close,but when we were there it was like we were a million miles away.the views the accomadation the chef the massage therapist oh yeah the outside spa under the stars everything awesome

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Eagles Nest Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 214 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

The most beautiful, breathtaking place in Tasmania. My husband & I stayed in Eagles Nest Retreat 1 for 5 nights celebrating our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Waking up to the most amazing veiw of Mount Roland with the sunset is truly spectacular and very romantic. Very private location and the spa outside is definatley the ultimate to experience and enjoy. Totally recommand this to couples wanting to get away, relax, romantic atmosphere and just to take in the fantastic scenery. Will definetly be going back to this wonderful peice of paradise. Peace

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojobella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

What a location, what a retreat! We had the most amazing stay here for our honeymoon! Well worth it! Mount Roland is just spectacular, the rooms were so luxurious, we couldn't choose which one to stay in, let alone each of the spas. A spectacular place, an absolute must! Having a chef and massage therapist come to the house was so indulgent, but awesome!

Room Tip: We stayed in Nest II
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GabbyRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Nest II (the larger house) - my mother and two adult sisters, to unwind and catch up on old times. It is truly one of the most beautiful houses I've ever stayed at. We arrived late afternoon and Mt Roland was shrouded in mist. But waking from my loft room the following morning, there it was - the MOST spectacular view! The pics on the Eaglesnest website are EXACTLY what it looks like. The house is so luxurious, and there are so many lovely touches (right down to marshmallows for toasting on the fire). Three nights was great, and 4 would have been ideal. Don't do less because you need that long to experience it all properly. Cradle Mt is only an hour away - and Bernie and that north coast is only 30 mins - so plenty to do. Des was a wonderful host - Ben came and cooked a fabulous meal one night and two massage therapists, Pauline and Chris came and gave fantastic 1 hour massages. It's all quite indulgent, but really worth the money. I would HIGHLY recommend EaglesNest, and from what I could see, Nest II is the best one, because of the lake in the front, which adds a beautiful extra dimension. Des provides a great range of breakfast supplies and I'd recommend cooking or the chef option the other nights because there is not much in Sheffield and you don't want to drive. There are two outdoor fireplaces which are perfect for pre dinner drinks. There's also a bbq. It's FABULOUS.

Room Tip: No signs from Sheffield - phone Des for directions
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyJune2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We spent 4 nights in Eagles Nest II, which was a perfect home base for day trips to Cradle Mountain (great hiking and exotic wildlife) and the North coast (check out the penguins in Burnie). This unique, modern home has stunning views of Mt. Roland and is quiet, comfortable, creatively decorated, and nicely equipped (e.g., high-end cooking supplies, washer/dryer). Great place to build a fire and stargaze. The nearest town is Sheffield, which has 2 grocery stores, a fruit/veggie stand, cafes, and a bottle shop (but not much in the way of restaurants).

Room Tip: n/a
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Having already had a wonderful time at Nest 1 my husband and I decided that a quick 4 days in Nest 2 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Be prepared to have your privacy protected starting with no signs of direction from Sheffield to the Nests which eliminates most prying eyes. The Nest 2 is huge, 3 bedrooms each with their own theme, a kitchen to die for and of course that view. The Nest is set out so that no matter where you sleep you wake to see Mt. Roland and not like some accommodation places, you are actually encouraged to try all bedrooms and bathrooms. The Asian room was my favourite with a very unique shower and spa and bifold windows over the spa for that outside feel. Again there was everything you could want, including those lovely marshmallows for the hot choc.

For those that find critters of interest there are some amazing fluro blue Damselfly's, some that are red and blue, huge Dragonfly's, skinks, a family of native hens, a Heron, a possum and ducks. While this sounds like the place should be crawling it wasnt we only had 1 skink that thought the inside was better than the outside. Where the Nest is built next to a large pond the frogs are lovely, Banjo frogs (make a "bonk, bonk" sound) along with others provide a relaxing, almost surreal setting over a glass of wine as the light fades. While there is no internet if you have an iphone 4 you are able to use your laptop with 3G thingy (not a technical person but those who have this phone should know what I mean). The locals in Sheffield are very friendly and fresh local vegies are available for less than any city supermarket, a lovely place to unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rattyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and on the first day, we got lost trying to find it and Denise was nice enough to come to Sheffield to guide us to the accommodation. This was the beginning of the wonderful service that is part of Eagles Nest Retreat. We arrived to a warm fireplace and what appeared to be a mini bar but turned out to be an abundance of complimentary snacks. The kitchen was well stocked with even the things you might normally forget to buy for a self contained accommodation - salt and pepper, foil, cooking oil and so on. Every comfort from home is thought of here! Very luxurious with some of the best views in Tasmania. We regret not being able to try the outdoor spa and have to come back sometime to have a dip. The only thing was that the high winds on the first night made it very difficult to sleep. We had a lovely stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SereyandAlistair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kentish
20.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
1,007 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
21.7 mi away
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Sheffield
57 reviews
20.6 mi away
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Cradle Mountain Wilderness Villa...
#2 of 6 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
792 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cradle Forest Inn
Cradle Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Moina
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Nest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Nest Retreat

Address: 15 Browns Rd, West Kentish, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Sheffield > West Kentish
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Kentish
Price Range: $280 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a luxury getaway in Tasmania, Australia, for a special occasion, honeymoon, or simply to escape the hectic pace of the city. You'll enjoy spa experiences, stunning views, exquisitely appointed accommodation and the ultimate experience. Eagles Nest Retreat has 3 unique properties, Nest I, Nest II or Nest III, which are all close to Cradle Mountain and exclusively yours to enjoy alone, with your special someone or with a group of friends and family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing