We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Magnificent”
other travelers have booked this property
Kentisbury Country House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kentisbury Country House
Beautiful Queen Room Large, comfortable Queen Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Kentisbury Country House
Beautiful Queen Room
Large, comfortable Queen Room
Gorgeous Queen Bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Bathroom/Laundry Downstairs
Living room
Kitchen
Exterior
Rotunda interior
Rotunda interior
Sunshine in the Rotunda Room
Late afternoon in the living room
Winter in the sunroom
Early summer
Exterior through the birches
Exterior view of rotunda room
Exterior
Exterior
Outdoor dining under the rose arbour
Garden in early summer
Side view of Kentisbury Country House
We love flowers!
Waiting for the Italian lavendar to bloom
Down the garden path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
West Kentish, Sheffield, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DannyW127...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Magnificent”
Reviewed December 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our party of 6 stayed at Kentisbury Country House for 2 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is cosy, tranquil and is extensively equipped. It was clean and tidy and we met our wonderful host Melissa who has been helpful throughout. This has to be one of the best accommodations and the BEST value for money. our first and only choice when we visit the cradle mountain again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2016
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay Danny, it was lovely to meet you all. Thanks for being gorgeous guests and thank you for the kind review, it is much appreciated.
Hope 2017 is great for you all and look forward to catching up when you next visit Cradle Mountain area.
Kind regards,
Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caseyj193...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A big bit of posh”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stopped here as a last night before seeing friends back to the mainland. Wonderful facilities, amazing decor (our room was only missing a knight's armour in the corner), terrific views from all rooms. Great garden and some friendly highland cattle.
Great to see lovely old fruit trees producing well and the lovely array of preserves for purchase. We certainly enjoyed the local wine in the conservatory with the fire on.
So handy to everywhere and would be great for a group of friends to get away from it all.
Mel & Pete are great hosts and we enjoyed our chats.
Certainly not a long enough stay and we hope to get back again when next in Tazzie.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The conservatory
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thank you! It was great meeting you all, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we will be happy to welcome you again on a return visit. Shame you missed the apples, they are perfect right now! Thanks again. Melissa & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona C
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and very well equipped property.”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kentisbury House for a week. We've stayed in self catering properties across the globe and this was the best we've ever experienced. For starters, the property itself is beautiful - situated 10 minutes drive from Sheffield and in beautiful countryside. It's the best equipped property I have ever stayed in - everything you need (and it is a real bonus where there are things like foil, washing up liquid and clingfilm and some basics in the store cupboard. We were on our bikes and the area is well situated for some great day rides visiting fruit, honey and salmon farms, vineyards and beaches on the north coast. Cradle Mountain is 50 minutes drive so we did hike up there (well worth it!) but we preferred Mount Roland which is only 20 minutes drive - a longer but easier hike and more alpine. Much fewer tourists, there were only 4 of us on the mountain that day (compared to the hoards at Cradle). We got up really early to see Playtpus at Latrobe and then discovered they are often spotted just 5 minutes walk from the house.....(sadly only discovered this on the last day! - but would have loved to have spotted one). Melissa and Peter great hosts & lovely people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The claw foot bath...
Liked least: Genuinely nothing I didn't like!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2016
Thank you for the great review Fiona, it was so nice to meet you both. I am glad you made the most of your stay, you certainly covered a lot of ground in your week! Hope the long flight home was alright. Best regards, Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply peaceful”
Reviewed December 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an absolutely fantastic place. Nestled in the middle of nowhere, you cant help but relax! About a 5min drive to Sheffield and less than an hour to Cradle Mountain, the Country house is perfect for day trips in and around the north-centre of Tasmania. My wife & I stayed with our friends and their 2 young children for 4 nights. Large, clean kitchen. The whole house was clean! Plenty of space for the kids and adults not to walk-over each other. The view from the backyard, overlooks a large wooded mountain range with a river running through. Just spectacular! Would highly-recommend this place to anyone wishes to rest, relax and explore the surrounding areas. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Country House and location
Liked least: very slow internet
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2015
And such lovely guests! Thank you for your thoughtful review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona W
Elderslie, Australia
1 review
“Quite simply the most amazing place we've ever stayed!”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our stay at Kentisbury was a wonderful experience. The house and surrounding grounds are absolutely stunning - I felt like I was walking into a dream. I could not have wanted more.
The house has the charm of yesteryear, however includes all the modern amenities you could desire. It was also immaculately clean and the furnishings beautiful. We travelled with our adult/teenage children and there was plenty of room for us all to have our own space (even wifi for struggling teens ;) ).
A glass of wine in the beautiful gardens, surrounded by roses and lavender or relaxing with a good book in front of the electric fire. Unbeatable!
Melissa and Peter were perfect hosts-nothing was too much trouble for them. Word for the wise-you MUST try the jams they sell (we bought some to take home and they are delicious). I'm only sad that I didn't get to meet the beautiful chickens :( Next time!
My only regret about staying here was that we had to leave. We actually changed our plans for the day because we wanted to spend every possible minute at this amazing property. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was like a dream
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
Thank you for the lovely review Fiona, I was delighted to meet you and your family. I very much look forward to your next visit. Warmest wishes, Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie2244...
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL HOUSE IN A GORGEOUS LOCATION!”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had the pleasure of staying in Kentisbury Country House for 2 nights in July and firstly can I say the amazingly warm and heartfelt welcome we received from Melissa was so lovely! She is an absolute delight, and was a joy to meet and talk to. Now, as for the house, yes it IS as gorgeous in real life as it appears on the internet! We stayed in the middle of winter, and it was freezing outside, but the heaters kept us toasty and warm indoors! We actually arrived on my husbands birthday, and Melissa had very kindly made him a yummy chocolate cake, which was so thoughtful of her. The house is spotlessly clean, and the kitchen was a joy to cook in. The location of the property is a few minutes drive from the little town of Sheffield, where they have a decent grocery store that you can buy all of your food for your stay as this is not provided, but the store had everything we needed and I was very happy to cook every night as the kitchen is very well equipped. The views from the property are lovely, so peaceful and relaxing. You can truly take time to just 'be', and forget the stresses of everyday life. This is a gorgeous house to stay in if you are exploring Cradle Mountain, Mole Creek Caves or Sheffield and the surrounding areas. Thank you so much for a lovely stay Melissa, it was great chatting with you and Josh still tells everyone how lovely you were for letting him borrow your bike!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Melissa's heartfelt welcome and the gorgeous views.
Liked least: Not staying for longer.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2015
I feel so lucky to have had such wonderful guests, thank you for staying in our house, thoroughly enjoyed meeting you all and thanks for this review and the photos, they are great. The daffodils are out in full bloom now, such a shame you missed them! I do hope we meet again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurentbo...
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best vacation rental in years”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The property is ideally located within 30-40 minutes of Cradle Mountain, Devenport or Burnie. The house is extremely charming, with nice gardens and a beautiful view on the hills around Barrington lake. It is very well equipped and decorated with taste.

The owners, Melissa and Peter are among the most sympathetic people we ever met. They are always trying to make your stay a wonderful memory, giving you numerous tips about the region, proposing fresh fruits and veggies from their garden or eggs from their farm! Talking with them is not only helpful and pleasant but makes the whole stay a more personal one.

You will not regret spending a few nights there, enjoying the beautiful scenery and company, you will probably miss it as soon as you leave ;)

A real gem in a small paradise!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we thoroughly enjoyed your company! We are still missing you all. Wonderful to meet you and the beautiful children. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing