We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location. Great hosts. Excellent value.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada de Babel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada de Babel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Pereda
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful location. Great hosts. Excellent value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our first time vacationing in Asturias. Overall it was a great experience and the Posada de Babel was one of the highlights of our trip. Considering the rates, the inn exceeded our expectations for this type of accomodation. The owners, Blanca and Lucas, are very warm and welcoming hosts and made us feel at home. They offer excellent value and good service.

We stayed 4 nights. The location is stunning, in a wooded village off the beaten path a few kilometers from Llanes and perfect for a vacationing couple in need of a break from the city. Like most of Asturias it is best to be traveling by car to get to this location and to get around the area.

The facilities are modern, well maintained, clean and comfortable. The main building houses the reception area, a large sitting room with large mountain view windows and the breakfast/dining room. Internet access was best in this building.

Our room was cozy and clean, a comfortable queen sized bed that could have had better pillows (minor issue), a large nook that is all windows great for soaking in the scenery and a large bathroom. Our room had no internet reception but we felt this was a minor issue easily remedied by going to the main building.

Breakfast is "continental" and more than adequate with a good selection of fruit, quality bread, cheese, yogurt, and ham (on our last day they served excellent "jamon serrano"). Standard coffee is filtered, but espresso, cafe "cortado",latte, etc are available on request.

We had dinner on site our first day. The meal was creative, fresh, delicious and very good value. That day the set menu consisted of good bread, an appetizer salad of greens, walnuts, anchovies, blue cheese and mango, a main course of "Bacalau" (Salt Cod) with a tomato and mushroom ragout and a dessert of poached figs and roasted sesame ice cream. There is a good selection of wines.

Overall we had a very good customer experience, considering accommodation rates our expectations were exceeded and we hope return to Posada de Babel very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericdumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    32
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
72
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My partner and I arrived at Posada de Babel after a leisurely drive from San Sebastian and were stunned at the beautiful and peaceful place we had booked so many months before! We fell in love immediately--from the lovely grounds, lovely & unexpectedly modern architecture to the mountain backdrop for our evening cocktails.

We stayed in the old grainery... a charming & historical setting with a super comfy bed and bathroom almost as large as my NYC apartment. We loved it.

All in all, Blanca & Lucas made us feel incredibly welcome, and they have a full bar and a wonderful restaurant to keep the warm feelings going. We had an excellent dinner that included pickled quail and many local delicacies... along with wonderful personal attention from Blanca herself.

If we are ever in the area again, we won't hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GleniseNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Posada de Babel is a hidden gem in terms of it providing exquisite culinary experiences in my book. The very moderately priced three course dinner and equally inexpensive wine list made for a superb dining experience after I had arrived late in the evening. The service was great too. I had not reserved dinner but in 30 minutes they were ready.

I think they only have one set dinner menu for each night but I would go back in a second not knowing what that menu would be. The food is rustic in nature with excellent combinations of tastes, colours and textures. The hearty breakfast served in the morning featured lovely homemade organic bread which was a delight for a Scandinavian wanting something else than the regular Spanish white bread.

If you are looking for a quiet night or two off the beaten track with good food that is great value for money I would recommend visiting this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: If you stay in the main house, ask for a room that faces the lovely lawn and forest for a nice, quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kimblarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Telemark, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Staying at the Posada de Babel as the last night of a trek in the mountains, it was a delight to get here. The rooms and hotel in itself was fine, service was really nice, but what stood out as a big plus was the food. The cook deserves lots of credit for the excellent dinner, -and to our surprise for the first time in a week in the Picos, we got wholemeal home baked organic bread for breakfast! For a norwegian, that´s just a life saver after a week on white bread. Would recommend going there if for no other reason than to eat their excellent food! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
295 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Have stayed here most years for the last 8 years.
Always a pleasure to return to the peace and quiet the hotel offers.
Lucas is a great host and this year, with Blanca away in Madrid, he was assisted by Elvira, his elder daughter. Evening meals always offer good home Spanish cooking and the continental breakfast, complete with freshly made orange juice is consistently good.

Room Tip: The bufones (geysers) at Pria should not be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GasheadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Like the previous reviewer, I had booked this on the strength of listings in most of the relevant guide books. And the location - right in the foothills of the Picos, which seem to start climbing literally in the back garden - and modern buildings are certainly lovely. But for the rest - good cooking etc, comfortable rooms - they were really no better than any of the other small hotels we stayed in in Northern Spain, and about €20 per night more expensive. It didn't have many of the facilities we'd come to take for granted (air con, satellite TV) and the service, although friendly, was slightly 'twin peaks' in style! There was no choice on the dinner menu, which was tasty, but not particularly sophisticated. So, it's perfectly ok, but don't look here for that really 'special' experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

After reading the reviews and visiting the very funky website of La Posada de Babel, I must say, my expectations were pretty high. Overall, these expectations were not met. Having booked the 'cube' online, I was a little disappointed to discover when we arrived there had been a mix up with the booking and we could only have the 'cube' for 2 nights. We therefore stayed in one of the bedrooms in the main house - which I have to say, I was a little disappointed in. The modern exterior of the hotel buildings are fabulous, but the interior decoration really doesn't match up in both the main house and the cube. We ate at the hotel one evening and the food and wine were delicious, the cook even came out for a chat as we were the only ones eating! The owner of the hotel who was on reception each morning was charming, he recommended some great drives and walks in the picos and even organised us a trip to the caves to see some pre-historic drawings which were fabulous. He even kept us up to date with the weather conditions each day which for anyone who visits Asturias knows - is important! All in all, we had a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pereda
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Arpa de Hierba
1.9 mi away
Hotel Don Paco
Hotel Don Paco
#3 of 54 in Llanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Cuartamenteru
Hotel Rural Cuartamenteru
#1 of 4 in Poo de Llanes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La QuintaEsencia Hotel Rural
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Habana
Hotel El Habana
#3 of 5 in La Pereda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Miracielos
Hotel Miracielos
#1 of 2 in Barro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Babel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Babel

Property: Posada de Babel
Address: Calle Pereda s.n., 33509 La Pereda, Llanes, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Llanes > La Pereda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Pereda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada de Babel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Posada de Babel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Babel Llanes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing