We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Drumoig Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very reasonably priced hotel with good deals. Booked a twin room which was spacious, light and airy and had a fabulous view over the golf course through large floor to ceiling windows. As we were visiting both St Andrews and Dundee the hotel was ideally placed. Staff were friendly, breakfast satisfactory and we will definitely use it again. I wouldn't have been so happy if we had had a view of the car park so best to ask before booking if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Drumoig is convenient to both Dundee and the famous St. Andrew's Golf courses and it boasts a golf course of its own. Disappointingly we did not get a view of this golf course being allocated an upstairs room facing the carpark, even though there appeared to be plenty of rooms available. We also found the stairs to be quite steep with heavy doors making access not the easiest with our luggage. Our visit was during heavy rain and the layout with accommodation in separate villas from the main hotel made for some uncomfortable commuting between our room and the hotel. However, the room was very cosy and warm and well appointed. We also found the staff in the bar and dining area to be very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely seek a room with a golf course view and downstairs rooms may be better as the views are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Was in Scotland for The R&A Working for Golf Conference. The staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. Rooms were nice and clean.

Full English Breakfast one of the best.

Wireless though restricted to reception area was free and fast.

Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebrima J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just back from a golf weekend at this resort...Excellent in every way.Accommodation was in chalet
Type Villa with superb views over the Golf Course...Buffet style breakfast was brilliant and evening
Meals although not fancy,were more than adequate....Staff could not have been more helpful,and
more than made up for the mixed weather!,
Thanks again Drumoig,and in the words of Arnie...We'll be back...........

Room Tip: Try the upstair rooms in the main building,as the have great views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This past March, we decided to take "the big trip" to the UK, so that my husband could visit and play, The Old Course, at St Andrews, and you know,...sightsee and GOLF, everywhere else!
It was the coldest March on record in the UK for the last 50 YEARS! Every day we saw snow and sleet, the entire three weeks we were north of London! Lucky for us, TripAdvisor reviews landed us at the Drumoig.
It's about a 15 minute drive to St Andrews from the hotel, but there's also a good course(so my husband says) on the premises, if you don't want to make the drive.
We stayed in the main building, and we completely satified. The staff were the friendliest we met on our travels, and the room was spacious and warm!
Only ate one meal in, and it was very good!
While every thing about the place was more than satisfactory, the standout for us was the people, who bore our surely often repeated questions, with patience and gave lots of interesting and helpful answers.
Scotland remains our favorite area of GB to visit, and I'm sure we'll be back to Drumoig!

Room Tip: I think there are three rooms in the main building that face the course, and it's a peaceful vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catzathm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Just got in after a very long trip. Really welcoming male receptionist. Got checked in fast. Rooms were nice and clean. The golf course looks really great. Out for a gane tomorrow. For an affordable great golf weekend, Drumoig is perfect. For a much more costly one, St Andrews is close by. So it's just a matter of choice and pocket size really! It definitely did the job for my golf weekend needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyKololi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here for the 5th time and you can't stop loving Drumoig. The layout of the course is excellent. Really is a great Track to play.

Accommodation is excellent for the price you pay. Breakfast is something to look forward too before your round of golf! There is no-where in St. Andrews that can compete with this package. Worth staying in Drumoig then driving 10 mins into St Andrews. And if you stay in one of the lodge rooms that over looks the course you will be pleasantly surprised in the morning. Great view.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumoig
7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
407 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,413 reviews
2 mi away
The St Michaels Inn
The St Michaels Inn
#1 of 1 in Leuchars
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
695 reviews
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,329 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumoig Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumoig Golf Hotel

Address: Forgan Drive | Nr St. Andrews, Drumoig, St. Andrews KY16 0DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Drumoig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Price Range: $67 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumoig Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between the Home of Golf St Andrews and Carnoustie. Drumoig Golf Hotel is the perfect base to experience the wide range of golf courses available in Fife and Angus. With its own par 72 championship golf course set in 250 acres of rolling Fife countryside and a Golf Driving Range, Drumoig Golf Hotel has all facilities that a visiting golfer requires. Equally however if your not a Golfer but enjoy good food, beautiful views and a quite peaceful retreat-then Drumoig is the perfect place. We have 20 bedrooms and 4 luxury bedrooms,a spacious Bar and restaurant that looks over our spectacular course and the surrounding grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Drumoig Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumoig Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing