We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Drumoig Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay at the Drumoig Hotel at the beginning of December 2012 for a friend's wedding. All staff were very friendly and cheerful and wanted to ensure you had a lovely stay. Unfortunately we missed the breakfast in the morning due to an early start at work the next day, however I heard great reviews. Our room wasn't in the main hotel, but a little annex closeby and was clean and tidy and we especially enjoyed the shortbread left in the oom! The views were spectacular from our room which was lovely to wake up to in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyinred86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    69
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
74
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We found this a very pleasant hotel. We were trying to stay in Dundee with no luck when this came on laterooms for a great price so we decided to give it a try. It was out in the country but still within easy reach of Dundee. The rooms are split over lodges which made it feel really cosy. The rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was in good order but turns out our hot and cold taps were labelled wrong so thought we had no hot water. After a quick trip to reception who came up immediately to try and fix the problem we worked it out. The breakfast was very enjoyable only negative was the rather miserable waitress. We will definitely book to go again and would take the clubs next time as looks a lovely course.

Room Tip: View over golf course and countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My son and new daughter in law were married in Cancun and held their wedding reception at the Drumoug Golf Hotel .The service we received was second to none, the staff were superb.They did us proud organising a very special night with family and friends.The buffet at the reception was delicious and we had so much to choose from as was our breakfast on the following morning. Our room was very cosy and we had wonderful views overlooking the golf course. I would absolutely book here again and want to thank the whole staff for such a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gempem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Me and my husband had our wedding reception at the drumoig recently following our wedding abroad.

We loved the hotel especially the view from the restaurant over looking the golf course. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was large and spacious with a jacuzzi bath which was a lovely touch.

The most impressive thing about the hotel was the staff. Lynn helped us plan our reception which was a Mexican theme and the chef cooked the best enchiladas! On the night we wanted for nothing as Lynn and the staff were always on hand. Lynn did a fantastic job of making sure the speeches etc run smoothly.

The breakfast the next day was fantastic, with a great selection of cereals, fruit and hot items. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we are glad we choose the drumoig for our important celebration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here last week for a family wedding. Everything was perfect the staff are excellent and the rooms cosy. Although we never played golf the resort is very picturesque and I would reccomend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellymac86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This review is over 2 separate stays a year apart. It will make sense when you read on...

I had a wedding to photograph in St Andrews August 2011, and with it being an all day affair, chose to stay in the area the night of the wedding. So I had a lot of expensive gear with me, as well as someone's treasured wedding photos on my cards.

I was staying in a twin with my female assistant, and we soon realised that this probably isn't the greatest of places for 2 females, when the receptionist said she had placed us in the main building as we "were female....." Yes it's a golf/stag party type of place so the bar can be a little intimidating when it's full of men and we walk in... Bedroom was comfortable and breakfast was average.

But the class act was after a real busy day, crashed in bed and we are awoken by a drunk man in our LOCKED bedroom, using our toilet facilities... Turns out he had keys.... MASTER KEYS, and couldn't remember what room he was in, and tried every room before deciding that our room was the best to leave a present in the toilet for us.... He came back a second time 10 minutes later.... We received several different stories in the morning and in correspondence with the hotel after our trip. The night porter gave him the master keys when he lost his own key, but chose not to accompany him to his room, letting him find, in the end, our room. He was found in the laundry room in the morning.

After we complained, we were given a free return stay, which funnily enough I took a year to the day of the previous visit. My assistant couldn't stay the night before the wedding, which I did, so she stayed the night after. As a solo traveller this time, the bar was a little intimidating again with drunk golfers but the bar staff were pleasant. I had a decent nights sleep this time, though my assistant the following night said she didn't as she struggled to get to sleep with the noisy drunks in the bar downstairs.

Would I stay again? If I had to, but would look elsewhere first. The fact that it IS quite far out of St Andrews doesn't help either. I think I would prefer to get a B&B in town...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMcLeodPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just back from a weekend golfing with 7 friends, we stayed at Drumoig and played 2 rounds of golf. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. The course was in decent nick for the time of year and is a good challenge for all standard of golfers. The "deal" was excellent value one nights B&B and 2 rounds of golf for £69. We will be back again perhaps when the weather is a bit warmer.

The only down side is the hotel location there is nothing round about. If your in a group and would like to go out for a drink it is ataxi to Dundee or S Andrews which are 4 and 10 mies away. If you decide to stay at the hotel bar the clubhouse is good, the bar food was very good and staff very friendly.

Overall a very good trip I would recommend the hotel / golf deal excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumoig
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#10 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumoig Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumoig Golf Hotel

Property: Drumoig Golf Hotel
Address: Forgan Drive | Nr St. Andrews, Drumoig, St. Andrews KY16 0DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews > Drumoig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drumoig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumoig Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between the Home of Golf St Andrews and Carnoustie. Drumoig Golf Hotel is the perfect base to experience the wide range of golf courses available in Fife and Angus. With its own par 72 championship golf course set in 250 acres of rolling Fife countryside and a Golf Driving Range, Drumoig Golf Hotel has all facilities that a visiting golfer requires. Equally however if your not a Golfer but enjoy good food, beautiful views and a quite peaceful retreat-then Drumoig is the perfect place. We have 20 bedrooms and 4 luxury bedrooms,a spacious Bar and restaurant that looks over our spectacular course and the surrounding grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Drumoig Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumoig Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing