We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, gorgeous setting, lovely wine and friendly staff.... what more could you want?”

Stonyridge Vineyard
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Onetangi
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, gorgeous setting, lovely wine and friendly staff.... what more could you want?”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We came for a belated birthday celebration lunch (which was the day before!) and ended up choosing the Father's Day menu. However, I was given a complementary glass of bubbles for the day before's birthday - which I was delighted with. A very thoughtful gesture!

The food was scrumptious to say the least. There were two choices with each course so my partner and I chose one of each so we got to experience an ultra-gastronimical treat!!

For the entree I had the pistachio-coated tuna which was delicious, while my partner tried the beef fillet Yukhoe Korean-style marinated tartare with nashi pear chips which was so tasty he declared it quite heavenly (which it was!) :) With the mains I chose the roast John Dory topped with citrus pear salsa and golden kumara and fennel puree which was full of flavour, while my hubby delighted in the herb crusted lamb rack with carrot and roast almond puree, goat cheese zucchini cannelloni which was cooked to perfection!

To round off a perfect meal, I had the chilled dark chocolate fondant with banana yoghurt ice cream and local honeycomb while we also tried the sticky date pudding with warm caramel soup and organic vanilla bean ice cream - both dreamy and decadent! Wow! What a fantastic meal! We both agreed it was THE best meal we had on the island without a doubt and probably anywhere in Auckland in a very long time. Most sincerest compliments to the chef - what a treasure he/she is!

We also had a lovely waitress, Miri who was only too helpful and very friendly and bubbly. The view and setting at Stonyridge was truly delightful and we can't wait to come back and enjoy the overall ambience of Stonyridge, with its welcoming staff, mouth-watering food and enchanting wines! Keep it up, Stonyridge!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodlover27264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write this detailed review, we appreciate your kind words and great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    154
    55
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
““Wow awesome service, fantastic food, and great views :)””
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had a really great experience here on the weekend we were greeted at the door,escorted to our seats and introduced to our very pleasant waitress everything was explained to us on both the wine and food menus.The food was so good i can't wait to get back there and try some more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbsoluteTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write us your lovely feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, delicious wine”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great setting to taste the local wine and olive oil. Our hostess was bubbly and knowledgeable. Tasting portions were generous and many varieties were available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ceyris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review, great to hear you enjoyed your time at Stonyridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
624 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The attitude of staff here seemed to be more suitable for the bussed in crowds they must be used to serving. Have to pay for wine tasting which I like a lot of people detest. Drink aged La Rose but no need to go to the winery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“One of the best”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

great position ,very good food, lovely wines , great views . what more can one say The oldest winery /restaurant on the island and worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank robvaassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larose08, Manager at Stonyridge Vineyard, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review, we appreciate your feedback and recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonyridge Vineyard also viewed

 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Stonyridge Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing