We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Outing”
Review of EcoZip Adventures

EcoZip Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.82*
and up
Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland
More Info
$115.69*
and up
Auckland Shore Excursion: Waiheke Island Tour With Zipline Adventure
More Info
$197.04*
and up
The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer state-of-the-art flying fox ziplines and an eco-immersive forest walk for nature lovers of all ages. With a complimentary pick up from the island's ferry terminal at Matiatia Wharf, or from Oneroa Village bus stop if you're already on the island, you'll enjoy a "mini-tour" of the island en route to our site on Trig Hill. Upon arrival and welcome at our visitor centre, you will be checked-in, geared up, and readied for one of Auckland's most eco-friendly activities! Three 200m dual flying fox ziplines will fly you smoothly side-by-side with a partner, friend or relative down into a stunning tract of original and regenerating native 'bush' (forest). It's a scenic interpretive walk back to base, where you'll learn about local flora and fauna and the conservation of our spectacular natural environment. With a choice of drop-off locations afterwards, we'll make sure you have plenty of things to do on the island!
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a great experience and I would highly recommend EcoZip to all who visit New Zealand. Our tour guide was Jake, and what a smooth talker! Very knowledgeable on the sights and interesting points along the way to our destination.The actual zipline was nothing short of amazing! Our guides were 100 percent top notch and knew all aspects of the zipline. Beautiful scenery and the thrill of the ride make for a perfect memorable experience!

Thank SagittariusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

G’day Sagittarius Traveller, from a very sunny Waiheke

Let me open, as always, with a very sincere thank-you for taking time to leave your opinions and observations on Trip Advisor. Such feedback really is invaluable to us as it lets us know just how we’re performing.

Thanks for singling Jake out in your review; he’s a smooth talker for sure! Like all our guides he’s a long term Waiheke resident, so is, understandably, pretty enthusiastic about this little island gem – which may come across in his commentary!

Your description of our zipline experience as ‘nothing short of amazing’ is simply brilliant feedback – it’s exactly what we want all our clients to discover.

Many, many thanks again for your review and for visiting us last month.

All the very best
Gavin, Jake and the whole Trig Hill crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
There are newer reviews for EcoZip Adventures
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 974 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

My son and I did the zipline together in November. He is 30 and in GREAT shape, I am mid-50s and not in great shape. I also have a fear of heights. But this was a great experience. We were picked up at the pier promptly and taken to the zip line sight with a few stops along the way for sightseeing and pictures. Lots of wonderful information from our driver. The check-in and briefing are very thorough and safety minded. The first of 3 lines was our introduction to fun and excitement. Each one got better and better. The guides are very helpful and even took photos on our cameras for us. At the end of the 3 runs there is a very leisurely hike back thorugh the lush tropical forest and a final climb up a small hill to get back to the top where we started. After returning all the equipment, there is time to change your clothes if so desired and then the shuttle will take you to wherever you want to go next on the island. Take your pick----vineyards, lunch, beach? Definitely worth spending half a day for a little bit of adventure.

Thank WIAnnabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hullo Annabanana

First up many, many thanks for adding your feedback to our swelling Trip Advisor ‘library’ – we really do value our guests taking time to disclose to other TA readers what they thought about their EcoZip experience.

We’re habitually in awe of our guests who overcome their nervousness or fear of heights, as you did, in order to try Ziplining; often for the very first time; so as we say in these parts ‘G’donya’.

As a ‘mere’ 50-something you’re a spring chick compared to our oldest zipper to date; a sprightly 94-year old! But your experience proves yet at again that EcoZipping is adventure tourism for everyone. And as you rightly point out with the choice of vineyards, beaches and restaurants on Waiheke there is plenty more to round out a day, or half-day, on the island.

Annabanana, thanks again for leaving your comments and feedback for other TA users and, just as importantly, for spending a few hours with us at the top of Waiheke.

Very best wishes
Gavin and the whole EcoZip team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I decided to arrange a surprise family experience as a birthday present for Mr 57. The age range of our little group (covering 3 generations) was 23 - 82! Our daughter flew in from Sydney to be with us and we were off on the Big Birthday Day Out to Waiheke island and EcoZip.
From the time we alighted the ferry at Waiheke Island, we were in the hands of the EcoZip team. After a mini tiki-tour of the island with Jake providing a perfect Waiheke Island style commentary, we headed up to EcoZip HQ.
None of us had tried zip lining before so we were very anxious/excited.
Without writing a novel, plain and simply put - it was EXCELLENT!
EXCELLENT!

The customer experience was considered from every aspect of the adventure; preparedness, precision, comfort, information, safety, instructions, assistance and a high-touch interaction that would match or beat the best of customer experiences anywhere on planet earth. (As Kiwi's we felt quite proud actually. This was top-notch attentive service and the visitors to NZ in our group were impressed.)
Anna and Helen, our trustee 'Zip Managers' were experienced, diligent and focussed. (Which you need when you are swinging in a harness, hanging from a wire, meters above the ground, above native bush and reaching speeds of up to 55k!)
Safety standards were exacting.

Mrs 82 managed brilliantly. She had never done anything like this in her life. (The oldest person to have EcoZipped is 94 we were told.) All you need is trackshoes and trousers.

We were running a little late for our lunch date due to ambling back through the most divine native NZ bush (Who would want to hurry?) so one of the EcoZip team ran (yes, ran) ahead, prepared our GoPro video so it was all set for collection when we arrived back and ... they had called the restaurant to advise we have been slightly delayed.
And...then delivered us via Ute to Peacock Sky Winery. :- )
What a memorable experience.
What heart-beating pleasure.
What a way to spend a morning.
What a wonderful sense of achievement.
Would we recommend? Hell yes!
Thank you to the EcoZip team.

1  Thank 1frog_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

G’day 1Frog_11, or should we perhaps call you Archey’s Guardian?

Ask anyone that works here and they'll tell you I am not often left speechless, but your stupendous appraisal just about achieved that extraordinary feat.

It’s pretty difficult to know where to start in responding to such a comprehensive review, so rather than try to address everything you’ve covered I’ll simply say a heartfelt thank-you, both on behalf of the EcoZip team (who are all beaming) and for any would-be zipliners, undecided about whether EcoZip is for them – your review would probably answer most questions.

We are very proud that the whole operation is Kiwi designed and built, employing just locals and acting as a showcase for the very best in NZ design and innovation – which includes our state-of-the-art braking system. We’re also very honoured to be guardians of such a wonderful tract of native NZ bush through, and over, which our guests ‘fly’.

We have a pic of Archey sitting on an EcoZip helmet that we’d love to share with you. If you drop us an email at hello@ecozip.co.nz we’ll be delighted to send it on to you.

Thanks again for the brilliant feedback; your taking time to add such a detailed appraisal really is hugely appreciated.

All the very best
Gavin, Jake, Helen, Anna and the entire team at EcoZip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We visited Ecozip on a spur of the moment thing and had a wonderful afternoon. Helen and Sally were our guides and kept us safe, entertained and with the forest walk at the end, this is a perfect way to see Waiheke and it's landscape. We've just come down and are looking forward to the photos!

1  Thank Geepaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

G’day Geepaine

Many thanks for adding your great feedback to Trip Advisor and particularly singling out my colleagues Helen and Sally. Naturally we’re all delighted to read your description of a ‘wonderful afternoon’.

And as you say, if you’re in Auckland, or on Waiheke, wai wouldn’t you!

Thanks again for your review

Warmest best wishes
Gavin, Sally, Helen and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A great afternoon on Waiheke. Wanted to go down again and again after the first time so its great that you get three runs in total!

Helen and Becs were fabulous guides and really knowledgeable on the bush walk back (keep an eye out for weta shells!), the whole experience was just brilliant and I would highly recommend, event for the more faint of heart!!

Thank KL79_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Hi KL

Many thanks for adding your great review to Trip Advisor and for singly out your guides Becs and Helen. We know they're awesome, just don't tell them that or they'll be after a pay review!

I'm glad to learn that despite any faint heartedness you thoroughly enjoyed your experience. We think EcoZip proves you don't need to be Bear Grylls to be an adventurer!

Thanks again for the feedback and for visiting EcoZip

Best wishes
Helen, Becs, Gavin and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EcoZip Adventures also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to EcoZip Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing