We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family adventure”
Review of EcoZip Adventures

EcoZip Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.67*
and up
Waiheke Island Exploration and Zipline Day Trip from Auckland
More Info
$115.49*
and up
Auckland Shore Excursion: Waiheke Island Tour With Zipline Adventure
More Info
$196.71*
and up
The Best of Waiheke: Ziplining, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Lunch
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We offer state-of-the-art flying fox ziplines and an eco-immersive forest walk for nature lovers of all ages. With a complimentary pick up from the island's ferry terminal at Matiatia Wharf, or from Oneroa Village bus stop if you're already on the island, you'll enjoy a "mini-tour" of the island en route to our site on Trig Hill. Upon arrival and welcome at our visitor centre, you will be checked-in, geared up, and readied for one of Auckland's most eco-friendly activities! Three 200m dual flying fox ziplines will fly you smoothly side-by-side with a partner, friend or relative down into a stunning tract of original and regenerating native 'bush' (forest). It's a scenic interpretive walk back to base, where you'll learn about local flora and fauna and the conservation of our spectacular natural environment. With a choice of drop-off locations afterwards, we'll make sure you have plenty of things to do on the island!
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a party of 19 family members of varying ages between 10 - 81, and all enjoyed every moment of this experience (after lots of initial apprehension). Staff were very impressive, friendly and highly skilled and the set up worked seamlessly. The zip lines are exhilarating and the forest walk back is just what you need to work down some adrenaline and see some fascinating foliage and another whole ecosystem. Highly recommended.

Thank Birchgrove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

G'day from a very sunny Waiheke Island, and huge thanks for submitting your review of EcoZip Adventures.

It seems like a long time since Barbara lead the charge of your clan down our ziplines - and to this day she's remembered for leading from the front! In fact, we still talk about the day that we 'zipped' 4 generations of one family.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you and the whole family to EcoZip and to spend a couple of hours in your company. We hope we'll see you back again before too long; but in the meantime many thanks again for your awesome feedback.

Very best wishes
Gavin and the whole team at EcoZip Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
There are newer reviews for EcoZip Adventures
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,020 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

It's a company that doesn't take short cuts and hasn't missed a single detail in any part of their business. We were picked up,given a generous tour of the island in the bus, then straight up to the zip lines. We had 3 graded lines, which myself being a complete height phobic person-I didn't ever feel nerves or caution. Echozip have your safety first and then to follow the drop, they lead with a nature walk and drop off to the ferry with a restaurant recommendation depending on your requests. Ours being a great meal at vino vino and Waiheke is a total mood modifier 10/10

Thank Slownsteady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

G'day Slownsteady (great username by the way!)

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our operation - we really do appreciate your feedback.

Naturally we're delighted to learn that your EcoZip experience ticked all the right boxes for you; from the 'minitour' of Waiheke, through ziplines and on to the mood modifying lunch.

Thanks again for giving EcoZipping a go, and for your wonderful comments.

All the best
Gavin and the team at EcoZip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The zip line adventure starts at the top of Waiheke Island, we could see all the way to the Auckland Sky Tower. It was a very impressive starting point and it kept getting better all the way until the finish.
We rode 3 different zip lines, each more fun than the last one with the final ride being very fast. After the last zip there is a 1400 meter walk back to the starting point mostly through the bush, it also was very interesting and informative. Our guide Jake was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the area which made the walk back very nice, he stopped our group several times during the walk to talk about things significant to the area. It was a bit of a trek but the stops along the way made it fairly easy................Jake and Alice you guys ROCK.
EcoZip just celebrated their first anniversary so all of the equipment and facilities were first rate. Additionally it was easy to see the staff had gone through a rigorous training program, they all had happy faces and obviously knew what they were doing.
My wife and I have traveled extensively doing these type things, it was clear to us this is a first class operation we would recommend at the highest level...............Jim & Cathy U. from SoCal

Thank jwuleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Jim & Cathy

First off, many thanks for taking time to add your review of EcoZip to Trip Advisor; it's much appreciated.

I've passed your wonderful comments on to your guides, Jake and Alice who, not unnaturally, are delighted with your feedback. On a personal note it was a great pleasure to spend a bit of time with you post tour, and may I wish you every continued success with your business.

Thanks again for visiting EcoZip and for sharing your opinions and feeback

Warmest best wishes
Gavin and the EcoZip team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

From the moment you're met off the ferry, to the moment the guides drop you off where you want on the island, you'll have a blast. The 3 zip lines offer an exhilarating, safe trip down the hill, and the bush walk to base camp is accompanied by plenty of useful commentary. I especially enjoyed hugging the trees... it's a real must do.

Thank JamesWinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hi James

Many thanks for taking time to add your feedback to our growing library here on Trip Advisor.

Naturally we're really pleased to read that your EcoZip experience met all your expectations; right from pick-up to drop-off. As you experienced we designed the whole to be safe, great fun and very interactive - and along the way we're proving you really don't need to be a tree hugger to hug a tree!

Thanks again for your feedback and for visiting EcoZip

Warmest best wishes
Gavin and the team at the top of Trig Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had a blast on the zip line, great staff that made you feel relaxed and keen to have a good time!! The best part was the last zipline, higher, faster and awesome views!
Every moment was fun and the bush walk back was great learning about new things and enjoying the wonderful n.z bush!
A must to go see!!

Thank Kushla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O, Owner at EcoZip Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hi Kushla

First off, many thanks for adding your feedback to our Trip Advisor page. As has been said before, it really is very much appreciated.

Thanks for your stellar feedback on your whole EcoZip experience. Your safety is our number one priority, and why we employ such great guides, so you can quite literally just lean back and enjoy the ride - and the awesome views.

Thanks again for the feedback and for heading to Waiheke to experience EcoZip.

Warmest best wishes
Gavin and the whole EcoZip team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EcoZip Adventures also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to EcoZip Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing