We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Ranked #1 of 3 Onetangi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We have just returned from spending 4 days on Waiheke staying at the Strand 2 bedroom apartments. The apartment was larger than we expected, the outdoor living and view good, but it was very difficult to get a good sleep! There is a wedding venue just along from the Onetangi Beach Apartments, and each night we were there (Fri, Sat & Sun) there was a wedding at that venue, with corresponding loud music until after midnight, then noisy wedding guests returning to their apartments. If its peace and quiet you're after, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed for 4 days in the Crows Nest apartment which is a couple of flights of stairs up on top of the main apartment blocks, this was a fantastic spot as the apartment has a wrap around veranda with outdoor seating and amazing views of Onetangi beach and the bay. The apartment has two bedrooms, each with an ensuite loo/shower and an open plan kitchen/dinner/living room. There is a TV, and DVD player (not that we used these) and you can get DVDs from reception downstairs. There is a dairy/corner shop close by but when we stayed (early December) this was only open on the weekends. There is a petrol station 5 minutes walk up the hill, but it is quite pricey and better to stock up at the big supermarket in Oneroa. Reception is not open 24 hours, but when it is it does sell wine and beer at a reasonable price. There are a couple of restaurants open during the day but the only place that seemed to be open at night was Charlie Farlies, which serves lovely meals (locally sourcing produce where they can) and also has a bar. The property is fairly easy to get to if you don't have a car; we caught the ferry and jumped on the bus which stops right outside the apartments. As the bus is just opposite we used this a lot to get around. It's an easy trip to the supermarket in Ostend and to the bigger town of Oneroa. If you do need to get the bus to the supermarket make sure you get the right one back or you may end up on the wrong side of the island! Onetangi is lovely and peaceful with lots of walks. We just loved the apartment and would defiantly stay here again. One thing to consider though is that like most places in NZ the check out time is 10:00am. The beaches here are beautiful and there is lots to do on the island, wished we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateLouiseMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I am sure once upon a time these premises were grand, however, they are now considerably run down and most definately not worth the money we spent on the one night we stayed there. We were in a sea view apartment, it was nice to sit out on the deck and look at the sea, however, this also overlooks some gardens where there was a big plastic bin, a spade and a couple of large plastic garden bags strewn around the grass, there was no gardening done in the time we were there and this did effect our view quite a bit. The bathroom was not clean, it had hair on the tiled walls and sand on the tiled floor, especially in the shower area, the toilet paper was the cheap recycled stuff you get from The Warehouse and horrible to use, the toilet had a running water problem and ran all night. The kitchen was equipped with the cheapest cooking pans one can purchase, there were also heaps of pepper sachets but no salt. The balcony had cobwebs all over the railings that affected our view, there were also weeds growing from under the ranch slider out onto the deck. The walls inside the apartment were covered in scraping marks and dents etc and I could not see any attempt to fix these. When we went to bed there was sand in it.... we did wonder if the sheets had been changed? The spa pool did not have enough water in it and the temperature was set too low, it was more like a luke warm bath. The beach was fantastic however, the only redeeming feature.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzyauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onetangi, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2010

Thanks for your review. It is regrettable that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We can ensure you though that all of our units are cleaned to the highest standard. This is something that our staff take pride in and need-less to say linen is most definitely changed between all stays!
All of the Practices of Onetangi Beach Apartments have environmental considerations in mind. For instance, we only use recycled toilet paper. Recently we had issues with our previous supplier and have since found a quality recycled product. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you during you stay.
The vegetable and flower gardens next door are worked on daily by their owner. We have had only positive feed-back in the past from guests who are happy that their kids have a green grassed area to run around on and that they have the use of the outdoor BBQ on that area. The owner's of this land are very kind in letting our guests use it and it is unfortunate that you found it to be a deterrent to your view.
Yours Sincerely,

Peter & Tanya Russell
Onetangi Beach Apartments Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

So after getting used to trip advisor ive decided to start writing on local experiences, and thsis is the first. We recently went to Onetanigi beach apartments for a long weekend. There were 4 of us and we got a two bed apartment.

The complex itself looks to have three or four different types of rooms/accommodation. We were lucky and managed to get a two level two bathroom two bedroom apartment, that was clean and tidy and had three decks and fantastic views of the ocean. These looked to be owned and rented when the owners were not using them, thus giving them a lived in feel. Things like full kitchen sky digital bbq and large outdoor settings just made the time there better. I don’t think that all rooms have this through. Fans in the rooms were a great touch as it was rather hot. They did “clean” the rooms but its not a full clean, more a quick tidy.

The location was great, its a bit further away that the normal accommodation on the island but the complex is over the road from the beach and the beach is fantastic makes me realise how lucky we are to be in NZ. Within 1 min there are two cafe’s and a small shop at the back of one of the cafe.

Transport well, for those travelling to NZ you will find out that we don’t normally have a public transport system, except on Waiheke where you can get a bus every hour back to the ferry and main shopping complexes its cheep and reliable even for large music events. The Bus will drop you off about 50m away from the complex.

Compared to other options.... well this is subjective, but friends did use a holiday home web site to find a place, they ended up with something further away from the beach, not nearly as nice, no cleaning over the weekend and for a fraction less than we paid... so seriously look at this place as a great option.

One draw back was that they were late letting us check in (4pm) and would not let us check out late we were only after a hour, not the best way to end but wont ruin the overall impression.

Would recommend Mud brick cable bay wineries as places to visit great food and locations....

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crosscountrykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

If you're heading to Onetangi - hell, New Zealand - then you're doing yourself a disservice if you don't spend at least a day or two unwinding at the Onetangi Beach Apartments.

Slap bang on the beachfront, I stayed in an apartment with a beautiful view. The service was wonderful and everything was as clean and up to date as I could hope for.

While the beach is only a few steps away, I highly recommend hiring out the jacuzzi room for some prime R&R.

Even better, there's a brilliantly local, amazingly warm local pub/bar around the corner - make sure you head to Charlie Farley's for a sunset before you leave the island.

Great service, great people and wonderful accomodation.

I'm sold.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrisley36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I came from Canada to tour New Zealand and took the ferry from Auckland to Waiheke Island and stayed at the Onetangi Beach Apartments. With its easy access to one of the best Beaches in the world, having on the spot location for local restaurants and a chef on-site, the Onetangi Beach Apartments is indeed a retreat for anyone of any age. If you are up to tour the island your encouraged to check out local activities such as "Wild on Waiheke", Wine tours, or to just relax on the Beach. The knowledgeable staff at the Onetangi beach Apartments are always up-to-date with things to do while on Waiheke. The local "Kiwis" are very tourist friendly and inviting to celebrate any occasion any day. I highly recommend anyone to stay at this fabulous Resort; its easy to find, its got an amazing location to the Beach, and their Staff and Management surpasses any expectation of making your holiday special on Waiheke. Thank you OBA!

Steve

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Onetangi Beach Apartments consistent of three "properties", this review relates to the BeachFront Apartments. We rented 4 apartments (2 x 1 bedroom and 2 x 2 bedroom) for a family holiday in December. Overall the rooms were clean and had everything you needed for a self contained vacation. However, the property did let its self down in a few ways. Only the front two upstairs apartments have a view over the beach and these apartments do not have umbrellas so it's impossible to sit on the balcony during the day. We had planned a few BBQ meals, but there was only 1 BBQ available (and that was without gas and VERY dirty) not, as outlined on the website, 1 BBQ for 2 units to share. Finally, the 1 bedroom apartments are quite spacious, while the 2 bedroom apartments, which only have the same floor space as the 1 bedroom apartments, are quite pokey and dark. So you the quality of your stay rides on which room you are lucky enough to get.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onetangi, Manager at Onetangi Beach Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2009

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for not having the BBQ in top condition for your use. Since your stay we have tidied it up and fixed it. We will also be more strict about maintaining it in the future.
Regarding the room arrangements: We have 4 One Bedroom apartments with sea views. These are very popular for couples who want to get away and the balconies give the best vantage for sunsets. The 3 Two Bedroom units on the ground floor do not have sea views yet are the closest to the beach. These are very popular for families as well as couples.
We make it a point not to mislead any of our guests about which units have the best views. If you did get this impression it definitely was not our intention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onetangi
2.0 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#4 of 5 in Waiheke Island
93 reviews
2.6 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waiheke Island
105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#8 of 29 in Waiheke Island
183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#5 of 5 in Waiheke Island
42 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kiwi House Waiheke
Kiwi House Waiheke
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onetangi Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onetangi Beach Apartments

Address: 5-7 Fourth Avenue | Onetangi Beach, Onetangi, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island > Onetangi
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Onetangi
Price Range: $141 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onetangi Beach Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiheke Island holiday accommodation and conference venue on beautiful Onetangi Beach, Waiheke IslandLocated right on Onetangi Beach, the most beautiful beach in the Auckland region, this 2km, north facing white sandy beach is the perfect getaway.Onetangi Beach Apartments is unique in that it has a wide range of modern accommodation for all types of travelers, all in the one location. It is the perfect base for ocean enthusiasts, nature lovers, families, couples, corporate groups, wedding parties or those just looking for a little rest and relaxation.We offer quality, fully serviced holiday accommodation with Spa Pools, Sauna, WiFi and Room Service. Our helpful staff have the local knowledge that will ensure you get the best that Waiheke has to offer, just ask us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Onetangi Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onetangi Beach Apartments Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing