We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“skip this vineyard!”
Review of Obsidian Vineyard

Obsidian Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Obsidian wines are the true embodiment of their place of origin. Every exquisite glass of Obsidian speaks of this unique terroir, encapsulating not only the character of the weathered soils at Onetangi, home to Obsidian's vineyard on Waiheke Island, but the coastal beauty of the surrounding environment.Tucked away in an amphitheatre setting amongst the vines, Obsidian offers wine tastings in a relaxed and friendly environment. Our knowledgeable cellar door staff will take you through a range of Obsidian Reserve & Non-Reserve wines.All are available to purchase in the shop. Winter Opening Hours: 11:00am - 4:00pm Friday through Sunday.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The wines are not that great, they are heavily overpriced, it is out of the way, tasting costs $15, they do not care about the guests, just the cash.

Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 136 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Obsidian was the third vineyard on our tour. Unlike the first two, this place was a disappointment in both the atmosphere and the service. Firstly, the place stunk of sewer and then the overly smart bar tender who was very rude. The wine was good though! However not worth the time and money!

Thank shu679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S, General Manager at Obsidian Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your visit to Obsidian. We were very concerned to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Obsidian and we sincerely apologize to you for this.

We generally pride ourselves on providing friendly and informed tasting experiences. The interaction with our staff member with regards to your tasting was certainly not typical. We will be addressing the issue with our staff immediately.

With regard to the smell at the vineyard, we had recently installed a new septic tank and on the day in question you were at the vineyard, we were experiencing some problems with it. We are currently investigating this to remedy the problem as quickly as possible.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies, that the experience at Obsidian was not up to standard. Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling
to Waihek Island again so that I may personally take you through a tasting at Obsidian.

Your sincerely

Janet Spilman
janet@obsidian.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A great little hidden gem. Great little vineyard. Don't expect much, just great service, friendly locals and good wine. Best on a sunny day.

Thank AWJNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Lindsay went out of his way to accommodate us despite being busy preparing a club members lunch on the day we visited. While they are well known for their flagship red "The Obsidian" do try the Syrah and their latest addition the Viognier. They are both superb!!

Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Loved their 2011 Viognier and they had a great atmosphere there!

Thank hillsont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obsidian Vineyard also viewed

 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Obsidian Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing