We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salmon platter was ok”

Peacock Sky Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Wine Bar, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: High on a hill, framed by lush native bush, Peacock Sky offers fine wines and bubbles in a degustation style tasting with food pairings, casual gourmet dining in Le Cote de la Colline restaurant, picnic baskets and a nature trail. Open Spring/Autumn Thurs-Sun 11 am until late afternoon, 7 days in Summer 12 pm - late afternoon, call for Winter hours. Reservations recommended! Call for information regarding hosting your private party, wedding, business meeting or corporate retreat.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salmon platter was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

There was plenty of beautiful smoked salmon on the platter but that was about it, it felt like there was something missing, bit boring!

Helpful?
Thank HailsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    59
    20
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great mini-degustation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Go for the mini wine and pairing menu. Cheap and delicious, and well worth the journey down there. The cellar also sells good reds too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mookiface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most exceptional wine tasting experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My partner and I are big wine lovers and we have travelled all over New Zealand tasting wine at the best locations. We are now lucky enough to call Waiheke Island home, and since we have moved here we have been wine tasting at every vineyard on the island but Peacock Sky was the last on our list (not sure why?) But it was worth the wait as our recent wine tasting experience here was exceptional!

Rob is so passionate and knowledgeable and the way the wine tasing is conducted is professional, personalised and conducted with so much passion and interest you wouldn't think it was the 25th time Rob had done it that day! The wine tasting is like a mini-degustation with matching foods which is quite unlike anywhere else in NZ where you are lucky to get a water cracker with your tasting. It is also reasonably priced - I believe it's $10 for a tasting which is a lot cheaper than most other vineyards on the island.

Beautiful location and the restaurant has a lovely open-air feel with hearty food which is good if you're drinking bottles of wine with your meal. The food isn't exactly to my taste as I prefer more of a Mediterranean style, but I can see that it would appeal to overseas tourists and it helps that Connie (the hostess and Rob's wife) is American too :)

To top this amazing vineyard off, there is a gorgeous border collie called Sky who lives on the premises and is very hard to ignore when you are eating a piece of chicken and he is pulling out his 'shake hands' trick!

Highly recommend putting Peacock Sky on your wine tasting itinerary!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinky_dotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good wine tasting experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I first went here for one of their wine tasting and food matching experiences. The owner took this and I found it an interesting experience and he was an interesting host with some good yarns to tell. We had platters afterwards and while there was nothing wrong with the platters, they didn't wow me with anything different either.

I went back again on another occasion and ordered from the main menu. I have to say that I found the food rather average in flavour and very over priced for what you got.

They have some nice wines, and lovely hosts, just need to up the game in the food area in my opinion.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rt_zooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wine + Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Best tasting on Waiheke Island. They pair all their wines with a morsel of gourmet food. Had lunch there as well and it was excellent. Sliders and Quesadillas were a hit with our group. EXCELLENT service!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peacock Sky Vineyard also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Peacock Sky Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing