We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trading on views, unimaginative menu and price hike”
Review of Charlie Farley's

Charlie Farley's
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been a Charley's customer for years, I have to say this latest incarnation is really disappointing. Not only have the prices been hiked sharply, but the menu is uninspiring.
Even worse, the selection of deserts is a joke. Seriously - how can you crumble a chocolate bar with a spot of cream, with the only differentiator being whether it's a Snickers bar or a Bounty bar, or versions thereof? How cheap, unimaginative and a rip off.Even our teenagers, who would normally eat anything, scoffed at this offering.
Come on Charleys - people love the view, but they deserve great food too.
Stop being chintzy

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely lunch here with our Son enjoying the atmosphere until a group of very loud a foul mouth young girls sat down on the table next to us, one in particular repeatedly using the ‘F’ word, they clearly wanted to be centre of attention and at no point did the staff ask them to tone it down, I guess they owners are more interested in the money than other guests enjoyment, after eating we went to the restaurant next door for drinks. It’s a real shame as I would have left a 5 Star review if the situation had been dealt with.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 007_Richard_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Awesome view, great location. Food is appropriate and delicious. Service is friendly. Love the locals and the tourists. Open reasonably early for breakfast.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Popped in on a Wednesday afternoon in the hot sun. What a fabulous location, right opposite the beautiful Onetangi beach. Also the public bus stops at their door, perfect.
Plenty of outdoor seating, we definitely needed the umbrella. An easy bar menu, we enjoyed fish n chips, a fab Reuben sandwich, and fries. We stayed for 2.5 hrs, so the bar bill was rather extensive for 6 of us! But thoroughly enjoyed the lemon merange martinis, nice local rose wine, and a good choice of beers available.
Look forward to returning, I understand they have live music on Saturday afternoons during the summer months.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank BarbWats0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Good choice on menu and prompt service. Food was delicious and not too pricy. They also have the most wonderful ice cream station

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Farley's also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Charlie Farley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing