We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish and chips by the sea”
Review of Charley Farley's

Charley Farley's
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
london
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips by the sea”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We dropped by for our evening meal before getting the bus back to the ferry terminal to Auckland. Food menu was extensive - I had the thai green curry with seafood whilst my partner went for the fish and chips. Portions were reasonably sized for the price and the fish was fresh. The real draw was the beer patio so you could eat and drink and take in the gorgeous sea view.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank doris_charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    199
    66
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to go for relaxed, yummy eating on the island”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spend a lot of time on the island and CF is a great place for breakfast or lunch. Order the Thai beef salad it is fabulous, we usually share this with the Mexican dish they have, both hits with us. Stunning views over the longest beach on the island, best to get a table outside well away from the smoking spot, which I find a put-off if you are like the majority if Kiwis who don't smoke. A bit of a mission getting to Onetangi beach from either the car ferry or pedestrian ferry so take the bus or car. The coach type buses stop there so it can often be madness in summer, we usually act like seagulls and usually can pin down an outside table but you have to be quick, as there will be a whole lot of other people trying to do the same thing. Usually tables available inside though. CF is named after a racehorse, great place - go there a nice change from eating at vineyards....life is tough!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great setting..average food!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Charlie farleys is located right on the beachfront at onetangi so the setting is stunning, and to be fair the staff were really friendly..but the food was less than average! The pork belly should have been tender but it was tough which was really disappointing...and it took forever to come out. It's a real shame because this place really has potential.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestofTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great beach cafe”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a wonderful breakfast there and enjoyed the free Internet and of course the wonderful views of the beach

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bettina74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One cup of Tea per pot”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wait staff were not that friendly.We had not been there before so were not familiar with their menu and sizes of hot drinks- to the annoyance it seemed of the girl taking orders.Breakfast was OK however the pot of Tea only gave one cup where most other places you can get 2 cups from the pot.Tea timer was novel and a good idea

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrskindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley Farley's also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
 
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Charley Farley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing