We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WELCOMING AND RELAXED” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charley Farley's

Charley Farley's
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Onetangi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bracknell, Berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WELCOMING AND RELAXED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This Restaurant and Bar at the beach at Onetangi is the one to aim for. Its used by most of the locals who recognise quality when they see it! Spent most of February on Waiheke with most mornings (great breakfast choice) and many evenings at Charlies. Tip - go for the bowl of coffee (in the French style) instead of a cup, it only costs 50 cents extra. Take advantage of free Wi Fi access. Luke & Helen the owners have a great team working for them. We recommend especially the Thai green seafood curry, and the Thai beef salad. Good varied menu with daily specials and good local beers and wine. Brilliant sea view.
We will return!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C2OPTIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    188
    61
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We reviewed this restaurant last year and since then it has improved due to some good management and new chefs. The food selection was excellent, especially as I am a vegetarian. The place was crowded and although a little noisy,it was lively, so not an ideal place if you wanted a romantic dinner for two. I had the rissotto and sticky date pudding which I would highly recommend My husband had the sticky ribs whichg apparently were outstanding. An overall good experience

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can't get a better view!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

This place is great,being located by onetangi beach,just down from the main street,it's really quiet,and very relaxing just sitting on the outside deck enjoying a cold beer/snack,or a proper main meal.

I was further up by the beach store(kind of like a cafe),when a fellow tourist asked me if there was another restaurant down the road,I said yes,he then said which is better,I promptly replied "Charlie Farleys".

The food is also great,and service was good too. There are also a few hotels located very near.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Across the street from the beach, fresh fish and other super options, super staff and can't say enough about our lunch with 9 friends at Charley's!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Always0naplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Free wifi, loved this place. Great food, friendly service, free wifi. Right on the beach at Onetangi.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sbhbeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley Farley's also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Charley Farley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing