We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - spoil yourself and book!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunawanna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bruny Island Explorers Cottages
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful - spoil yourself and book!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked into a cottage after reading the reviews. After speaking to Emma from the Hotel Bruny, we already knew that the reviews were accurate. She was warm, friendly and booked us into cottage number 3.

We picked up the keys from David, the owner, at the hotel and were delighted with his warm and informative welcome. Arriving at the cottages saw us greeted by a gaggle of ducks enthusiastically quacking hellos and hoping for a scrap of bread to be thrown their way (tip - take extra bread as they are adorable snacking from your hands).

The view from the deck was beautiful and the cottage itself clean, comfy and well equipped. We have stayed at many places over the years and this is by far the best for the very reasonable price.

The evenings can be spent snuggled in front of the wood burner, drinking wine on the deck or by heading to the Hotel Bruny for great service, free wifi and delicious food - all by the warmth of the fire!

We stayed a night only but if I returned, I would be sure to book longer!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickywackywoowaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Bruny Island is surprisingly large, and yet extremely sparsely populated. Finding Explorer's Cottages was therefore a pleasant surprise. The house that we had was more than adequate for two couples, and the log fire was a lovely touch. The rooms were very comfortable, and the staff were very helpful (even to posting back something we had left behind!). Not too far away from anything, yet perfectly placed for seclusion if you wanted peace and quiet (of which there is plenty at Bruny Island). A wonderful place to relax.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the All Angels Church house in the middle of winter. The three bedroom renovated church was keep lovely and warm by a log fire and electric heating in all rooms if needed. The spacious and modern living area had comfortable chairs/lounge and a well equiped kitchen. The location is quiet and we love bruny Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeeemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Nice place to stay at Bruny. Dave the operator was great. Cottages are very cosy: a nice home away from home. Good for a weekend getaway, girls weekend or a place to veg with your partner. The resident ducks were the highlight.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elli2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed as a group of five couples. We had privacy by being able to have individual cottages but also being in close proximity to each other to share drinks on the balcony. A great place to share stories of the days activities. The Explorers cottages ha d everything in them that we needed but you need to be prepared with your own food because there are no shops near by.A truly memorable time was spent there with our friends. A very special meal was arranged for us at All Angels Church House and while we did not stay there the accomodation looked top quality. A time we will never forget!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruny50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Loved the location, the comfort, the fire heater, the views, thoughtfulness of the owners/operators, value for money, the welcoming ducks, ease of booking and other arrangements and all the practical things needed when staying away from home. So glad the Chilean Volcanic ash came our way when it did otherwise I wouldn't have discovered this piece of paradise in Tasmania.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren18Sep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed in these lovely little cottages for two nights. We did have a view of the water but you are certainly not on the water's edge. The outlook is quite pleasant and very quite at night. The cabins are not 5 star but are adequate. The bedding was very comfortable and we really loved the fire which we had on both nights more for the novelty than the need. There is a deck which is ideal for sitting and having a glass of wine and watch the ducks that are very friendly and inquisitive. We had no complaints and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovescruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunawanna
3.2 mi away
Hotel Bruny
Hotel Bruny
#1 of 4 in Bruny Island
230 reviews
5.5 mi away
Captain Cook Holiday Park
Captain Cook Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Adventure Bay
139 reviews
6.0 mi away
Adventure Bay Retreat
Adventure Bay Retreat
#3 of 9 in Bruny Island
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
78 reviews
21.5 mi away
Bruny Beachside Accommodation
Bruny Beachside Accommodation
#1 of 1 in Dennes Point
15 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Peninsula Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruny Island Explorers Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruny Island Explorers Cottages

Property: Bruny Island Explorers Cottages
Address: 20 Lighthouse Rd, Lunawanna, Bruny Island, Tasmania 7150, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bruny Island > Lunawanna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lunawanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bruny Island Explorers Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bruny Island Explorers Cottages Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing