We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters and wallaby”

Bruny Island Wines Grill
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Lunawanna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Grill, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Carved from bush and pastureland on the outskirts of the sleepy little island settlement of Lunawanna on Bruny Island, is Australia's southernmost vineyard, Bruny Island Premium Wines. Producing premium-quality, cool-climate wines, grown, harvested and crafted to reflect the regions terroir. The Wine Bar & Grill serves all-day lunch in a relaxed alfresco dining area amongst the vines, featuring an extensive Bruny Island produce menu. A family run business, that is passionate about providing customers with a unique enjoyable experience with a strong connection between premium, handcrafted wines, the island's fine produce, friendly welcoming hospitality and the beautiful, pristine, unspoilt environment.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
322 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Oysters and wallaby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Tucked away in Lunawanna is a delightful, family run winery and casual restaurant. The great experience starts with delightful staff and a warm welcome. the wine itself is very pleasant and reasonably priced. But the food is excellent serving good quantities of exquisite cuisine that is hard to find elsewhere. The fresh "Get Shucked" oysters were farmed up the road that day and their flavour plus plumpness were delivered at a modest price. Followed by grilled Wallaby for Him and delectable pork sausages for Her. No room for desert but plenty of good memories

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bukbuk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    49
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great wine tasting - Pinot Noir”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Pinot Noir very good - went back for second bottle. Very friendly and helpful staff. Xmas eve for children with Santa a thoughtful treat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality eating, worth a detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great tasting food from local Bruny Is produce (vegetarian dish & pork sausages with apple sauce) & very good wine (we tried the Pinot Noir). Lunawanna is on the way to cape Bruny, and not too far from Adventure Bay so it's definitely worth a visit. The outlook over the vineyard is beautiful, and as it was quite a cool day, despite the December day, a lovely fire was going creating a warm, pleasant atmosphere.

This was our only restaurant experience on Bruny so I can't offer comparisons, but I do recommend it highly. I wish it would've been open for dinner also, as we spent 3 nights on Bruny.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidLS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent wines and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't decide which tapas dishes to choose so we had the lot. And all delicious local food. Wines tasted great so ordered 2 Pinot - was advised to buy bottle and take away what we didn't drink. We did - along with another bottle. And then we needed sweets and a coffee - cheesecake was huge but we managed!

Helpful?
Thank 255100Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island
2 reviews
“Gourmet on a stick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Last day in Tasmania and this place left us with memories of why our food and wine experiance was exceptional. First the road side sign "All day lunch menu" great we had just come off the southern seas tour and it was 2.30. A vast menu on offer no limits, the grilled salmon and salad was fantastic but when I saw the chef finish adding the salmon, scollaps and oysters tk the seafood chowder pot I wanted to change my mind. Not pretentious fresh and flavoursome complemented with the sweet reisling. Thanks ladies you left a memorable taste on our palates.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awhiawhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruny Island Wines Grill also viewed

Bruny Island, Tasmania
Bruny Island, Tasmania
 
Adventure Bay, Bruny Island
 
Bruny Island, Tasmania
Adventure Bay, Bruny Island
 

Been to Bruny Island Wines Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing