We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touch and smell the spices from the point of Origin.”

New Paradise Spice & Herbal Garden
Ranked #3 of 3 things to do in Mawanella
Attraction details
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Touch and smell the spices from the point of Origin.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

New Paradise Spice Garden is on the Colombo- Kandy highway just before the Mawanella Town.
Its on the left hand side as you climb a small hill. This spice garden has almost all the spices grown in their garden. You will be taken on a conducted tour of the Spice garden by experienced staff. You can touch the plants and smell the leaves, flowers etc.,
At the end of the tour you will be given a lecture on the uses of Spice. You could also visit the small sales outlet and purchase some spices, you are free to ask for some discount and the management will oblige you.
There is also a Resturant where you could order spicy Sri Lankan Curries.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tilakfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    6
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Touch and see lots of spices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This sweet garden is nice to visit on your way. The guide will tell you all about the different spices and what to take for what illness. We had a good laugh and the kids touched and smelled all sorts of spices and herbs. Clean toilets and a sweet small shop.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank bigwideworld4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A worthwhile tourist trap. Enter with an open mind and you may just enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

There are quite a few spice gardens along Kandy Road, but our tour guide chose this one for us.
The tour is "free" but - as most experienced travellers will tell you - nothing is ever really "free", so do this with an open mind, and you may just enjoy it.
Our guide firmly believes in ayurvedic medicines, claimed on more than one occassion that this form of homeopathy is the miracle cure for most modern and age-old ailments. I'm sure he believed it. Not so sure that I did, but it was nonetheless intersting to smell and touch various plants and hear about their (potential) medicinal and other uses.
The tour ends with a "lecture" on various spice and herb products.
We were offered hot cocoa with red banana extract, as well as herbal tea, each had an indian head massage with special oil, I had some hair removed from my leg, we were given herbal insect repellants and my wife and son each had an ayurvedic massage.
Others could find this invasive, but I suggest that you go into this knowing what to expect and with an open mind. Then you are more likely to enjoy it!
All of these demonstrations are done with products that they sell in their small "pharmacy", and there is a hard sell when you walk through this.
We ended up buying more than we needed (and paid more than we should have) but - all-in-all - this is a worthwhile endeavour, as long as you have the right mindset!

Helpful?
6 Thank Ribbie_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good spice garden- with realistic prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This spice garden has been in existence for over 20 years. the owner is a very reliable person and has been the President of the Lions Club too.
There is also a money back guarantee if the quality of items are inferior.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tilakfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food excellent, a bit pushy though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This establishment isn't particularly picturesque though the guides seemed pretty informative. They walk you through the garden explaining all the medicinal properties of the various spices and herbs though they clearly made half of it up (our guide suggested that one particular herb taken twice daily would cure you permanently of diabetes). The tour completes with a short 'lesson' on the spices, all of which happen to be in products they were seling. Our guide was a bit pushy and actually started rubbing various balms on my arms and face which invaded my personal space.

Despite the hard-sell, we elected to have lunch before leaving and were really pleasantly surprised, it was excellent. We had curry prawns which was great as was the chicken currry.

There are plenty of spice gardens along this stretch of the road though I'd recommend this place for the food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Froggystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Paradise Spice & Herbal Garden also viewed

 

Been to New Paradise Spice & Herbal Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing