We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caliza Restaurant

Caliza Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Caliza Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Alys Beach
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: Contemporary, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Happy Hour: Tuesday - Saturday, 5:30pm - 6:30pm Dinner Service: Tuesday - Saturday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm We serve contemporary American cuisine in a relaxed, al fresco setting overlooking Caliza's stunning pool at Alys Beach. Retreat here after a day at the beach for quality food and drink paired with polished, friendly service. The menu centers on artisan, seasonal ingredients sourced from regional purveyors, showcasing our Gulf Coast locale. Expect an equal mix of healthy and indulgent sharable plates presented simply with bright, bold flavors that let the ingredients shine. The open-air bar is the perfect spot for happy hour, offering artisanal cocktails designed for poolside sipping and a thoughtfully curated list of craft beers and wines by-the-glass.
NOLA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Experience, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I stopped in by chance and are so pleased we did. The restaurant and bar surround the pool which gave our experience an exotic, romantic vibe. We did not have reservations but as it was happy hour (yay) were accommodated at the bar with a very interesting menu. Along with wine and interesting beer choices we enjoyed the guacamole duo, mussels and pomme frites. The service could not be beat and we had a great time visiting with the bartenders. We will be certain to make reservations the next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnabelleJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice setting for afternoon drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I visited Caliza twice for happy hour drinks and once for dinner. Caliza is really a bar/restaurant framing what seems to be the main pool for Alys Beach. Lovely ambience and setting for an quiet afternoon drink and happy hour snack - I enjoyed the mussels and the ceviche. Had a fish special for dinner and it was just ok. Service is like dinner - ok.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbugslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been to Caliza restaurant multiple times for dinner and have always enjoyed it. The food is very good (everyone in my group were very impressed with the crab cakes especially this year). The portions are average size, some where a little on the small side. The atmosphere by the pool with all of the candles is really beautiful and relaxing. The service is also good. However be prepared to pay NYC prices for your meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alinyc214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An absolute MUST on any trip to 30-a area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have eaten at Caliza several times, and it is always outstanding. I have gone with just a group of girls...special and extraordinary...and my family, which includes 5 kids....still extraordinary. The staff is the best, the food is consistent and fantastic and the setting is wonderful! Do NOT miss this one!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mhpTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant on 30A”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Caliza Restaurant was recommended to us by friends that had gone there in 2012 and it did not disappoint. The food, service and atmosphere were all amazing. Our server, Doruk, did a phenomenal job of treating us like we were the only couple in the restaurant. I would highly recommend the jalapeno martini and the scallops. My wife had the lamb and LOVED it as well. We cannot wait to go back when we visit again this summer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliza Restaurant also viewed

Rosemary Beach, Florida Panhandle
Alys Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Rosemary Beach, Florida Panhandle
Rosemary Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Caliza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing