We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in the area for lunch and dinner”

George's at Alys Beach
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Alys Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: George's is an upscale, casual restaurant bringing regional coastal flair infused with global flavors to the quaint town of Alys Beach, Florida. Dishes are crafted using locally sourced, organic produce and the freshest seafood available. George's also features a thoughtfully curated wine list and decadent desserts. Set in a beach cottage with lots of outside dining options, the recently renovated space is simultaneously airy and cozy with a relaxed, intimate atmosphere.
Colleyville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best in the area for lunch and dinner”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at Alys Beach and went to Georges for lunch and dinner - both twice while in town.
Excellent service and food. I wish they would expand their seating outside to include a screened in area as flies pounced our table during both dinners and were relentless in bothering us through out our dinners.
It was crowded each of our 4 visits. hope they have plans to expand both their seating and enclosing area so this is not an issue. see ya may 2014 -

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjrawlings92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    130
    50
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cullman, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the food but....”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the food at Georges July 2013. We have eaten here for the past 3 years in a row. However, the flies were so bad that our group had a difficult time enjoying our food. The indoor seating is very limited so we jumped at the chance of eating outside.
I would highly recommend that the restaurant take some measure to deal with this problem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch. Wow. Amazing. The restaurant is very small, most of the seating is outside, which is not a problem unless it raining of course. We went for lunch to avoid the cloud. Everything was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank swaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to George's and the food did not disappoint. The blackened snapper with black rice and pineapple salsa was a standout as were the fish tacos. The menus also notes which dishes are GF or V. The desserts were phenomenal. My wife thought the ice cream was the best she'd Ever had while the chocolate goo and bread pudding were contenders. With food this good, clearly backed by a stellar chef and crew in the kitchen, the disappointment was the kids menu. The creative names for dishes didn't mask the lack thereof in the choices (chicken fingers, grouper fingers, Mac n cheese .....). It would be nice if restaurants could step up and offer creative dishes for kids (even if they were in addition to the tired standbys).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jbonander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We've been there twice for lunch- both times the food was excellent. Service was good, people were friendly, very kid friendly.....overall a really, really great lunch experience. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adiboomblati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's at Alys Beach also viewed

Inlet Beach, Florida Panhandle
Rosemary Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Seacrest Beach, Florida Panhandle
Rosemary Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Rosemary Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to George's at Alys Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing