We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveler rating
737
173
42
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
173
42
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionpeak districtdressing areahaggisfirst classwalk in showerwedding plannerhigh standardopen fireseparate showerwet roomsuperior roomlovely hotelthe pubevening mealboth nightsbeautiful countryside
Filter
Updating list...
693 - 698 of 956 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed as part of a wedding party.
The room was fine but the balcony isn't really a balcony - more of an opening door.
Lighting wasn't really sufficient for applying make-up - or so I am told :-)
The gardens are immature and the lake a bit bleak but it was raining most of the time - it will be better when it matures and the sun shines.
Ate in the restaurant - service was ok and so was the food - but thats all.
The starter cried out for a little bit of toast to mop up the poached egg and the main was served on a wooden platter whereupon I had to keep retreiving bits and bobs that fell off.
Bar had a good selection of drinks but some of the staff didn't really know how to serve them but all pleasant enough.
Breakfast was OK only with items not really cooked sufficiently (eg black pudding) and staff not attentive enough - if you serve coffee by the cup they do need topping up.
Scrambled egg was a bit watery - could do better.
Seemed to be an awful lot of people smoking at the entrance which is not very welcoming.
But all in all - served its purpose for one night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdanDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to writie your recent review and hope that you enjoyed attending the wedding which we hosted at The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion. I do value and appreciate honest and constructive feedback . The Feature Rooms have glass Juliet Balconies overlooking the lake. A Juliet Balcony is known as this as they are named after 'Romeo & Juliet' scene. The lights in all the bedrooms, where necessary by mirrors and dressing/wardrobe areas have been replaced with brighter bulbs, to assist with makeup application, shaving, etc . We have recently planted many trees, bulbs, shrubs, fruit trees, flowers and ferns within the grounds thats looks truly stunning now in full bloom and more established, not to mention all the wild flowers in the fields. We are a modern 2 year old Boutique Hotel and making excellent progress in so many areas of the business. However, I would like to sincerely apologise that you was disappointed in parts of your breakfast/bistro dining experience and the smokers that had gathered outside the Bistro enterance left you disappointed. I have spoken to each department regarding these issues have been addressed. We do hope to welcome you in the future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked this as a last minute deal and what a treat it turned out to be. Spacious room, excellent bathroom and gorgeous view. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is well positioned for exploring; Bakewell, Matlock and the surrounding areas. It is a little oasis. The food in the adjoining restaurant was excellent although it did feel a little pretentious (Not sure a waiter needs gloves to bring a slate of bread which then meant he couldn't pick up the slate when we were finished). Overall a brilliant stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbetteley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. I am truly delighted that you had such a fabulous time and that you found our hotel real treat and an excellent last minute break. We are very proud of the Hotel and Bistro and all our wonderful staff who work so hard at making guests feel welcomed and comfortable. We are perfectly positioned to explore nearby towns such as Bakewell, Buxton, Matlock, Chesterfield, in addition to many historic houses such as Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, Hardwick Hall, plus the most picturesque views, countryside and walks. We hope to welcome you once again in the future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed two nights with friends as we wanted to see Chatsworth and some of the smaller towns in and around the Peak District. The Hotel is well positioned and is well appointed with spacious rooms and superb bathrooms. All the hotel staff were very helpful and polite. The adjoining Bistro Pub had great food and well deserved its gastro awards. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The only downside is that it is isolated....but that also is its strength as you are away from it all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments with regards to your recent two night stay with freinds. I am delighted you enjoyed our award winning Hotel and Bistro. As you mentioned our hotel is spacious, well appointed and extremely comfortable. We are so fortuante to be surround by stunning countryside views, historic country houses, landmarks and breathtaking walks. Thank you so very much for all your future recommedations for th Hotel and Bistro, and hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed just the one night to visit Chatsworth House, which is very near. The hotel is quite new and the rooms are spacious, well-equipped and very comfortable. The front of house staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and similarly in the adjoining pub we were well looked after and the food was great. Good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted to read that you had a fantstic stay and that you enjoyed the spacious rooms, hotel amenities, comfort of the rooms and The Red Lion Bistro. I am pleased that you chose The Peak Edge Hotel for your visit to Chatsworth House, as we are so close for The House and for the surrounding areas. We do hope to welcome you again in the future and would like to thank you for higly recommending us. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here as part of a wedding party on the 12th of August. I shared room 203 (twin bed room) with my little brother. FOR THE PUBLIC... This is a fantastic new hotel with 2 great front of house managers who will go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable. The amenities are very modern and functional. The location is excellent giving easy access down some fantastically wild country lanes to the major sites of interest. TO THE MANAGERS... Thanks for making us all feel so welcome. Just a few things to look at. I forgot my toothbrush and there was not one provided in the room. I nearly smashed the shower cubicle door with the shower head by opening it inwards. It really could do with a latch so it only opens outwards, the shower area also needs a threshold as water did come under the door into the bathroom and finally I thought the twin beds were a little too close together. Other than that it was a very pleasant stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reclamationman h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am delighted to read that you had a fantastic and comfortable stay as part of the Wedding Party, location is excellent, and that you was made to feel so very welcome during your celebrations and stay. I would like to thank you for your valuable comments regarding the shower door, twin beds and the shower water. These issues have been discussed with each relevant department. Regarding toothbrushes, we always stock a supply of travel toothbrush packs at Reception. We do hope to welcome you back again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews