We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peak Edge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portland Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbeydale Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckingham's Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Hotel(Chesterfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveler rating
712
161
41
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
161
41
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionpeak districtdressing areachristmas treelarge bathhaggiswalk in showerhigh standardopen firesuperior roomwet roomlovely hotelevening mealwedding plannerthe pubfeature roomunderfloor heating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
704 - 709 of 916 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay at Peak Edge Hotel, last minute booking so no choice of room and ours was slightly overlooked by rm101 who were smoking out of their window. Apart from that room excellent very spacious and lovely bathroom, very impressed with hotel. Food in restaurant only slight disappointment as venison was chewy and two of the dishes didn't appear to match menu description. Great service though and lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I liked your tiitle 'Peak Performance' . Its lovely to hear that your stay with us was impressive and that you enjoyed our service and breakfast. I would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment regarding the venison and unfortunatley the smokers in 101. We operate a very strict No Smoking Policy within the Hotel and Bistro. Both matters have been addressed and hope that this didnt spoil your stay in any way. I hope to see you again, in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I cannot rate this hotel, the owners and their staff highly enough.

My daughters, grandsons and I arrived last Friday while the heavy snow was beginning to settle in for the weekend. My daughter's wedding was due to take place the next day and clearly all of the weeks and months of planning were being buried in a snow drift - and a very big snowdrift! From Friday evening, when he began digging guests out of the snow to ensure that they reached the hotel, Damien (the hotel owner) organised his team and worked tirelessly to ensure that the wedding could take place. He fetched his staff himself and ensured that replacements were found for any entertainers that could not get through the snow. He rescued several stranded guests and then called upon friends and neighbours with 4x4s and transported virtually the whole wedding party to the church - and back again. The weather conditions were really appalling. All the people that we met were so lovely and friendly and it is to their credit that the Bride (and her mother) had very few moments of stress - we have to confess that trying to tow us up the hill next to the church in a blizzard was one! We cannot thank them enough for all that they did - and nothing was too much trouble for these wonderful people. Although some of the wedding plans had to change, this does not matter because just being part of this experience with the staff, Damien and his wife and friends has quite restored our faith in human nature and has become a wedding memory to treasure.

The wedding reception itself when we returned to the hotel was excellent. It was quite everything the Bride and Groom wished it to be. The food, service and organisation was outstanding. Many guests were commenting that this was the best wedding that they ever been to.

The accommodation and service in the hotel is outstanding. The rooms that we had were large, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable with amazing bathrooms. The restaurant and relaxation areas were also wonderful. It was an excellent place in which a bride can prepare for her wedding and a real treat to stay in again afterwards.

This hotel, and it's staff, are truly beyond excellent and we will be returning to stay for many years to come. Any Bride and Groom could not make a better choice for their wedding reception.

Room Tip: We didn't hear a complaint about any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Willa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

I appreciate the time you have taken to write your excellent and detailed review. It certainly was a very memorable day that I think will go down in history at The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion. Its many many years since we have witnessed such a significant amount of snowfall and snow drifts like never before, overnight. Its my absolute pleasure for myself, my team and neighbours in 4x4s to help and support however we could . We do hope to see you again in the future, and perhaps on a stay with much warmer weather. Kindest rgeards,Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

booked for two night and wish I had booked for the full week. The rooms are superb, spacious and well equipped. The beds are large and comfortable. The bathrooms are like having your own mini spa with a huge bath and a monsoon shower. I cannot fault the food in anyway, it was out off this world with a unbelievably tasty breakfast. The bar section is magnificent with log fires comfortable chairs, settees and a very good range of drinks. All of the staff are friendly, extremely accommodating and will go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. On a personal note, i cannot thank Damian and his staff enough for stepping in to save the day when the heavy snow almost put an end to my brother’s wedding day, they really were unbelievable. This truly is a fantastic hotel with incredible staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

I appreciate greatly the time you have taken to leave your fantastic commentsduring your stay with us on your Brothers very snowy Wedding Day. We was all so very pleased to offer our help and support to everyone, after a foot of snow and snow drifts fell overnight. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in the Hotel for two nights and that you enjoyed the ambiance, food, beverages and log fires in The Bistro. We hope to welcome you in the not too distant future and hopefully during much warmer weather. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We (couple with young child) stayed there last weekend to attend a wedding. Because of heavy snow many things could not proceed as planned and the hotel manager basically saved the day. Just a few examples: Not charging a dime he called in his mates who then shuttled the whole wedding party in their 4x4s to the church and back. When the pianist could not make it to the hotel because of the snow they arranged a replacement in no time at all. In spite of the weather chaos the management and staff remained on top of things the entire time and gave everybody who attended the wedding a whole bunch of brilliant memories. everybody was very professional, competent and friendly and I simply cannot say enough nice things about this hotel and the people that run it and/or work there. Food and facilities are also excellent. We will certainly be back. Nemanja

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Nemanja, What a truly amazing and memorable time we all had that very snowy Winters' Day. It its our absolutle pleasure to help our guests in any way we possibly can and that the heavy snowfall we experienced wasnt going to get in the way of The Wedding ! I am so very lucky to have a truly fantastic team of dedicated professionals and very proud of each and everyone of them and everything we achieve here. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future and hopefully during much better weather! Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived at the hotel on Friday 22nd along with a few feet of snow. We got stuck as we tried to scale the hilly and icy road in a Ford Focus to get to the hotel and the manager was happy to come out and rescue us by giving us a tow - the first in many instances of saving the day! We were attending a wedding reception at the hotel on the Saturday but the wedding itself was being held in a church a few miles away, only accessed by higher altitude roads, all of which were pretty impassable after non stop snow over 48 hours and high winds causing snow drifts up to two metres high. Manager Damien mustered up his and his friends' 4x4s in order to get the congregation to the church and back again to the reception. In addition to this the hotel staff found a replacement to the pianist entertainment booked for the reception (who could not get through the snow) and made sure our cars were dug out when we were ready to leave the day after. On top of all this the food for the reception and breakfast was lovely, the rooms were spacious and clean and staff very friendly. The staff continually bent over backwards to make sure the day went as smoothly as possible, so thank you for all your efforts!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAFagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review. Its is my absolute pleasure to of rescued and assisted you in any way I could, on that very very snowy day! I am incredibly proud of all my staff here, each and everyone of us work so very hard and will always go the extra mile to help and assist our guests in anyway we can to always acheive a positive and successful outcome. It certainly was a day to remember ! We are truly delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope your journey home was safe. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews