We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothering Sunday Lunch”
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mothering Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were a party of 17 for a late lunch on this special day and could not fault any aspect of our visit. Now a non resident of the Chesterfield area, it was a delight for me to revisit the excellently refurbished "Red Lion". They have created a great welcoming atmosphere with clever lighting and lovely roaring log fires. There were 2 very talented pianists playing some great unobtrusive background music - perhaps especially for this particular Sunday - but adding to the overall warm ambience. Our orders were swiftly taken once we were seated and we received our starters within a very short time. Our mains were also served without much delay - great not to have a long wait with small children. The food was excellent - full marks to the chefs - lots of empty plates as proof. The girls who served us were also a credit to the restaurant with their smiles and willingness to see we had all we needed. All in all a great afternoon for us mothers. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our Mothers Day Celebrations. We are incredibly proud that we gave you such a truly memorable and special day. We would be truly delighted to welcome you when you or your guests are in the area again. Or perhaps for Fathers Day on Sunday, 16th June 2013. We are taking bookings from 12 noon. 2 courses for £18.95 and 3 Courses £22.95. Our exclusive Fathers Day Menu can be viewed on our website www.peakedgehotel.co.uk. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    125
    30
    0
    2
See reviews for
121
413
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and were delighted with the quality and service. The room was very clean and well equipped. The bathroom was lovely with a really deep bath! The room was a twin and my only complaint would be that the beds were quite narrow. The location is great and the hotel has a lovely bar and restaurant. Lots of parking and great walks too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review and appreciate the time your have taken to write. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the qulaity, service, bar, restaurant and how clean and well equipped your room was. We are so incredibly fortunate to have such stunning countryside surrounding The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion Bistro. The rolling hills can be seen for miles and miles and we are spoilt for choice with such a variety of picturesque walks! We would be very pleased to welcome you back, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our daughter wanted spend her 21st birthday with the family enjoying a good quality meal but in a relaxed setting. The Peak Edge Bistro provided us with an excellent quality meal in a very friendly and comfortable restaurant. We arrived and sat by a roaring log fire enjoying a glass of champagne whilst selecting from the menu. I had requested a round table when I booked and this had been reserved for us. It was a bigger restaurant than I had realised but the guest isn't aware of this because it comprises of many small areas making it seem very intimate and personal to your table. The food was fabulous, every dish we all ate was delicious. The waiting staff were very friendly and when Nanny requested a pudding which was on the lunch menu (a fruit crumble) the waitress said she'd check if there was any left and if so it wouldn't be a problem.
We finished our evening with coffee by the fireside.
Thank you everyone at Peak Edge for making our evening a very special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DysonsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
I am delighted that you had an amazing time for your daughters 21st birthday, and that you chose The Peak Edge Hotel at The Red Lion Bistro for such a very special occassion. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your champagne and coffee whilst relaxing by the cosy log fires, our delicious food including the fruit crumble! Its is our absolute passion to look after and care for our guests to a very high standard and to leave them with everlasting special memories of there stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

From entering the car park this hotel looks excellent and it only gets better and better, spectacular, yet relaxed, reception area with the best welcome one could want.
The staff could not do enough to make sure we had what we wanted or make us feel special. The room was fantastic, big comfortable bed, big room, big TV and great bathroom (we had superior room)
The bistro is fantastic in a lovely setting with great quality meals, the breakfast is also "top notch" and would be hard to beat in any other hotel in the UK.
Without wishing to sound like we are employees of the hotel we did have one issue, and it is only a tiny one !! more milk should be provided in the room.
Overall, this is a great hotel, built to great standards in a great area. We would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djn2472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are thoroughly delighted at your wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to express your memorable stay, here at The Peak Edge Hotel. Its so rewarding to learn that we surpassed all your expectations. We feel so very proud when we read such an incredible review. We do hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed two nights here attending niece's wedding.Would have liked to stay for two weeks!
Excellent in ALL depatments,food,bedroom,staff,service, etc etc.The wedding preparations left nothing to chance and everyone commented on how good the venue etc is.Have no fear about staying at this hotel whatever event you have in mind.

Room Tip: We had a'Superior Room' which was superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfordseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your wonderful feedback. We are delighted that your stay with us was excellent in every way and that your only wish was to stay for two more weeks! We do hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the suites. The suite was lovely and had a great view of the countryside. However, the suite lacked some of the benefits of other hotels with a similar rating and price (such as complimentary newspaper, welcome small bottles of wine/juice etc).
On the third evening we returned to the suite to find that it had been missed by housekeeping. Although we were obviously able to make our own bed, reuse towels and wash up our cups and glasses, we had to request replacement tea & coffee etc from reception (who were very apologetic). Then we realised that we hadn't any toilet roll and had to request that as well. Again the lady at reception was very apologetic and even offered to have a quick clean up herself which we declined.

We ate lunch in the Bistro on the day of arrival and had dinner on each of the three nights. All the Bistro staff, with one exception, were very friendly and helpful - a credit to the place. Sadly the one exception gave the impression that serving drinks etc was an inconvenience. Although she did perk up whilst chatting up a young cyclist!

The food was excellent, although breakfast on the third morning appeared to be missing items and the portion sizes varied quite widely in the evenings. The wine list was very good. A three course dinner for two with a bottle of wine cost around £85 - £100.

The Bistro and bar were very cosy with real fires and comfortable seating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. I hope that your stay withus was comfortable and relaxing. However, I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues that you unfortunately expereinced with us in Housekeeping Department and in The Bistro. Both these matters have been addressed and rectified, to ensure our high levels of standards and service are continuously maintained. Thank you for your suggesstions regarding a complimentary bottle of wine/juice and newspaper in The Luxury Suites. I am giving this some thought. Thank you for the time you have taken to write and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed at the Peak Edge and they've had my repeat custom due to the excellence of the hotel in all aspects. However this visit I was slightly disappointed by a series of minor errors. Our room service orders were delivered on our first night minus some of the items we'd ordered and both breakfasts we'd ordered for our room came with items missing. I would add however that when we rang to inform reception the mistakes were rectified quickly.

I was a little disappointed that the in room menu states that sandwiches are available between 10pm and 6am and when I rang at midnight to request one for my partner who is diabetic the night porter told us it was too late.

I should add that Margaret on reception is a credit .to the hotel and went above and beyond for us.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Battynatty38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay. We are always delighted to welcome our returning guests. However, we are very sorry some items were missed from your room service order - and that this was immediatley rectified for you. Also with reference to your sandwhich request, this is disappointing to know that you was told you was too late for this service. This matter hasbeen rectified and I would like to sincerely apologise to you, that regrettably you encountered these issues during your stay. We really valued your honest review and would dearly love to welcome you back once again to The Peak Edge Hotel. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
4.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
991 reviews
6.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
18.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Property: Peak Edge Hotel
Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing