We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peak Edge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portland Hotel(Chesterfield)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abbeydale Hotel(Chesterfield)(Great Value!)
$72
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckingham's Hotel(Chesterfield)
$145
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Hotel(Chesterfield)
$115
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
925 results
Traveler rating
719
163
41
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
719
163
41
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionpeak districtdressing areachristmas treelarge bathhaggiswalk in showerhigh standardopen firesuperior roomwet roomlovely hotelevening mealwedding plannerthe pubfeature roomunderfloor heating
Filter
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 925 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Thank you Damian, Jo, Caroline and all the staff at Peak Edge for rescuing me and my two daughters from sleeping in our car on a freezing cold night in the snow! Instead we spent the night in a beautiful warm spacious room, where we woke up to the most stunning views across the Peak District! The owners and staff could not have been more generous, kind and helpful. I only live 5miles away from this hotel but am now looking for an excuse to book in for a weekend ( it is Valentines coming up!) I'm taking my family to the gastro pub to enjoy one their delicious meals and take the opportunity to thank them once again for their kindness.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your unplanned stay, due to heavy snowfall on the evening you went to see your daughters music concert in Mansfield. It is our absolute pleasure to help you and to welcome you as our guests to ensure you and your girls were safe that night. It was great to see you shortly after for Suday Lunch too, and hope to see you again either for Valentines or in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

we have just returned from a 2 night stay,excellent service from all the staff, very friendly and polite, the room was fresh and clean and the view fantastic even at this tme of year ,have already sent detais to 2 friends and will be going back in the spring !

Room Tip: we asked for a room in a quiet area and apart from hearing running water most of the 2nd night it was indeed quiet
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your wonderful feedback on your recent two night stay with us. We are delighted that your experince here was excellent and appreciate your valued future recommendations. We hope that you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you again in the Spring. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Attended the new years celebration and stayed over .
Staff lovely ,Truly excellent rooms and enjoyed the evening .
Food in the gastro pub excellent and good value .
New years eve Gala food not to everyones taste -(particularly the venison course and desert ),although i enjoyed it ,but a very enjoyable evening .Band ,(particaularly saxo player very good) .so would do it again .

Our biggest problem was that hot water in our room was out from 8.45 am and took an hour to fix just when we wanted to get ready to go to breakfast .These things happen but it should have been sorterd quicker and this spoiled our experince .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

It was lovely to have met you both and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and evening with us. Unfortunatley, we did indeed experience a small problem with the hot water on New Year's Day morning which was dealt with immediatley by our receptionist on duty and hot water returned shortly afterwards. We, therefore, informed you of our intention to keep breakfast open so that you would be able to enjoy a leisurely breakfast and a later check-out, however, please let us apologise once again for any inconvenience caused. We hope you are enjoying the New Year and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very spacious bedrooms. Service was excellent. Good value for money.
Only problem is with the wifi signal which wasn't great. Stayed for 1 night. The Christmas decorations were fantastic. A nice tree in every room.
Good quality food. Overall ambience is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you are delighted with your hotel bedroom, The Bistro, ambience, excellent service and our festive Christmas decorations. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future and would like to thank you kindly for taking the time to leave your valued feedback. Kindest regards Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have recently attended a friends wedding at the hotel, the bedrooms are very spacious and well equipped. The harrogate suite is amazing with fantastic views over the pond. The food is all locally sourced and very good quality as is the ambience in the bistro, however it is the staff who make the experience of staying here a truly wonderful one. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them. The wedding planner Sam was with us every step of the way and stayed until all the formalities were completed.
I will definitely return for a stay even though it is on the door step and would recommend this hotel and bistro as a must do.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayqueen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

We appreciate your time you have taken to write such a fantastic review on your hotel experience and for your kind words regarding our Wedding Planner Sam and our Staff here. Thank you kindly for your future recommendations on The Peak Edge Hotel and Red Lion Bistro. We pride ourselves on providing locally sourced, quality, fresh meals in our Bistro and delighted you enjoyed the whole experience and ambience. We hope you had a safe and pleasant journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to the Peak Edge Hotel. Kindest regards, Damian Dugdale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews