We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked this hotel as a stopover on the way to Chester as we wanted to see Chatsworth.
The external photographs do not do the hotel justice.
As soon as we walked through the door we were welcomed by very friendly staff and I must say that all the staff, both in the hotel and the restaurant, were excellent.
The hotel opened in 2011 and still feels brand new.
We had a superior double room. The room was very large, the bed was large and the ensuite was large as well with a separate bath and shower.
Overall I could not fault the room for size, decor and cleanliness.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the meal and service were excellent. Breakfast was also excellent (seem to overusing the word but the hotel was excellent!).
The only downside that I can think of for this hotel is that you are in the middle of nowhere but the restaurant is so good I cannot see any need to go out.
This hotel far exceeded our expectations and we would thoroughly recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianWitney1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and chose us as your stopover on the way to Chester. It makes us all feel so very proud when we have far exceed your expectations on The Peak Edge Hotel and Red Lion Bar Bistro and value your time you have taken writing your review. We hope you had a wonderful time at Chatsworth House and and had a pleasant journey to Chester. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    119
    28
    0
    2
See reviews for
116
410
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I booked for myself and my boyfriend to stay here for his birthday suprise. It was fantastic. The hotel was really modern, but without appearing souless. We were welcomed, checked in and shown personally to our room which was a lovely touch. They had even left a birthday card in the room for my boyfield which was really sweet. The room was lovely. Very understated but with quality finishings. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was fantastic. A really deep double ended bath with a shower big enough for two. We had also booked into the restaurant that evening as they were doing a seafood weekend. We ordered the seafood platter with lobster which was incredible. The wine was great, the atmosphere, food and service were all perfect. The resident pianist was also a friendly chap, not averse to having a chat while effortlessly tapping out a fabulous rendition of "Fly me to the moon". The whole stay was really good and topped off with a yummy full english breakfast to set us up for the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moseleysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for wiriting such a wonderful review, we value your time you have taken you write about your experiences on The Peak Edge Hotel and Red Lion Bar Bistro. We are so pleased to hear that you celebrated your boyrfriends birthday here and hope your stay was extra special and memorable. We hope to see you again sometime soon in the near future. Kindest regards Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel on booking.com as we had already decided to spend the day at Chatsworth house and thought we would turn it in to an overnight stay.
Upon arriving I was very impressed and this was only added to by the welcome from the reception staff, who were very polite and welcoming, they even showed us to our room and told us all the information we needed. Another great touch was that the in the welcome pack it was personally addressed to me, which makes you feel that bit more special.
We ate at the Red Lion Bistro which was great too on first impression it seemed formal but was actually really relaxed the staff were attentive but left you to enjoy your meal in peace, the food was great.
We had breakfast included in the rate and that again was great, cooked fresh to order with plenty of choice and a constant supply of tea and coffee.
The only small things I felt could be changed are the shower, which is a walk in wet room tended to wet most of the bathroom floor as the screen is not very big so we ended up wiping the floor. And the addition of a heated towel rail.
These are only minor things and didn't spoil my stay.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are delighted that you had and enjoyable and impressive stay with us at The Peak Edge Hotel and that you enjoyed your dining experiences at The Red Lion Bar Bistro. Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review and we all appreciate all your wonderful comments you have taken the time to let us know. We are glad that you will recommend us and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife found this hotel by chance on the internet! What a find! Great welcome on arrival - shown to our room instead of being left to find it ourselves as in most smaller hotels. Room very spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed in modern boutique style. Nice views over the Derbyshire Peak district. Superb modern bathroom.
Criticisms - lighting could be improved in the room and there is some lack of privacy due to the huge window, the L shaped building and no "privacy" curtains. Not good if you want walk around as nature intended post-shower!!
Don't be put off by my criticisms - I mentioned them to the Receptionist on departure. She said other guests had made similar comments - my feeling was that these minor points will soon be rectified.
The food in the Red Lion Bistro was superb. Great evening dinner menu. Well cooked & well presented by very good restaurant staff. Breakfast equally good - great choice.
Nice low key entertainment in the bar adjacent to the restaurant pianist & singer - Great American Songbook style - very nice for a post dinner coffee & cognac!
Overall a superb hotel - good value & worth every penny! We will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel have uninterrupted views over open countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Peak Edge Hotel and enjoyed your dining experiences at The Red Lion Bar Bistro. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write such a fantastic review and value all feedback given. We hope that you had a safe and pleasant journey home and hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Kindest regards Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent a wonderful relaxing time at the Peak Edge from the 08/10/2012 till the 12/10/2012, I booked a deal through late rooms.com offering 4 nights for the price of 3, got a excellent deal and what a amazing hotel, on arrival we were met by a extremely friendly and helpful lady on reception who dealt with us promptly and then showed to our room which i have to say was on par in both decor and quality of fit and finish with a hotel i have stayed in near where i live in Hertfordshire called The Grove, and there charge £450 per night for a room...!.

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the reception door and the lady on reception was able to suggest things we could do whilst staying at the hotel as it was our 1st time in the Peak District, she even printed of directions for walks and places to see which have all been tried and tested by the staff, we had a view from our room across a small lake that then turned in to rolling hills and this just topped off the whole expereince.

We were on a breakfast included deal and i have to say the not only the choice, but the quality of the breakfast was second to none, and once again the lady serving us that was on each morning of our stay couldnt do enough to help us out, and even on our secound day rememebered what would like to drink and brought it over to the table within moments of us sitting down, it is these small, but important touch's that made you feel like you were the only people staying at the hotel.

Both me and my girlfriend would not hesitate to return to this amazing hotel and setting and the only negative comments i can level about our stay there would be that the fan in the bathroom is quite noisy and when you are trying to relax in the huge bath after a day exploring the Peak District this can be quite distracting and we had a evening meal on one occasion which for the money we both found quite quite bland and flavourless and my girlfriend is a fully trained chef so she knows what she is talking about, this was very suprising to the both of us as i have already stated the breakfast's could not be faulted and we also had room service on one occasion and again the quality of the food and presentation again could not be faulted, but i would in no way allow these things to ditract away from what was a amazing week away from all the stresses of day to day life.

To the owners Damian and Jo and especially all the staff thanks for making this an unforgetable holiday...

Paul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Paul

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic and valued review of The Peak Edge Hotel. We are delighted that you had a fantastic and unforgettable holiday with us and I am sure you will have some incredible memories together of your stay here. We are really proud of what we achieve here and incredible feedback like yours makes the hard work that we have all put in worth while. We hope that you had a safe and pleasant journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to The Peak Edge Hotel. Kindest regards Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great decor, excellent service and good food in the bistro. The breakfast selection was the best I've seen - even champagne!

The only thing I didn't like was the lighting in the room was not bright enough for doing make up or reading a book.

The musicians in the bistro in the evening were really good too, guitarist and singer one night and pianist the next.

Room Tip: Not sure it's worth the extra for rooms with a balcony because it's not a balcony you can wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and sharing your experience of The Peak Edge Hotel and Red Liion Bar Bistro.Thank you for leaving such a great review. We are looking into ways to make the lighting brighter in the bathrooms for our guests in the future. We hope to welcome you back, and hope you visit us again soon. Kindest regards Damian Dugdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I were worried about all sorts seeing as we were taking our 16 month son with us and actually staying away from our home, the hotel staff made our stay very welcoming, relaxing, enjoyable and stress free.
We chose the the family room so that our son could walk around freely as he's been walking for a couple of months and just won't stop, the room was very impressive in size which allowed us all to be together but not on top of each other so we all had our own space. The bed was nice, big and comfortable.
The bathroom was very large, modern and clean, just how we like it!
The hotel staff went to the bistro next door and filled my sons milk beakers up, warmed one up for that night, came to get the second beaker from our in room fridge in the morning and warmed that up too! My son was very happy which in turn kept mum and dad happy!
The bistro staff were very nice, the food was top quality and well worth the money! They had fresh seafood, so fresh that the lobsters and crabs were just sat chilling out alive and waiting to be cooked!
Overall I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely consider booking again if were ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chandy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review for The Peak Edge Hotel. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are incredibly proud of all our hard working staff here that has contributed to making your stay even more relaxing and enjoyable for the both of you with your little boy. It was our pleasure to look after you and your family and we hope to welcome you once again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards Damian Dugdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
4.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
6.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Property: Peak Edge Hotel
Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing