We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveler rating
736
173
42
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
736
173
42
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionpeak districtdressing areahaggisfirst classwalk in showerwedding plannerhigh standardopen fireseparate showerwet roomsuperior roomlovely hotelthe pubevening mealboth nightsbeautiful countryside
Filter
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 955 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We actually tried to book into the Cavendish Arms in Baslow as we had heard such good reports about it. It was fully booked, so after much searching we found the Peak Edge hotel. We saw that the trip advisor reports were very good but that made us a little cautious - could it always be this wonderful?
The hotel is new and is situated next to the Red Lion which is part very old and part new. Meals are in the Red Lion. The reception is spacious and welcoming - sort of like Mal Maison but not dark! The receptionist was very informal and friendly and showed us to our deluxe room - Room 111. It was exceptionally large and the ensuite wet room was huge. The quality of the fixtures and fittings and linen is all very high end. We had an very large, comfortable, king size bed. Water is provided in the room and although there is a fridge, it is empty of any products. The sofa was also huge and comfortable, opposite the TV.
A note of warning, wet rooms are an acquired taste! You have got to make sure that you have used the sink for your ablutions before using the shower, as after you have used the shower the entire room is swamped. So, if you then need to go back in the bathroom you have to puddle through lots of water near the sink.
The deluxe rooms have been designed for use by disabled people and this is our only niggle. The only available sockets are situated under the vanity desk and the console. You have to go down on your knees to pull out their equipment and put in yours. I'm sure we are not alone in having hair straighteners, iphone and laptop. I have a bad knee so this was quite difficult for me, so anyone with a proper disablility would struggle with this. The sockets are at the required height but the furniture in front of them stops you from using them easily. This could be easily rectified by moving the furniture!
We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. You have to go outside the hotel to walk to the Red Lion (less than a minute away). There is a cut through the hotel but the room was being used by a wedding party. The dinner was a very high standard. We chose a simple meal and thoroughly enjoyed it. The wine was perfect - a wonderful Pinot Noir, we can recommend it!
Breakfast was again brillaintly cooked - my husband had the Grimsby smoked haddock and was very pleased with it. Would have preferred a pot of tea instead of just getting one poured from a thermos flask. I would have liked a second cup but couldn't catch anyone's eye. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly, however.
All in all , this is a lovely new hotel. It still needs to landscape around the pond at the back because it is surrounded by tall weeds, but I am sure they will get around to that in the future. We did feel a little sorry for the bride and groom who were getting their photgraphs taken near the bridge, as they would have all the dead grass and weeds in their photos. This hotel surprised us by being so good and we would recommend it to our best friends.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are double the size of the superior rooms. They are however, more expensive.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuntlyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Peak Edge Hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for one night midweek for our 3rd wedding anniversary. We had stayed earlier in the year for our friends wedding and couldn't wait to go back. The feature rooms are amazing - spacious, great decor and huge bathroom with a roll top bath and desperate shower. The hotel is fabulous, food excellent and most of all staff were lovely, helpful, very friendly and so glamourous! (we even got a card and glasses of champagne) I would go back again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Congratulations on your third Wedding Anniversary and many more to come. It is lovely to hear that you chose to spend your special occasion with us and that our team made your occasion even more special. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards Damian Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked for one night as we had a business meeting in Belper the next day. What a shame we couldn't stay longer! We arrived and were shown our room by Caroline who was very helpful and gave us lots of suggestions for visits another time! The room was large and clean and the bed was comfortable, with calming views out over the water and fields. The bathroom was lovely - my only bugbear was no magnifying mirror, which as a glasses wearer is important (its difficult to find a small travelling one!) and the large overhead showerhead - I don't want to wash my hair every time I have a shower! However, there was a shower cap which was very useful. The towels were soft and fluffy too - something that not every hotel can manage! We will definitely be back and will stay longer to visit the area. The food in the Red Lion Bistro was very good too, as was breakfast. Plentiful and served with a smile!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 425ChristineMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Christine,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Caroline is a new member to the reception team and was thrilled to have been mentioned by yourself. We always like to hear what our guests think would improve their stay with us and with this in mind we will look into the possibility of addidng magnified mirrors to our bathrooms.
We hope you had a safe and pleasant journey home and look forward to welcoming you back to the Peak Edge Hotel.
Kind Regards Damian Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A pleasant weekend was spent here prior to visiting nearby Chatsworth House. The hotel is very clean and beautifully furnished and appointed. However, two minor niggles. Bed mattress was very soft and only one available electric socket to charge sat nav, kindle and mobile from! That aside, staff were very attentive and helpful.

Dinner was rather pricey for what it actually was which but overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Alex,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that the 4 double electical sockets located in your room were not enough to charge all your belongings, however please feel free to ask reception to charge items should you need any assistance.
We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards Damian Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

First impression on arrival, what a lovely place.
Looked very grand, reception was really nice, we were shown to our room by the receptionist which I thought was a lovely touch.
First impression of the room, lovely, really nice.
The room was large (room no 2) with a lovely bathroom, walk in shower was good.
Nice complimentary toiletries.
The bistro was really nice ol with loads of character, although it seemed to lack atmosphere, but still very good.
The owners and their children were extremely welcoming and frindly.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would like to return some time in the future.

Room Tip: A very good choice of hotel no complaints
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dereham_NorfolkSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

It was a pleasure for us to have met you also. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you once again in what we hope is the not too distant future. Kind Regards Damian Dugdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews