We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming staff”
Review of Peak Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peak Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel looks very new from the outside and is right in the middle of the countryside. The rooms are spacious , clean and well equipped .
Staff were friendly and helpful in the hotel and restaurant. It was my 50th birthday and there was a birthday card in our room and we got complimentary champagne in the restaurant. The food was very good and locally sourced. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RugbyGibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so pleased to hear that you chose us to host your special day and that we were able to make it memorable for you. Once again Happy Birthday hope to see you again soon. Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 897 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed @ the Peak Edge for a week for Buisness.
The rooms are first class with luxury bathrooms and features.
Food was excellent whether you were dinning as two or a party of 14.
The staff were very helpful and friendly from the moment you check in and are shown to you your rooms. I would recomend the hotel and bistro to all.
I am looking forward to returning later this year

Room Tip: Talk to reception and let them know what you are after
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Mark,
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while on business. Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I can't wait to go back to this hotel....to me, it had everything we were looking for - great location, impressive personal service, high quality decor and fittings, very spacious rooms, a luxury bathroom, wonderful views, and to top it all, a wonderful bistro attached.

The only tiny gripe we had was that we would have loved fresh milk in the room for our tea. We mentioned this in the guest survey we completed before leaving, and within a week, we received a letter from them, thanking us for the feedback, and saying that we could have called reception and that they would have brought us some.

From my experience, a hotel that listens and responds to their guests needs in this way is rare, and I think it says a lot about the owners ethos towards making the hotel the best it can be.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ-Lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for visiting the Peak Edge Hotel and taking the time to write a review. Myself and all heads of departments take a very active interest in what our guests say, want and need when visiting either the Hotel or Bistro. It is only then that we are able to receive such fantastic reviews like yours. Thank you once again and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked this hotel for a two night break. The room was lovely, and very clean. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, both in the hotel and restaurant. Would certainly recommend and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audrey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear Audrey,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review & to share your experience of the Peak Edge Hotel. We hope to welcome you back once again in what we hope is the not too distant future.
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Peak Edge Hotel whilst attending a friends wedding nearby. The hotel were very helpful and allowed us to check in early and arranged a taxi to take us to the wedding venue. The room was very comfortable and overlooked open views / lake outside. Breakfast in the Red Lion was very good, very filling. The hotel is well situated for visitors to the area and provides an excellent base to explore places such as Matlock and Buxton.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telecaster428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review & to share your experience of the Peak Edge Hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you had a Safe and Pleasant journey back home to China and hope you come and visit us once again next time you are visiting.
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The bar was set very high for the Peak Edge Hotel. Very often the professional photos and description tell a story that doesn't quite match the reality. Thankfully, that wasn't the case for our short midweek break last week.

To begin with, the location is ideal for anyone looking to explore the Peak District. It's a short drive to Bakewell, Chatsworth House and numerous other activities. The Hotel itself is set in part lawn, part meadow with a small lake completing a pleasant outlook.

The hotel reception staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient.

We stayed in a Superior room on the ground floor and it was exactly as described. Spacious, spotlessly clean and well appointed. The bathroom in particular was very nice with a wet room style walk in shower. The only niggling issues we experienced were the free hotel wifi which was very slow, and the brands of tea/coffee in the room that we felt could have better matched the ethos and style of the hotel. I've since been sent a note by the management to say they've sorted the wifi, so hopefully that should no longer be a problem.

Breakfast was served in the pub/restaurant adjoined to the hotel. The selection was good, and the staff were cheery and helpful. We also decided to have dinner in the restaurant on both evenings. The selection isn't large, but this is no bad thing as the focus is on quality, and all the dishes we tried were excellent.

We felt that there are a few things that could be improved in the restaurant. The wine list was quite limited and missing things like a nice Malbec to go with the steak. On several occasions we also had to wait far too long to order more drinks which was frustrating.

In summary, I would definitely recommend the Peak Edge Hotel. It's the details that make a huge difference to the overall experience and everything from the welcome to the email communication was excellent. The service in the restaurant has room for improvement, but given how responsive to feedback the owners have been I'm sure this will be rectified.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Owen,
Thank you for sharing your visit and experience of the Peak Edge Hotel. It is always so nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We are always appreciative of any feedback that we receive from our guests as we are always looking for ways to improve the standards of our service and products that we offer. With this in mind you will be pleased to hear that we are launching a new wine menu and all of our Bistro team members have been receiving one to one training with the Duty Managers to make sure all customers receive the high level of service that they deserve. Once again Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had our wedding here at the end of May and it was just the most perfect day we could've wished for. The venue itself is just gorgeous. The Orangery was such a beautiful room to have our ceremony and then the wedding breakfast. The outside terrace is very smart with nice new furniture, lanterns and olive trees - and the view from the terrace over the fields is stunning. Carly, Michael and the team were so lovely they really went out of their way to make our day special. We liked it as it all ran very smoothly but felt nice and relaxed and friendly - we didn't want anything too stiff or formal. All the staff at the Red Lion were really nice and helpful, and the owners Damian and Jo are so friendly and welcoming - it felt like we were old friends by the end of the weekend!
The pub/bistro is the older part of the building and it has loads of character. It has a nice intimate atmosphere with lots of candles and cosy corners. The food is of a high standard we had some lovely meals there.
The hotel is very smart and nicely designed - the bathrooms are gorgeous and the views from the back are beautiful. The breakfast, which we chose to have in our room, was of a really good standard.
I just wish we could do it all again!
Many thanks,
Joanne Ibbotson

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneI858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Joanne,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your Special Day and the venue with us. It was a pleasure for Joe and myself to have had the opportunity in meeting you and your family and to get to know you also. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best for your new beginnings and we hope to see you again soon.
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonedge
4.6 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,513 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,067 reviews
6.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.2 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 2 in Matlock Bath
400 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peak Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Edge Hotel

Address: Darley Road, Stonedge, Chesterfield S45 0LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Stonedge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonedge
Price Range: $136 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Edge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak Edge Hotel is a new Modern Boutique Hotel which has recently been awarded a 4* AA accreditation. The hotel was built to complement the existing Red Lion Bar & Bistro. All 26 bedrooms boast picturesque views over the beautiful Derbyshire country side. The bedrooms include 4 Luxury Suites, Accessible and Family rooms as well as beautiful Feature Rooms with glass Juliet balconies overlooking the lake. The hotel is finished to a high standard throughout with facilities including air conditioning, LED flat screen TVs and free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peak Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing