We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Abbeydale Hotel(Chesterfield)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckingham's Hotel(Chesterfield)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Hotel(Chesterfield)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Portland Hotel(Chesterfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveler rating
730
173
40
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
730
173
40
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lionpeak districtdressing areahaggiswalk in showerfirst classhigh standardwedding planneropen fireseparate showerwet roomsuperior roomlovely hotelthe pubevening mealbeautiful countrysideboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 945 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I and our friends thoroughly enjoyed our three nights in the Peak Edge Hotel. The management and staff without exception were attentive, considerate, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The attention to detail was the best I have experienced. I would definitely stay again and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Jackie,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

When we booked this hotel for a family wedding, initially we felt it was a lot of money (£120 per night) but we were not disappointed. Loved the superior/standard spacious clean bedroom, extremely comfortable 6ft bed and lovely peaceful views. Would have liked a small fridge with chilled water. Excellent service in the hotel and bistro, the staff were smart and friendly. Wi-Fi only worked near reception but this hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Truly enjoyable stay. The owner Damian and his team are doing a fantastic job.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay_Jones46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Kay
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you come to visit us again soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Peak Edge. This was a last minute booking to take advantage of the beautiful weather and we were impressed from the moment we stepped into reception to the moment we left. The receptionist was friendly and efficient and showed us to our fantastic room, which was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a bathroom to die for!! We also had a beautiful countryside view from the window.
We ate at the Red Lion bistro both evenings, sitting ouside in the sunshine. Staff, food and ambience all excellent. Breakfast, also taken in the bistro, was fantastic too.
Can't recommend Peak Edge too highly. Put this on your list of hotels to stay in - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for writing such a complimentary review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you once again in what we hope is not the too distant future. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was a spur of the moment booking during a period of convalescence for me. We were most impressed, from the reception we received when checking-in to the quality of our room & the food in the Red Lion Inn. A really rewarding experience & we would certainly recommend to others & love to stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 109 on the ground floor with a view over the lake & easily accessible.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear James

Thank you for choosing to come and stay at the Peak Edge Hotel, we are pleased to hear that you were happy with your choice of hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is a proper little gem! I have stayed for three weekends in 2012 already and I will be going back very soon!

Good Points
far too many to list, but here goes...
1) location is beautiful
2) rooms are huge! Beds are Queen sized, TVs are about 40" to 46"
3) bathrooms are massive with a fantastic walk in showers
4) attached Pub is outstanding, has all the normal lagers etc but also has a good range of guest cast real ales and posh continental lagers
5) Hotel food is again great, with the minor exception of desserts not being as high calibre as the starters and mains.
6) Staff are friendly

Poor Points (if you can call them poor, because the are minor)
1) no fridge in the rooms,
2) bath water is discoloured, but it is water from an underground spring... like Bath's. So looks off putting but is fine. Skin actually feels great after a shower.
3) while the location is nice, there is nothing local, as you are in the middle of nowhere, but Matlock is only a 10 min Taxi drive away which the Hotel can organise, and there is an amazing Indian restaurant in Matlock.
4) Room service late at night is a bit poor, but it is attached to a fantastic pub...
5) Tray charge per person is £5, so breakfast in bed = £10 for a couple... but still worth it!

place is great! Looking forward to going again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakedgehotel, Owner at Peak Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your many stays with us.
With reference to your comments regarding the mini fridges in the rooms we do at present have fridges in our Luxury Suites & Deluxe rooms, we are however looking to extend this to all our room types in the not too distant future, should you need anything to be kept chilled for you during your stay the reception will be more than happy to organise this for you. Regarding the Breakfast we do indeed charge a £5.00 tray charge which is applicable to each room not per person. Should you have been charged incorrectly please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may be able to rectify this error.
You will also be pleased to hear that the discolouration of water has now been rectified.
We do hope you are enjoying the glorious sunshine and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews